HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 03, 2010, 04:20 PM
Joined Sep 2010
8 Posts
Question
How is the way to use arduino to control ESC?

Hello..
i am new to the RC and i would like to use arduino to control the ESC..
but i don kno what is the pulse and what signal means what command...
Is there any data sheet or guideline?

Hope for the reply.. thx
windhamwong is offline Find More Posts by windhamwong
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 03, 2010, 04:26 PM
five by five
Panama City Bch, FL
Joined Jan 2009
2,074 Posts
you can use the servo library that comes with the IDE. http://www.arduino.cc/en/Reference/Servo
sonicj is offline Find More Posts by sonicj
Old Sep 04, 2010, 02:47 AM
Joined Sep 2010
8 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonicj View Post
you can use the servo library that comes with the IDE. http://www.arduino.cc/en/Reference/Servo
oh..
but what is the pulse width and else to control?
Old Sep 04, 2010, 09:16 AM
UK
Joined Oct 2003
3,822 Posts
Standard RC pulse width for 0-100% stick is 1ms - 2ms (1.5ms center stick). This is repeated every 20ms
Malc C is offline Find More Posts by Malc C
Old Sep 04, 2010, 09:46 AM
Joined Sep 2010
8 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malc C View Post
Standard RC pulse width for 0-100% stick is 1ms - 2ms (1.5ms center stick). This is repeated every 20ms
ok..
Do u means pulse width = the stick %? And the height of the pulse is the direction of the stick?
It should be using analog not digital because only 1/0 in digital right?
Old Sep 04, 2010, 01:54 PM
Dave the Rave
Joined Jun 2007
876 Posts
It's the pulse width not the height, that determines the output sent to the servo. A pulse of 1.5ms is interpreted by the servo as the center position. Anything less, from1.0ms to <1.5ms, is interpreted as left or right of center, depending on whether the servo direction is set to normal or reversed. Anything greater, from >1.5ms to 2.0ms, is read as the other side of center. These pulses are repeated every 20ms or so.