HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 07, 2010, 09:17 PM
Joined Sep 2010
5 Posts
Discussion
Apogee Elite or the ELF mini dlg?

Hi,
I never flew a DLG before, so this would be my first, in fact I am a complete beginner in RC flying. nevertheless, I am considering one of these as a first DLG:

The ELF (140 Euro + 40 for S&H):
http://www.fvk.de/Elf.html
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1283654

and the new Apogee Elite (300$):
http://www.flyecm.com/inventory/Apogee_Elite.asp

From your experience what would be more suitable if at all for a beginner in terms of ease of flying and building ? (at present I want to keep the building time to the bare minimum).

Do you think I should be another DLG?if so which one? would you consider the Blaster/Blaster 2/Ultegra/Gladiator as a first DLG?

Thank you,

Shlomo.
shlomok is offline Find More Posts by shlomok
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 07, 2010, 10:06 PM
Thermal Naked!
United States, AL, Mobile
Joined Dec 2007
1,632 Posts
My first DLG was the Apogee, not the Elite, just the basic Apogee.I'd been flying for 15 years when I got into DLG though. It was great. But I wouldn't spend that much on a first plane. Maybe the Mountain Models DL50 or the QuickFlick II or Wright Brothers Gambler AG. You'll save loads of money and tons of frustration, especially if you've never flown much. I'd also probably start on something that isn't quite as specialized as a DLG. Maybe a small hand launch like the Zephyr would be good. No matter what anybody tells you, a good hand launch (overhand throw, like a baseball) will fly just as well as a DLG. Not trying to guide you away from DLG, just thought i might save you some repair time. I just had another thought. The 2 meter Fling flies great if you keep it light and there's a bare minimum of build time with it! it's also not very expensive. Good luck and happy thermals!

Hoss

PS-- have you got somebody to help you with your first flights?