HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 30, 2010, 12:27 AM
Nottingham
Joined Dec 2009
21 Posts
Help!
AXI Mini AC 1215/20 with VMGM planetary 4.64:1 gearbox

I recently purchased, what looked like a bargain powered glider from a swapmeet. It has a AXI AC 1215/20 connected to a VMGM planetary 4.64 gearbox.

Not quite sure how much power the setup would have I removed the propellor to avoid raising the dust in my workshop. The motor\gearbox runs but sometimes it ramps up to a scream whilst sometimes it just rumbles along very slowly. I'm no expert but thought it might be the gearbox causing the issue and thought separating the two might provide an answer. This is where my problem started, it's not clear how the motor releases from the motor.

The gearbox has 4 M3 screws on the face which were keeping it attached to the bulkhead of the glider. They come out so the motor can go on the bench but I can't see any other screws to release the gearbox from the motor. The website does not give much of a clue and I don't want to break anything expensive.

The internet show both motor and gearbox has 4 mounting holes on a 16mm diameter accepting a 2.5mm bolt. Has anyone got some advice?
Thanks
Howard-Alison is offline Find More Posts by Howard-Alison
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 30, 2010, 12:53 AM
TN
Joined May 2000
1,136 Posts
The front section of the gearbox unscrews and then you can reach the mounting screws inside.

Mike
Hiflyer is offline Find More Posts by Hiflyer
Old Sep 30, 2010, 05:16 PM
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Joined May 2003
27,199 Posts
Mike has the correct answer for getting the box apart. I tried one of these gearboxes and was disappointed in that there seems to be a very large amount of friction within... one cannot alter the mesh and even masses of lube and a regime of long slow running to break it in, did not ever free it up.
Dr Kiwi is offline Find More Posts by Dr Kiwi
Old Oct 01, 2010, 08:05 AM
Gordonsville,Virginia
Joined Nov 2009