HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 08, 2011, 07:07 AM
Gravity gets me down.
helicow's Avatar
USA, FL, Brooksville
Joined Jan 2008
1,404 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJ460 View Post
I found the info regarding the Hitec servos that could be used as good replacements. Has anyone found a less expensive source or servo option? JJ
Someone on this forum has suggested theses. I have never used them, so can not say one way or the other.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...idProduct=6608
helicow is online now Find More Posts by helicow
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 08, 2011, 07:09 AM
Registered User
London, UK
Joined Mar 2010
249 Posts
whats the recommended battery for this plane?
would this be a good choice?
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...idProduct=9464
vygec is offline Find More Posts by vygec
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 08, 2011, 07:51 AM
Registered User
alucard0822's Avatar
Pennsylvania
Joined Jun 2010
915 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by vygec View Post
whats the recommended battery for this plane?
would this be a good choice?
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...idProduct=9464
Really heavy, and underpowered. With the APC 12X6 and 13X4 props you will draw about 70A WOT. 3300X20C=66A, You want the constant rating on the battery to at least match the current draw, however using an even higher discharge lipo will keep the batteries cooler, and can pick up an amp or two and up to 50w more just by switching the battery. Once the discharge gets above 50% higher than the draw there is no real benefit, for 70A, that would be 105A, that would be a 2650mah 40C, or 3,000mah 35C. For 3D, something lighter, prefferably under 300g is better, the 2650mah 35C nanotechs put out 92A, and weight just under 300g, probably the best mix of weight and flight duration for 3D. Some have been using 40 and 45C 2200mah batteries, they can come in around 250g, and can get a tailheavy CG if desired for 3D, although flight times will be short. If you mostly fly conventional aerobatics or pattern, a 3,000mah 30C might be better, the weight isn't as much of an issue, and can actually be beneficial to some degree in the wind. Problem is once you get near 350mah, you need to cut the bay deeper to get a neutral CG, A 300g LiPo pushed all the way back is about neutral.
alucard0822 is offline Find More Posts by alucard0822
Last edited by alucard0822; Aug 08, 2011 at 08:00 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 08, 2011, 11:04 PM
Registered User
United States, OR, Sherwood
Joined Jan 2009
292 Posts
replacement servos?

Other than the HS servo's, what other less expensive servos would work for 3D type work??
JJ460 is offline Find More Posts by JJ460
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 09, 2011, 11:02 AM
smoke is my wattmeter
Longview, Tx
Joined May 2008
1,139 Posts
I use these with Dubro's long JR arms. You'll need to enlarge the opening a bit but it's no problem. http://www.headsuprc.com/servlet/the...-19g-TP/Detail You can get them from Hobbyking also for about $9.50 if you don't mind the wait.
krexken is offline Find More Posts by krexken
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2011, 03:09 AM
Registered User
crobar's Avatar
United States, ID, Sandpoint
Joined Apr 2009
780 Posts
I may have missed this in the manual but what is the most accurate way to locate the manufacturers recommended cg near the fuselage versus out at the wing tips?
crobar is offline Find More Posts by crobar
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2011, 08:07 PM
Tom Holdren
FlipFlops365's Avatar
USA, WI, Appleton
Joined Oct 2010
131 Posts
what are you guys using for washers when installing larger wheels on the main landing gear to prevent the wheel from sliding?
FlipFlops365 is offline Find More Posts by FlipFlops365
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2011, 01:37 AM
Registered User
crobar's Avatar
United States, ID, Sandpoint
Joined Apr 2009
780 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlipFlops365 View Post
what are you guys using for washers when installing larger wheels on the main landing gear to prevent the wheel from sliding?
I use wheel locks, one on the inside and one on the outside of the wheel. I am using 2.5" thin white spoke wheels and they leave a lot of space on the axle.
crobar is offline Find More Posts by crobar
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2011, 07:26 AM
Team Hillbilly
tominator06's Avatar
United States, MD, Dundalk
Joined Feb 2009
3,492 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by crobar View Post
I may have missed this in the manual but what is the most accurate way to locate the manufacturers recommended cg near the fuselage versus out at the wing tips?
Just get it perfect while supporting it at the wingtips then move your support close to the fuse till it balances out again and make a tiny mark or measure it for reference if you don't want to make a mark near the fuse..
tominator06 is offline Find More Posts by tominator06
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2011, 09:21 AM
Registered User
alucard0822's Avatar
Pennsylvania
Joined Jun 2010
915 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by crobar View Post
I may have missed this in the manual but what is the most accurate way to locate the manufacturers recommended cg near the fuselage versus out at the wing tips?
I used a peice of string, wrapped spanwise around the wings, and used a square to make marks next to the fuse. Marked it with the string around the tips at 6", and 1/4" intervals further back.
alucard0822 is offline Find More Posts by alucard0822
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2011, 04:25 PM
Registered User
crobar's Avatar
United States, ID, Sandpoint
Joined Apr 2009
780 Posts
Thanks for the tips. This is the first plane I've had where the cg was called out at the wing tips as opposed to referencing the leading edge near the fuse.
crobar is offline Find More Posts by crobar
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2011, 07:53 PM
Registered User
Toysrme's Avatar
Birmingham, Alabama
Joined Jun 2002
2,970 Posts
well shoot. killed my stock battery & not anywhere i can buy another one.


wonder what would happen on a 3s2000 pack on a 12*6
Toysrme is offline Find More Posts by Toysrme
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2011, 08:27 PM
Team Hillbilly
tominator06's Avatar
United States, MD, Dundalk
Joined Feb 2009
3,492 Posts
3s would not give enough Rpm with that prop. Just a guess but you would have to run a 14"-15" prop to get the thrust needed. I wouldn't even attempt it.
tominator06 is offline Find More Posts by tominator06
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2011, 08:34 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, Temecula
Joined May 2006
161 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toysrme View Post
well shoot. killed my stock battery & not anywhere i can buy another one.


wonder what would happen on a 3s2000 pack on a 12*6
Hobbypartz.com-- ValueHobby.com and alot of others have batt. in stock and at a resonable price!
2006rfarmer is offline Find More Posts by 2006rfarmer
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2011, 08:39 PM
Registered User
GetSome!'s Avatar
United States, CA, Roseville
Joined Jan 2011
666 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toysrme View Post


wonder what would happen on a 3s2000 pack on a 12*6
not a good idea if you like your plane
GetSome! is offline Find More Posts by GetSome!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold E-flite 4-Site like new BNF Version MK2 Aircraft - Electric - Micro & Indoor Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Sep 30, 2010 07:51 PM
Discussion Why Not wood -balsa BNF or PNP RC airplanes from E-flite? MerlinKing Parkflyers 3 Jan 20, 2010 09:45 PM
Discussion Why Not wood -balsa BNF or PNP RC airplanes from E-flite? MerlinKing Scale ARF/RTF 1 Jan 20, 2010 07:29 PM
Alert Ikarus Yak 54 Or E-Flite Extra 260 E-Flite Sobre 3DX shocky... jamiekerr 3D Flying 15 Aug 07, 2007 01:24 PM
Poll Part of Ikarus Yak 54 Or E-Flite Extra 260 E-Flite Sobre 3DX shocky... POLL jamiekerr 3D Flying 1 Aug 07, 2007 03:55 AM