HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 23, 2010, 11:54 PM
Aut Viam Inveniam Aut Faciam
verticalspark's Avatar
United States, CO, Colorado Springs
Joined Oct 2008
4,098 Posts
Cant wait to get my hands on one. Called up the LHS and had them preorder one and for good measure I donated some cash to RC Radio network in hopes that those tickets might win me one
verticalspark is offline Find More Posts by verticalspark
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Rocket Crash
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 24, 2010, 04:18 AM
Registered User
Joined May 2009
233 Posts
Crap. I just spent 800 bucks on a gun. Oh god I am surely on the way to divorce court after I buy this.
Danielocean is offline Find More Posts by Danielocean
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 05:12 AM
Proud member of LISF and ESL
LI, New York, USA
Joined Mar 2003
24,476 Posts
Joining the party.

I don't have a Radian Pro, but I am a sailplane pilot. If anyone has questions about setting up a full house electric glider, perhaps I can offer some help.
aeajr is online now Find More Posts by aeajr
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 05:27 AM
Aut Viam Inveniam Aut Faciam
verticalspark's Avatar
United States, CO, Colorado Springs
Joined Oct 2008
4,098 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by aeajr View Post
Joining the party.

I don't have a Radian Pro, but I am a sailplane pilot. If anyone has questions about setting up a full house electric glider, perhaps I can offer some help.
Out of curiosity, what radio do you use?
verticalspark is offline Find More Posts by verticalspark
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Rocket Crash
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 05:50 AM
Proud member of LISF and ESL
LI, New York, USA
Joined Mar 2003
24,476 Posts
I have two Futaba 9C Supers, one on 72 MHz and one with a Spektrum Module. I use them for competition flying.

I have a Radian but have not seen a Pro yet. No surprise.

Looking at the specs and the videos I would expect some differences in how the two will fly. I don't have all the specs but I will make some speculations.

Assuming they have about the same wing area, the Pro is heavier by 4.6 oz, according to the specs. But the Radians I have seen and measured are more in the 28 ounce area with the stock battery, so there could be a 6.6 oz weight difference.

That makes the Pro about 24% heavier. Assuming the same wing area, the pro will have a higher wing loading. That is not a bad thing as most full house glides have higher wing loadings than RE or RES gliders. It comes from the extra electronics and the need for a different structure in the wing. If the wing were to flex as much as the stock Radian that could cause binding of the control surfaces. So I expect they did more stiffening of the wing.

Assuming a similar airfoil, the Pro will need to glide faster to stay in the air. But even at 24% higher wing loading it is still pretty light for a 2 meter full house electric glider. The higher weight and faster glide will likely make it more more manageable in higher winds. And the higher glide speeed will give it better penetration into the wind. This can be important when you are trying to "come back" to the field against the wind.

The wing is flatter. That means that the pro will not be as stable, as self leveling as the original. It will also be less subject to side gusts so it should handle better in the wind. And the ailerons will give you more positive roll control in wind. You will have to fly it more actively. I would say the same of my AVA, a RES glider, vs. my Supra, a full house glider. Both are competition grade high end gliders. So, the Pro will likely require more attention in the air.

You could fly the Radian Pro using a DX5e but you won't have access to any special mixing features as this radio has no mixing. The video shows reflex, camber and crow. These are not available on the DX5e. They are also not available on the DX6i and need some special programming effort on the DX7.

Does that mean you can't fly the Pro on these radios? Absolutely not. You don't have to have these features, but they do allow you do take full advantage of that wing.

Here is an article, located in the Novice Lounge of the Eastern Soaring League. It talks about the recommended and optional features of a sailplane radio. You might find it interesting.
http://forums.flyesl.com/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=223

But be assued you can fly the Pro on a DX5e radio.
aeajr is online now Find More Posts by aeajr
Last edited by aeajr; Sep 24, 2010 at 09:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 06:17 AM
The figure "9" Specialist
aeronca's Avatar
A Barrier Island in New Jersey, USA
Joined Oct 2003
3,477 Posts
Count me in!

Aeronca
aeronca is offline Find More Posts by aeronca
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 06:22 AM
Aut Viam Inveniam Aut Faciam
verticalspark's Avatar
United States, CO, Colorado Springs
Joined Oct 2008
4,098 Posts
well im "stuck" with the DX6i so I will have to play around with the setting. Wonder if I can program flaps and flaperons on 2 different switches??? gonna have to play around with the 6i
verticalspark is offline Find More Posts by verticalspark
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Rocket Crash
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 06:37 AM
Registered User
USA, CT, Stamford
Joined Jun 2006
521 Posts
So what will be the aadvantage of this new Radian Pro compared to the Multiplex Cularis, which seems quite similar?

