Old Oct 05, 2010, 05:45 PM
Registered Loser
Canada, BC, Central Okanagan H
Joined Jun 2010
3,254 Posts
Discussion
Suggestions for my first scratch-build

Hi folks!

Up until about a week ago, I had NO IDEA that people were building these awesome planes out of simple materials like this!! I'm new to the hobby, and I've got two EPO foam planes (a Cessna and a glider) and they're fine, but of course as a new pilot I spend WAY more time fixing them than I do flying them

Anyway, after a particularly bad crunch up... I realized sooner or later I'm going to have to replace this thing, and while $100 for a plane seemed cheap at the time, $100 replacements sure don't!

Then I stumbled onto fanfold foam (FFF) plans and it opened my eyes to a whole new world!!

So I've got a couple questions for you sagely types before I jump in:
  1. Is there a really great first timer plane that people tend to start with? One that builds and flys easy?
  2. It appears most people use some version of FFF, right? I found mikeysrc.com and those plans call for foarmcore board. Are the two at all interchangeable? Being in Canada, it is apparently very difficult to find FFF but I've found a good cheap local source of 4x8 foot sheets of foamcore (with the paper on both sides). That's fine if I start with the Mikeysrc plans, but is it OK to substitute this product and use it for any of the plans I might find?

Any other tips?

Thanks folks!

- Steven
s_mack is offline Find More Posts by s_mack
Last edited by s_mack; Oct 05, 2010 at 06:37 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 05, 2010, 06:04 PM
Concept Builder
United States, CO, Boulder
Joined Feb 2008
466 Posts
Some Foamcores work, but I've never heard of it that large! That foamcore will probably work, but it all depends on the stiffness. Some foamcores, once the paper is removed, are too flexible for the flat plate style planes without a lot of reinforcement, in my opinion.