HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 17, 2010, 03:16 PM
Vancouver/ White Rock, British Columbia
Joined Aug 2007
52 Posts
Discussion
B-17 Flying Fortress

I'm fairly new to these "forum" things but after answering some questions regarding Ivan Pettigrew's Grumman Albatross plans and getting some positive responses I started a new blog for the scratch built B-17 I am building from an old set of Royal plans. I won't go into much detail now, but if there is any interest in this project I'll write a detailed diary with more photos to describe the build from scratch. At present, the fuselage and tail group (fibreglassed and ready for painting) weigh 22 ounces and the wing (servos and wiring installed) weighs 3 1/2 pounds. Total weight (with batteries) should be around 8 pounds. This model will be powered by four Himax 3510-1100 outrunner motors, four Castle Creations 45 Amp speed controllers. The wing loading will be around 22 ounces per square foot which in scale terms would be close to the real aircraft at its empty weight. Here are a few photos to get started.
Brian Milsom is offline Find More Posts by Brian Milsom
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 17, 2010, 04:16 PM
What's 3D?
Australia, WA, Ellenbrook
Joined Feb 2008
3,316 Posts
Looks great so far, what is the wingspan? I'm tagging along for the rest of the ride!

Cheers
Craig
trumps is offline Find More Posts by trumps
Old Sep 17, 2010, 07:19 PM
Oh no, not again!
United States, LA, Carencro
Joined Dec 2005
5,436 Posts
Brian, looks lovely. I'd be delighted to see more of the build. Jeff
jhspring is online now Find More Posts by jhspring
Old Sep 17, 2010, 07:19 PM
Joined Aug 2007
52 Posts
B-17

Hi Craig,
The wingspan is 78 inches.
Old Sep 17, 2010, 07:22 PM
United States, TX, Houston
Joined Sep 2007
1,332 Posts
Hi Brian, Great to see you posting here. Your Albatross was most impressive and hope you make many posts to share what you're doing. Look forward to seeing the B-17 come together !