Louis
Mathelo is offline Find More Posts by Mathelo
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 07:02 AM
USA: LakeGeorge, New York
USA
Joined May 2010
4,619 Posts
aeajr
thanks for the info on post #170
rclab1 is offline Find More Posts by rclab1
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 08:20 AM
Live to fly
bighead93's Avatar
Sacramento
Joined Apr 2005
5,559 Posts
I checked through the instructions and I don't see anything about programming the flaps/crow etc. Is that going to be something they will post?
bighead93 is offline Find More Posts by bighead93
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: RCX racer
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 09:34 AM
Proud member of LISF and ESL
LI, New York, USA
Joined Mar 2003
24,476 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathelo View Post
So what will be the aadvantage of this new Radian Pro compared to the Multiplex Cularis, which seems quite similar?

Louis
HOW DOES THE RADIAN PRO COMPARE TO THE MULTIPLEX CULARIS

The Cularis is much larger at 99" wing span and much heavier at about 60 ounces. The wing loading is probably about 30% higher than the Radian Pro. I think you guys are going to like the Radian Pro better.

The Cularis is also much higher in cost. The ARF is $180 and the receiver ready pure glider is $290 without motor, receiver. battery or battery charger. The Radian Pro in the receiver ready package, with the motor and ESC is $180 and the BnF is $249 including the battery and charger. Parkzone clearly targeted a price point of under $250 for the BnF package. To get a Cularis to this level, using the recommended components would be around $450 and you would have to do more assembly. A BnF Radian Pro can be in the air in an hour.

The Cularis has two advantages. First, it is available as a pure glider or an electric so you can have it either way. The second is that the Cularis will be more visible at greater height and greater range for working those high and distant thermals. But for most Radian pilots, this is probably not a concern or a point of focus.

Frankly I think that Parkzone made a good move keeping the Pro at 2 meters. This is a very nice size for pilots used to parkflyers, their primary target market. And they have kept the weight and the price down as well so they can just add it to their growing fleet of BnF planes.

I can't wait to get my hands on one. I would love to do an article on them, "A tale of two Gliders". But it seems that will be months away.
aeajr is online now Find More Posts by aeajr
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 09:37 AM
Proud member of LISF and ESL
LI, New York, USA
Joined Mar 2003
24,476 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bighead93 View Post
I checked through the instructions and I don't see anything about programming the flaps/crow etc. Is that going to be something they will post?
That would be in the radio instructions, not in the instructions for the glider.
aeajr is online now Find More Posts by aeajr
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 09:46 AM
Proud member of LISF and ESL
LI, New York, USA
Joined Mar 2003
24,476 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by verticalspark View Post
well im "stuck" with the DX6i so I will have to play around with the setting. Wonder if I can program flaps and flaperons on 2 different switches??? gonna have to play around with the 6i
DO YOU NEED A SAILPLANE RADIO?

You can fly the Radian Pro on a Dx5e and an AR500 receiver. So let's make that clear. The AR500 has a second aileron slot that acts like a built in Y cable for the ailerons so they can operate on one channel. You can move the throttle to the switch and put the flaps on the left stick and have fully variable flaps. That will give you a lot of flexibility to manually create reflex, camber and flaps for landing but you will have to manually apply elevator to each of those mixes to keep the plane flying right. This is how full house gliders were flown before there were computer radios. The computer radios, like the DX6i, can add elevator automatically.


To get all the cool mixes that sailplane pilots like you need a sailplane radio or you need to get real good at using user mixes and you may need a lot of them. But not all of those mixes are necessary. If you have a more basic computer radio, like a DX7 or even perhaps a DX6i, you can get enough mixes working to start to take advantage of that full house wing.

Crow is cool, but not necessary. A flap to elevator mix is more than adequate to handle spot landings. Even the Dx6i has that mix. I used to use crow on my competition gliders but have since done away with it.

Crow might have real value on the slope where you might have a very tight landing area where you may have to keep the speed up on approach then get the glider down very fast into a very small area. Again, not necessary but helpful.

