HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 27, 2010, 06:46 PM
Unregistered User
The Netherlands
Joined Jul 2010
511 Posts
Discussion
Should I choose 2.4Ghz or xxMhz for soaring high over dense urban areas

I'm relatively new to RC soaring and I'm not sure what the pro's choose for radio frequencies. I've read endless discussions and marketing talk about comparisons between 2.4ghz and xxMhz (in my case 35Mhz) but they all seem to focus on static/unchanging RF environments.

One place I plan to soar from is a slope where a densely populated town extends from the bottom. Assuming I'm using 2.4ghz, the receiver will start without almost any competition at all. However if I fly high and far out, the glider's distance to the urbanization could be (much) less than it's distance to me. That means the RC receiver will have to listen for my weak RC transmitter signal amongst the RF noise generated by thousands of wifi networks, household phones, garage doors, security camera's, etc. I have my doubts about how successful it will be in staying connected. That's my 1st doubt about 2.4ghz.
My 2nd doubt is, if my receiver looses it's connection or browns out (*cough* Spektrum AR500 *cough*) in that RF noisy environment, how will it ever be able to find my weak TX signal back again.

So are my doubts valid, and what do the 'pro' RC soarers mostly prefer for frequencies?
cmanley_nl is offline Find More Posts by cmanley_nl
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 27, 2010, 09:38 PM
Joined Oct 2005
1,349 Posts
The only reason a sailplane would brown out is just before a blackout.

Think about 2.4 at a large sailplane contest. They seem to work there and that is probably more 2.4 signals at higher levels than all the low power gadgets you are talking about. I switched to 2.4 years ago, even for my low budget models like a Shooter.
mlachow is offline Find More Posts by mlachow
Old Sep 27, 2010, 11:12 PM
I want my MoM, again!
Concord, California
Joined Jul 2004
354 Posts