HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 15, 2010, 11:06 AM
"staring at you"
Joined Aug 2010
42 Posts
Discussion
Newbies Need Help, Kentucky Fried ESC

comment and suggestion please...

i'm still a newbie in rc airplane and so here the problem... i think i fried/destroyed/burn my esc last night while testing out new configuration... so here the story... at 1-3 flight i use my normal default configuration battery and my airplane was flying well as usual but disaster struck at the 4th flight. as i throttle up to gain altitude after take off the aircraft suddenly lost power and control. it went diving nose down for like 10 meter or so. in the end it crashed and later i went and retrieve the wreckage... condition was bad but its still repairable cuz its EPO airplane... servo ok, receiver ok, body, mechanical linkage and others are ok too... so my damage is my newly bought battery (greater capacity) and my esc... went back to the car and tested it out again and saw brown smoke coming out of my esc... not sure about the motor, haven't tested it out and hopefully its ok... so here my configuration before and after using the new battery... i really wanna knoe what is the problem but i'm pretty sure it was the fried esc.

Configuration earlier;
brushless motor AXN 2208 2200kv (comes with airplane)
ESC 25 amp (comes with airplane)
11.1 volt 1300ma 20c battery

configuration later;
same motor
same esc
11.1 volt 1800ma 20c battery

i learn that there is theory in how much ampere in battery could produce... and my calculation for 1st setting was 1.3 x 20 = 26 amp (minus 10% real efficiency) i get 23.4 amp... and my esc rate is 25 amp so its mean that i'm in quite safe configuration...

the calculation i get for the later setting which result in esc fried is... 1.8 x 20 = 36 amp (minus 10% real efficiency) i get 32.4 amp... and since that i didn't change my esc the rate is still the same 25 amp so perhaps when i increase the throttle up to 70% the esc burns...