On the other hand thermal camber and reflex make a big difference in your speed range and thermaling ability when flying as a thermal glider. Those are mixes I would want. But again, you can use the flaps alone for both. It is not as good as full span, including ailerons, but unless you are a competition pilot, using the flaps alone is more than adequate.

If you only have a 3 position flap switch and no other flap controls you use this for your landing mix. This normally also includes elevator compensation which is very important.

To create reflex and thermal camber using the flaps alone you have to hope you have enough user mixes to create those mixes. Having the flaps on a Y cable is not a limitation for these mixes and they don't have to be fully variable. Presets work great. That is what I use on my Futaba 9C Supers. I have preset one for thermal camber and one for reflex. If you can get the ailerons aligned and moving with the flaps for these settings all the better, but again not necessary.

So, assuming you don't have a sailplane radio, you do have a flap control and at least 2 user mixes, you are in good shape. If your flap control is fully variable, great. But this example will assume you have a 3 position flap control.

Flap control - Landing - off, 50%, 100% - along with elevator compensation at each setting. BTW, your landing flaps don't have to be 90 degrees. Many times we find that we like our max flaps around 60 degrees. So you would have a 30 degree and 60 degree flap setting. Good slow approach with less chance of stalling and less chance of damaging the flap servos if you drag them on the ground.

Reflex - flaps up 1/4" - elevator mixing is nice but not necessary. How much you use is something that has to be tuned. There is no correct number for every plane. If you have a user mix and can assign this to a switch you are all set.

Thermal camber - flaps down about 1/4" -elevator mixing is nice but not necessary. Again, you need to play with the amount. You can try 3/8" and maybe even 1/2", but it probably won't be a full inch. That would likely create too much drag and cause you to drop out of the thermal. If you have a user mix and can assign a flap preset to this position and put it on a switch, you are golden.

Now you have neutral/normal flight, what I call cruise.

If you hit some bad sink, or if you are trying to come up wind, you hit some reflex, flap slightly up, and pick up speed.

If you find a thermal, circle and confirm the lift, you hit the thermal setting, flap slightly down, to climb faster in the lift

Come in for a landing - cruise, then landing/flap 1, then landing/flap 2 for landing.

This article, found on the Eastern Soaring League web site, discusses the features and benefits of sailplane radios. It should help you understand what these features do and why sailplane pilots use them when flying full house sailplanes. It also sets some priorities. You may find it interesting.
http://forums.flyesl.com/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=223

The message is that you don't need a $400 sailplane radio to fly the Radian Pro. You can do a lot with a DX6i and more with a DX7 or radios of similar level that don't have sailplane programming. For most sport pilots that is more than enough.

If you get real serious about sailplanes, then you can look at those higher end sailplane radios. Of course if you have the bucks, go for the best radio you can afford. The JR 9503, The Multiplex Evo 9, the Airtronics SD10G, Futaba 10CG and the Hitec Aurora 9 are really nice sailplane radio.
aeajr is online now Find More Posts by aeajr
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 10:01 AM
R.I.P, Aardvark.
F-111 John's Avatar
Holt, MI
Joined Jan 2009
1,554 Posts
As far as finding a reasonably priced full house sailplane radio, (with knobs instead of sliders) as Yoda might say, "there is another..."

http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...)_(v2_Firmware)
F-111 John is offline Find More Posts by F-111 John
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 10:47 AM
The figure "9" Specialist
aeronca's Avatar
A Barrier Island in New Jersey, USA
Joined Oct 2003
3,477 Posts
Sure would be great if someone who has a Pro would post a pic of the fuselage reinforcement(s)! That's one mod sorely needed, and one I'd like to do, on the now-lowly "plain" Radian.

Aeronca
aeronca is offline Find More Posts by aeronca
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Radian Pro, rumours, leaks and new info! Bowerz Electric Sailplanes 27 Nov 23, 2010 02:18 PM
For Sale Parkzone Radian PNP like new with batt $125 jzanutto Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 5 Sep 28, 2010 02:25 PM
Discussion ParkZone's P-51 Gunfighter Discussion Thread [NOT the PZ P-51 Complaints Thread] dabesq Electric Warbirds 184 Jan 19, 2010 10:21 AM
Discussion Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post Discussion Large Cabin Cruser buil Jolly Roger 1 Scale Boats 0 Jan 06, 2010 11:43 AM
Wanted Multiplex EasyGlider Pro/Cularis PNP/BNF or Parkzone Radian Sid3ways Aircraft - Sailplanes (FS/W) 6 Jul 21, 2009 08:36 PM