HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 28, 2010, 03:29 PM
busy bee
Staffordshire UK.
Joined Nov 2009
14 Posts
Question
How do I calculate size of motor+esc+battery

I am new to RC flying, and have had a few lessons with IC engines, but really want to fly electric.
I have a few models ready to fly, but have recently bought a couple of half built models, both are Black Horse models, one a Piper Cub 72" wingspan, and the other is a Chipmunk with a 64" wingspan.
Both of these are supposed to have IC engines, and I want to finish both & fit electric motors. Can anybody explain how to work out the size motor I am going to need, how to work out the best size of ESC and battery? Is there a formula to work it out
Vickie is offline Find More Posts by Vickie
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 28, 2010, 03:44 PM
Time for me to Fly...
United States, MI, Fenton
Joined Jan 2000
8,319 Posts
The quick way is to look at a similar size and type of electric plane and copy that power system.
Mr. Wiz is offline Find More Posts by Mr. Wiz
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Some new engines some older
Old Sep 28, 2010, 04:23 PM
...design-build-fly-publish...
Ware, herts. U.K.
Joined Sep 2008
3,357 Posts
Start from the estimated AUW of the model.
For scale flying assume that you will need about 60 watts of power per pound weight.
If you want the models to look right on the ground as well as in the air, next work out the scale size prop that you will be fitting.
Go shopping for motors armed with the wattage required and desired prop size.
Find motors that will give maximum power about 20% above your requirement and spin a prop at or near to the size you want.
Find out what voltage these motors will draw using the desired prop. (If they aren't recommended for your prop but one an inch or so smaller you can always run on a cell less so as to keep the amps within recommended limits for that motor) This will probably eliminate some motors from your short list.