HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 04, 2001, 10:50 AM
Ambassador
York, PA, USA
Joined Jul 2000
336 Posts
X250 ok for first time builder?

I was originally planning on getting the cutie as my next plane... since I've never built or covered a plane before I thought it would be perfect... however, I'm starting to lean more toward the X250...

You see, though my building skills may be non-existent, I can get my Zagi to tear up the sky and it still looks like new (no big crashes) ... So I REALLY think I'm ready for my first 4-channel ship, I'm just worried about the building and covering stages...

Also (not as important) my field is grass (short) and it sounds like the x250 can take-off from grass fairly easily, were the cutie could have to be hand launched...

Any input or suggestions?
Kosh is offline Find More Posts by Kosh
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 04, 2001, 11:07 AM
HobbyKing
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong
Joined Apr 2001
4,504 Posts
As for the w250, it has been thoroughly designed and is reasonably easy to build and the instructions are incredible. The parts all fit and self align. There are several jigs included. Above all else, just take your time and don't get frustrated.
Paul Susbauer is offline Find More Posts by Paul Susbauer
Site Sponsor
Old Oct 04, 2001, 11:21 AM
Wakefield, MA
Joined Feb 2001
769 Posts
Sounds like you are the perfect candidate for an X-250! The kit is without comparision (with the exception of the Cutie I guess!). Everything went together perfectly with the only sanding being for cosmetics. Took me about 4 or 5 evenings to build everything and a couple of more to cover it. This was with very limited time. You could possibly go on a real bender and do the whole thing in one weekend. One of the many nice things about Larry's kit is it has all hardware included. No need to stop building because you forgot to buy one $0.80 item. The only thing better than building this plane is flying it!