HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 12, 2010, 09:20 PM
Joined Sep 2010
8 Posts
Discussion
Motor mounted off center?

Hi all, this is my first post here. Just received an Airfield 800mm P-40 for my birthday and am having setup issues.

I've watched a good amount of videos, so I understand things like trim and adjustment, etc. Those are all set proper and the receiver is binded, things are generally great.

BUT, the plane pulls HARD to the right at mid to full throttle. I couldn't get the thing to take off properly, but I am a newbie, so there could be several problems there. But without even touching the ailerons and the rudder set as straight as possible, the plane pulls to the right as I ramp up the throttle just rolling around in the parking lot. I went to the grass and tried to hand launch it. The plane pretty much dived down and to the right.

I found a level section of grass to try a rolling take off. It would lift, but then dive straight to the right and into the ground. Trying to roll, basically.

Now keep in mind, before flight I set all the servos to zero and adjusted the linkages, the whole nine yards. It's as straight as possible with no trim. Also, the CG is set per the included instructions, which from what I've seen online is rather nose heavy. (The CG is at the leading edge of the cockpit pretty much.) I've also seen the occasional CG problems with these planes on here, but those were usually the Airfieed 800mm P-51's.

Anyhow, all that being said, I discovered how to take out the motor and it's clear that the thing is mounted WAY off center. If you're looking dead on from the front, it's low and far to the right. Pushing all that air to the left side of the plane and not the other might be causing my rolling issue, but I wanted to check in here and see how much tolerance was allowed before it's considered unfit to fly.

I did take a picture, but can't seem to find that darn camera cable. I'll post it later if I find it.