HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 02, 2010, 12:07 PM
Registered User
Nocept1's Avatar
United States, GA
Joined Jun 2006
27 Posts
Question
Hp DPS 800gb a power supply

Anyone know how to get this puppy fired up for hobby use? Its 850w when on a 110-120v system. If plugged up to 200 -240v its 1000w it has the standard =12v, 3.3 vsb, +5 vsb, and -12v. Any advice?
Nocept1 is online now Find More Posts by Nocept1
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 09, 2011, 01:12 PM
pos
Registered User
Joined Sep 2009
28 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nocept1 View Post
Anyone know how to get this puppy fired up for hobby use? Its 850w when on a 110-120v system. If plugged up to 200 -240v its 1000w it has the standard =12v, 3.3 vsb, +5 vsb, and -12v. Any advice?
Did you solve it? Asking as I have one as well...


/P-O
pos is offline Find More Posts by pos
Reply With Quote
Old May 08, 2011, 04:23 AM
Registered User
Norway
Joined Jul 2008
55 Posts
I'm also trying to figure this one out, it's very powerfull and very small, so it perfect... If I could only turn it on
Felborn is online now Find More Posts by Felborn
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2011, 06:26 AM
Registered User
Near Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Joined Dec 2004
382 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nocept1 View Post
Anyone know how to get this puppy fired up for hobby use? Its 850w when on a 110-120v system. If plugged up to 200 -240v its 1000w it has the standard =12v, 3.3 vsb, +5 vsb, and -12v. Any advice?
Did you manage to solve your problem. I have one as well and really would like to get it running.

Thanks,

Dave
376782 is offline Find More Posts by 376782
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2011, 08:20 AM
Registered User
Rugby, UK
Joined Feb 2007
869 Posts
There has been a lot of posts about the Hp DPS600 psu and I have converted several. Chances are that the DPS800 is the same family and may well have the same connector layout as the output voltages are the same. Have a look at http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...ps+600&page=21.
I posted on mine on post 312 and Mark Forsythe posted the connector pin plan on post 316. If the connector looks like the one in his post then almost certainly the same pin connections specified on my post will bring it to life.

Wayne
Wayne Giles is offline Find More Posts by Wayne Giles
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 03, 2011, 12:43 AM
Registered User
Australia, NSW, Rydalmere
Joined Feb 2010
32 Posts
Guys, I've started to get my hands on a few of these supplies as we decommission HP DL380G5 servers at work. Anyone managed to get them powered up yet. The ones I have a the 800W version, but the small size and 65A @ 12v is nothing to sneeze at.

Cheers
whitedg
whitedg is offline Find More Posts by whitedg
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2011, 01:35 PM
Registered User
Near Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Joined Dec 2004
382 Posts
HP DPS-800GB Power Up Solution

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nocept1 View Post
Anyone know how to get this puppy fired up for hobby use? Its 850w when on a 110-120v system. If plugged up to 200 -240v its 1000w it has the standard =12v, 3.3 vsb, +5 vsb, and -12v. Any advice?
Finally after several attempts to get the supply to hold voltage with load I believe I have the answer. Instead of jumpering pins 30, 31 and 34 together just jumper 34 to 31 and tie pin 30 to +12V. So far I can now load up to 45 amps and the output drops just 100mv (12.9V to 12.8V). I do believe I will have a double gin and tonic to celebrate. I had almost given up and tossed the supply. Now I hope I can get more as I believe this is one nice compact supply capable of delivering 65 amps. I plan to series up a couple for 24V which be a piece of cake seeing as the negative is not tied to chassis ground.
376782 is offline Find More Posts by 376782
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 05, 2011, 05:58 PM
Registered User
United States, NJ, Toms River
Joined Dec 2011
62 Posts
I have the same Power supply. Do you have a picture of the DPS800 connections. I do not want to screw this up and your help is appreciated
StevenFox950 is offline Find More Posts by StevenFox950
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 05, 2011, 06:32 PM
RC Helicopter Pilot
TheWoodCrafter's Avatar
United States, CA, Westminster
Joined Mar 2010
1,696 Posts
That seems to be quite a PS.

Is this the one you have?

This thing will put out 70AMPS at 12V for 117VAC in!!
TheWoodCrafter is offline Find More Posts by TheWoodCrafter
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2011, 07:41 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2011
1 Posts
Works great

running great at 80 amps (220v)
anderst001 is offline Find More Posts by anderst001
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2012, 03:42 AM
Registered User
s.nase's Avatar
Bundesrepublik Deutschland, Berlin, Berlin
Joined Feb 2011
24 Posts
Small, lightweight and quiet
s.nase is offline Find More Posts by s.nase
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2012, 10:00 AM
RC Helicopter Pilot
TheWoodCrafter's Avatar
United States, CA, Westminster
Joined Mar 2010
1,696 Posts
Does this work wired this way?
This looks like it would short out to me.

TheWoodCrafter is offline Find More Posts by TheWoodCrafter
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2012, 04:15 PM
Registered User
s.nase's Avatar
Bundesrepublik Deutschland, Berlin, Berlin
Joined Feb 2011
24 Posts
The central connection of the grounding works without problems. You can also disconnect the DC voltage with a capacitor from the grounding.
s.nase is offline Find More Posts by s.nase
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2012, 04:33 PM
RC Helicopter Pilot
TheWoodCrafter's Avatar
United States, CA, Westminster
Joined Mar 2010
1,696 Posts
I see it.

I missed the 2 breaks in the black line.
TheWoodCrafter is offline Find More Posts by TheWoodCrafter
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2012, 12:50 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2012
1 Posts
I have two of those scavenged but i have the feeling none of them is working.
when i plug them i get no voltage on any pin. I connected pin 31 to 34 and 30 to +12v and still the psu doesnt start. Am i doing something wrong? Should there be voltage on at least one pin when i plug the psu to powersocket?
pithiki is offline Find More Posts by pithiki
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Getting a Compaq HP DL580 Proliant Server Power Supply to Work earlwb Batteries and Chargers 509 May 05, 2013 02:34 PM
Help! HP Server Power Supply conversion memory Batteries and Chargers 3 Aug 29, 2010 12:15 AM
Discussion HP ESP113 Power supply feathermerchant DIY Electronics 1 Mar 09, 2009 05:40 PM
Question Can I charge packs with an industrial HP power supply ? yshimoni Batteries and Chargers 6 Nov 15, 2003 08:28 PM
hp 6216a power supply!!! wolfance Power Systems 0 May 19, 2003 03:08 PM