HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 29, 2010, 05:14 PM
CNC Cutter
birdofplay's Avatar
United States, IN, Indianapolis
Joined Dec 2005
8,620 Posts
It's almost like the designers originally thought things were going to get Changed !
birdofplay is offline Find More Posts by birdofplay
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 30, 2010, 06:45 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2009
194 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helitime View Post
Still messin around but she's flyable now.

I included a "guts" pic as I may have done things a little dif (like me :-))
After adding air brakes I didn't want to have to "fish" 4 servo lines thru the fuse. so I went over the top. Removed 1/8" of foam and put up little depron walls with tiny velcro straps(red) to keep things organized. A slight cut out of the underside of the canopy foam also. I am missing 2 short servo ext. from the receiver to the ailerons that will be colour coded like the brake servo wires on the right. (Dif. colours of course). Easier then plugging into the receiver every time.
Attachment 3628678

Now the odd /good part. I have already built enough weight out the back to make the thing tail heavy. I put it all together and checked the C/G and I may have to move the pack forward. (already moved the strap back.)Hard to say for sure as the prop/spinner will be about 10g heavier. Either way it will be easy to get right.

AUW is 1530 grams = 54 oz with a 2200 40c 3s (205g)
Nice job! I do the same thing with servo extensions as getting at the receiver is a PITA. On the end of the servo extensions that plug into the wing servos, I scribe 'L' on the one that goes to the left wing and 'R' that goes to the right wing so I don't have to do wire tracing to the receiver every time at the field. I'm usually more distracted at the field so I've dumbed it down for myself..

This plane has a slower glide/stall speed than my ASW 28 did. You may find you won't need the brakes nearly as much but they're nice to have all the same.

I wound up imbedding 2oz of lead in the horizontal stabilizer to get mine to balance at 40mm. There's probably little chance of 2 of these planes being alike with all the modification possibilities. I like that about this plane!

Can't wait to read about the maiden!

Robbie
robbiehatfield is offline Find More Posts by robbiehatfield
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2010, 07:13 AM
Registered User
Pickering Ontario CANADA
Joined May 2010
780 Posts
Thanks Robbie: Yup, I did "L"+"R" on a few. Now I use crafters paint "even easier for aging eyes", cheap ($1/bottle) and can be easily scratched off.:-)

The brakes I had sitting around so w/t/h I stuck em in to play with. Maybe I can do diving landings. As Bird mentioned even the spoilerons are not really needed.

PITA, thats putting it mildly. :-)

Have a good one.
Helitime is offline Find More Posts by Helitime
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2010, 07:46 AM
Registered User
Pickering Ontario CANADA
Joined May 2010
780 Posts
Thinking about the wing flex: is it bad ? as the wings seem very stiff.
Can't find anything to go in the joiner so I may need a solid rod also.
More work but a second joiner could be added right next to the control rod tube, lots of meat at this point in the fuse also. My first question is "do we need extra support"??
My DG1000 wing tips will move about a foot and a half with no problems.

Seems to be an experienced bunch of guys here so I will go with the concensus. :-)

Thanks
Helitime is offline Find More Posts by Helitime
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2010, 09:43 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2009
194 Posts
I measured the inner diameter of the stock tubular carbon fiber wing joining rod. It's roughly .220", but I figure it won't be as uniform as the outer diameter is as that's not as critical of a dimension. I found a source that sells .217" OD solid carbon fiber rods. I've ordered one, but I may wind up having to do a little sanding to get it all the way through the stock rod because of the possible non-uniformity. This was your idea Kerry and it was a good one! I couldn't find a matching OD solid carbon fiber rod to replace the stock wing joining rod and had I found one I probably wouldn't have wanted to pay the high cost. The .217" rod was $37.00 for two 48" rods as this is the only way it comes.

Robbie
robbiehatfield is offline Find More Posts by robbiehatfield
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2010, 10:55 AM
CNC Cutter
birdofplay's Avatar
United States, IN, Indianapolis
Joined Dec 2005
8,620 Posts
I have been known to WET SAND a CF tube by turning it slowly and just grabbing it
with a wet piece of sand paper and sliding it up and down uniformly until it FIT in it's
telescoping counter part.

A Spray bottle keeps things wet and sloppy.

It was very thick walled CF for wing joining.
I used cheaper outer CF tubing too but wrapped it with Kevlar thread
and CAed it before installing in the ribs.

Did the same with another solid rod of CF too.
I eventually got a fairly cheap 1/2" solid rod from two pieces ( a tube and a rod )

It was very messy and time consuming !

But, I do like to experiment

Why cant they make CF to closer tolerances ?


Kite making suppliers have lots of CF stuff
Google
Goodwinds on the west coast
or Hang em High on the east coast
or KBI on east coast as well.

RCFoam.com has CF too.
birdofplay is offline Find More Posts by birdofplay
Last edited by birdofplay; Nov 30, 2010 at 11:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2010, 06:50 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2009
194 Posts
Thanks for the tips bird!

Robbie
robbiehatfield is offline Find More Posts by robbiehatfield
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 01, 2010, 12:16 AM
Registered User
Pickering Ontario CANADA
Joined May 2010
780 Posts
Sorted out my failing rudder hinge.
Helitime is offline Find More Posts by Helitime
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 01, 2010, 08:25 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2009
194 Posts
Nice job on the rudder section! It looks factory done. I just put clear duct tape over my rudder servo.. I'm getting lazy..

Robbie
robbiehatfield is offline Find More Posts by robbiehatfield
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 01, 2010, 09:26 AM
Registered User
Pickering Ontario CANADA
Joined May 2010
780 Posts
Thanks Robbie.
Made a little vac. former to make the servo covers and used some peel and stick film for the gap seals.
None of this will make mine fly any better though. :-)

Bird: Re canopy clips. I removed the back one while running servo wire and have found it much easier without it. Still very secure, I even added the clear tape to pull it up (your idea).
Helitime is offline Find More Posts by Helitime
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 01, 2010, 10:27 AM
CNC Cutter
birdofplay's Avatar
United States, IN, Indianapolis
Joined Dec 2005
8,620 Posts
Rudder work looks like it will hold up well.

Thats about what I will do when necessary.
birdofplay is offline Find More Posts by birdofplay
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 01, 2010, 11:45 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2009
194 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helitime View Post
Thanks Robbie.
Made a little vac. former to make the servo covers and used some peel and stick film for the gap seals.
None of this will make mine fly any better though. :-)

Bird: Re canopy clips. I removed the back one while running servo wire and have found it much easier without it. Still very secure, I even added the clear tape to pull it up (your idea).
Funny you should mention the canopy clips.. My ST Models 2M Fox only has to two side-by-side clips with the foam catch in the back of the canopy. It holds fine as well but the clips aren't as good on that one as the ones used on this 2.32M Fox so I had to modify the smaller Fox ones to work properly.

Note to self.. add clear tape to facilitate removing canopy. Good idea Bird!

Robbie
robbiehatfield is offline Find More Posts by robbiehatfield
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 01, 2010, 05:46 PM
CNC Cutter
birdofplay's Avatar
United States, IN, Indianapolis
Joined Dec 2005
8,620 Posts
Just before lunch I spied 6 Eagles out in trees near the river.
Two in a big Pine another two in a "fishin" tree across the channel and
two more in other distant locations.
I have tripod mounted Monster Binocs !

So I figured it WAS high time for me to go flying too !

I arrived at about 1 pm and tested a Full Fuse Foamy Pilatus Porter ~ 48 span
with flaps and 3 blade prop.

Then it sprinkled but it looked like a temporary thing. so I waited in the truck

I got out the Fox and stuffed in a 3 cell 2200 and did a trimming flight.
Full right aileron was necessary.

After landing I cranked all the trim that was in the TX settings
and stuffed in 4 Cells !

The ailerons were ok now and the climb was quite acceptable !

So a fiddled around at altitude and managed some fairly long power off glides.
It is 50 F and Cloudy and the ground is Wet and Cold so forget thermals.
Regardless it flies nice a smooth and stable.
I couldn't get it to tip stall.

I had programmed Coupled Rudder and Ailerons. Switch selectable.
That seemed to work well. Besides ...
I wasnt doing any aerobatics.

I had my Cam Duct taped to my hat so I started dong flybys and "Out Front"
low circling with low power.
I thought I was getting some good "Footage" ! :-(
But the CAm must have been acting up and I only got a a little of the flight.
My last maneuver was to climb out from a low circling pass to show the
angle of climb.
It was pretty nice and I chopped the power at the top and just glided around
after a "sorta" Hammer head stall.
As I flew past myself I wanted to power up and do another go-around,
BUT NOooo !!! power was NOT happening this time !?!?!?
So after a long walk to retrieve my Fox I have decided that the
STOCK ESC Must have either gotten some of the rain in it
OR it is NOT a 4 cell capable ESC !

I'll let you know my findings after clean up and retesting !

Regardless I'm thinking that a 40 Amp Turnigy "red" wrapper is going in next !
birdofplay is offline Find More Posts by birdofplay
Last edited by birdofplay; Dec 01, 2010 at 05:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 01, 2010, 06:30 PM
CNC Cutter
birdofplay's Avatar
United States, IN, Indianapolis
Joined Dec 2005
8,620 Posts
The Stock ESC has some water vapor or Fog inside the clear shrink wrap.

However it still beeps and provided power to the RX.
Ti does not smell burned out. I KNOW what that is like. !?!? :-}}}

A Turnigy Plush 40 amp is now in there and works just fine !

I'll let you after the stock unit dries out !
birdofplay is offline Find More Posts by birdofplay
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 01, 2010, 07:31 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2009
194 Posts
Were you using a FlyCamOne2 by any chance? I had one of these and when it wanted to work, it worked great, but the other half of the time it would die for no discernable reason despite being on the USB port of my pc supposedly charging for hours before going to the field..

Robbie
robbiehatfield is offline Find More Posts by robbiehatfield
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini-Review FOX ST-Model /Kyosho /Hype /Ripmax 1.8m /71" EPO PnP/RTF BL/ Glider McMoron Electric Sailplanes 418 Jul 10, 2014 11:47 AM
New Product HobbyKing Minimoa 2mtr R/C Glider EPO w/ Motor, ESC, Servos Plug-n-Fly Bowerz Electric Sailplanes 3 Aug 28, 2011 01:28 PM
Discussion HobbyKing 3D 30" EPO Yak 54 Bowerz 3D Foamies 39 May 06, 2011 11:39 PM
Sold WindRider Fox EPP Glider $60 + Shipping ShoGinn Aircraft - Sailplanes (FS/W) 1 Aug 23, 2010 09:21 PM
Discussion St model fox glider Staudacher600 Electric Sailplanes 2 Aug 04, 2010 10:42 PM