HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 04, 2010, 11:50 PM
Canada, ON, Owen Sound
Joined Oct 2008
2,874 Posts
Discussion
Twin otter build!!

Well, I've gone and done it now! Ihave started the build on the 600 size Twin Otter from Ivan Pettigrew!
This is my first build from plans, whew!!, even at this point I have muddled thru the basic plan pictures 100's of times to "see" what is supposed to happen.
I have the basic square fuselage structure up, and the top tapered formers in the rear. This is certainly going to be the most challenging build I've ever done!
I will post some pictures tomorrow. So far I've spent about 12 hours! I can see I have hundreds more to go! Doug Bartley
Doug Bartley is offline Find More Posts by Doug Bartley
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 05, 2010, 12:09 AM
Übung macht den Meister..
United States, OR, Fairview
Joined Jul 2006
3,026 Posts
I'm in!

James
Deuce is offline Find More Posts by Deuce
Old Sep 05, 2010, 03:30 AM
Hampshire, U.K.
Joined Jun 2008
1,936 Posts
Good choice. I'm sure you know, but there is plenty of support on hand here from Pettigrew builders and others. Just in case you haven't found them already, these two threads are the way in:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=710485
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=951408

Trevor
Trevorh is online now Find More Posts by Trevorh
Old Sep 05, 2010, 02:53 PM
Canada, ON, Owen Sound
Joined Oct 2008
2,874 Posts
twin otter build

I finally got to take a couple of pictures of my progress. Not that far along yet! Have you tried to follow Ivan's plans?? Wheww! I'm getting it done, spending a lot of time reviewing plans, its all there, just have to look for the answers!
I'll be modifying from the plans, in that the entire fuselage will be skinned to allow windows, I have drawn up some faux aileron hinges.
I've chosen Turnigy 4240-900 motors, spinning 12/8/ 3 blade EMP props, 40 A Turnigy Plush ESC'S, 2-3600mah/3S in parallel.