HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 02, 2010, 07:44 AM
Joined Jul 2010
395 Posts
Discussion
From a Slow Stick, Super Cub to a ParkZone Corsair. Maiden flight today...

My background

I am a beginner. On a scale of 0 to 5, where 0 is a person who has never touched an rc remote control before and a 5 is an expert flier with years of experience, I think I am a level 2.

I had a frustrating start into the hobby a few months ago, but I knew I would love flying rc planes because I grew up building and flying kites... I loved flying kites, and I built them often out of newspaper and bamboo. The most fun kites were the ugly ones that I built out of bamboo and crappy paper. Trying to build them balanced enough to fly without a tail was very fun, and I spent years flying kites...

MY FIRST PLANE, A MINI SUPER CUB

I had the wrong start. I should have started with a flight simulator, but the guy at my lhs made it sound like the mini super cub was too easy to learn on. He was wrong. The plane was tiny and unstable for the most part. Any breeze caused it to move quickly everywhere and made me panic. So I lost it quickly because I had no idea that a plane had to be balanced. After splitting the plane in half, I glued it back together. As a result, the tiny, weightless plane became very tail heavy and that was the end of that sorry plane. It crashed hard over a hill. I left it there and drove away, frustrated, wondering what to do next.

THE GWS SLOW STICK KIT: