HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 07, 2010, 10:10 PM
I'm a Registered User
Evansville, WI
Joined Dec 2006
3,683 Posts
Question
How tough are carbon blades?

I'm dabbling in bigger heli's now. Up to this point, most of my little heli's have used plastic or wood blades. I've noticed that most of these bigger(450+) helis use fiberglass or carbon fiber for the blades. Not yet being an expert, I fully expect to crash atleast a few times. Compaired to the FG blades, how much tougher are the CF blades? How much better will they handle a crash? Is the CF's druability worth the extra cost, or are they just another nifty looking part? Thanks for the info.
Bugman Jeff is online now Find More Posts by Bugman Jeff
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 07, 2010, 11:31 PM
Canada, AB, Edmonton
Joined May 2008
2,574 Posts
CF blades are definitely worth the cost when you're ready for them but... don't use them until you think you need them (each of us needs to decide when that is).

While CF blades perform better, they will also transmit the shock of impact in a crash to the rest of the head causing more damage than wooden blades which break on impact. With wood blades you basically damage blades, feathering shaft, maybe main shaft but rarely the other head pieces unless you go in with full throttle or inverted.

Don't buy durable blades to save $10-$12 on wooden blade replacements and have to spend $50 on a new head.
Druss is offline Find More Posts by Druss
Old Oct 08, 2010, 01:59 AM
Denver, CO
Joined Dec 2005
6,232 Posts
Carbon blades vary. Crash damage is often as much or more, as a wood blade. Other models can be more durable.
The more delicate are often sold as the higher performance light weight blades.
Roto Rob is online now Find More Posts by Roto Rob
Old Oct 08, 2010, 12:11 PM
Joined Jul 2008
1,649 Posts
I have had good wood blades that were tougher and flew better then some of the cheaper Carbon Fiber blades I have had in the past.