HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 10, 2010, 11:37 PM
HobbyKing
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong
Joined Apr 2001
4,507 Posts
Build Log
De Havilland DH-53 Hummingbird 53" of course

After taking about a 4 year break from building airplanes to ride dirtbikes, a recent injury has left me relatively housebound except going to work, so what to do I do...build airplanes. (Ironically it was not the dirtbikes)

Enter the DH-53 which I've been staring at photos of on my computer for a couple years. How big? Most of my planes seems to be 40-45" span, lets make this one a little bigger. How about 53" wingspan...which I didn't realize the coincidence until about 3 weeks into the design.

Original Goals:
1) Stick fuse
2) 1 Piece Wing
3) Scale working cables, which will prevent #2

Design Problems:
Loooong Tail Moment
Short Nose

Final Solution
Laser Cut everything possible, only about 4 sticks in the whole plane.
Scale working cables
Moved Everything as far forward as possible.
Two piece wings due to scale cables

For the nose weight, I wasn't terribly careful about weight up front, plus I figure I can just use a bigger/heavier motor. I don't need much power. I have it set up for a Venom V35 Outrunner, to be run on 3S 4000. The battery is removed through a removable hatch on top of the fuse, from the cockpit to the firewall. For the rudder/elevator servos, it is designed for HS-81 servos, accessed through a hatch just behind the firewall. Both are linked to their scale bellcranks.

The tail uses laminated bows, and scale rib spacing.

Wing, also uses scale rib spacing.

The CAD file says 40 hrs and 2 minutes total editing time...not bad. 302 parts....10 sheets of balsa. etc...

Big thanks to Joe Pierson who has been digging around finding a lot of detail photos for me.

I just finished the design tonight and sent the file off to Charlie... until then, please enjoy these nice screen shots of my design progress.

More to come.