HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 05, 2011, 07:21 PM
Registered User
Birmingham (UK)
Joined Sep 2010
342 Posts
You don't need to set it up. Its' all setup from the factory. Just plug it into the receiver (throttle slot) and away you go.
ulogix is offline Find More Posts by ulogix
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 06, 2011, 03:11 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2011
53 Posts
yep, just plug an play!
odd really as usually you at least have to set the throttle range!
been out an had 3 flights on my wot 4 this evening, i really like flying this plane, geting used to it a bit more now, ive turned up the rates some more and starting to throw it around a bit more, im getting 6 an a half minutes flying

roll on the weekend
jjh23 is offline Find More Posts by jjh23
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 06, 2011, 03:51 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2011
53 Posts
while i think about it, whats the maximum throw on elevator/aileron people are flying this plane with??

cheers
jjh23 is offline Find More Posts by jjh23
Last edited by jjh23; Apr 07, 2011 at 04:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2011, 07:03 AM
Registered User
Leicester, UK
Joined Sep 2010
106 Posts
WOT4 Foam-E GoPro Front & Rear chased by Twinstar LMAC

http://youtu.be/6LamN8L35Zg?hd=1
mjc1970 is offline Find More Posts by mjc1970
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2011, 04:13 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2011
53 Posts
cool vid, keep looking at those Go pro camera's, will have to buy 1 soon!
jjh23 is offline Find More Posts by jjh23
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2011, 11:14 AM
Registered User
iwchris's Avatar
Isle of Wight (UK)
Joined Oct 2010
217 Posts
Just about to put the Decals on my Wot4, a guy at my flying club said he always wets the underside when putting Decals on as it makes it easier to position them, not sure if this is good for foam, any thoughts on this guys?

Chris
iwchris is offline Find More Posts by iwchris
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2011, 11:57 AM
Maintain Thine Airspeed !
Redbrickman's Avatar
Wiltshire UK
Joined Apr 2010
415 Posts
Yes, You can soak them just like waterslide transfers. It makes them easy to slide around on the foam, and believe me you will need to play about with the Wot4 transfers.

Once they are rubbed down and the moisture dry out the glue sticks them OK. If you are wary just try it on the smallest transfer first.

Even figuring out which wing transfers are which is a little confusing
Redbrickman is offline Find More Posts by Redbrickman
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2011, 01:33 PM
Registered User
iwchris's Avatar
Isle of Wight (UK)
Joined Oct 2010
217 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redbrickman View Post
Yes, You can soak them just like waterslide transfers. It makes them easy to slide around on the foam, and believe me you will need to play about with the Wot4 transfers.

Once they are rubbed down and the moisture dry out the glue sticks them OK. If you are wary just try it on the smallest transfer first.

Even figuring out which wing transfers are which is a little confusing
Thanks for the info, I have just been putting the wing ones on and yes it does work well makes it easier to slide them around, and as you say, you need to play around with them to get them in the right position.

Chris
iwchris is offline Find More Posts by iwchris
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2011, 05:02 PM
Registered User
uk
Joined Oct 2007
665 Posts
WARNING
Might be worth checking the white swivel plastic catch that holds the battery cover on by tightening the screw that holds it.

Today my lipo ejected doing spins from a great height due to the above issue.

Damage
cracked cowl
BIG Split in wing(but spar ok), expoxy should fix it.
Motor shaft snapped.

So, any suggestions on an alternative motor, perhaps with slightly more power? Ripmax want top money for a replacement, about 38 quid

This is my 2nd wot4 foamie. The first caught fire and burnt a hole through Fuz. Quickly removed lipo. Stock Speed controller fried to toast.
I hear, this has now been addressed and new wot4's now come with a 36amp(i think) speed controller, instead of 30amp, according to ripmax.
mk1spitfire is offline Find More Posts by mk1spitfire
Last edited by mk1spitfire; Apr 24, 2011 at 03:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2011, 03:23 AM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2011
53 Posts
have a look at page 10, post 136, he put a bigger motor in his
jjh23 is offline Find More Posts by jjh23
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2011, 09:39 AM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2011
53 Posts
beware, these dont go through trees very well
jjh23 is offline Find More Posts by jjh23
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2011, 09:42 AM
Registered User
LuvEvolution7's Avatar
St.Catharines, Ontario
Joined Jan 2009
10,377 Posts
that actually looks pretty good, if it went through trees. I'de say you got off lucky.
LuvEvolution7 is offline Find More Posts by LuvEvolution7
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2011, 11:01 AM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2011
53 Posts
i thought id missed the tree, then it caught the next branch if you look carefully you can see a couple dents in the blue sticker of the wing, the damage was deffinatly done when it hit the floor!
ive just been up an took it all apart and i think i need a new fuselage (33) i thought id be able to glue it back together but the foam behind the motor mount is all crushed an broken
all the electrics look ok, will plug it in and check it later.
jjh23 is offline Find More Posts by jjh23
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2011, 11:21 AM
Registered User
iwchris's Avatar
Isle of Wight (UK)
Joined Oct 2010
217 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjh23 View Post
i thought id missed the tree, then it caught the next branch if you look carefully you can see a couple dents in the blue sticker of the wing, the damage was deffinatly done when it hit the floor!
ive just been up an took it all apart and i think i need a new fuselage (33) i thought id be able to glue it back together but the foam behind the motor mount is all crushed an broken
all the electrics look ok, will plug it in and check it later.
Sorry to see that you had a tree problem, it's so good that you can replace parts, so many these days do not offer that service.
I was going to give my Wot4 it's first today but as the weather was so good I took my Easyglider up on the downs and had some great Thermaling.
Chris
iwchris is offline Find More Posts by iwchris
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2011, 09:59 PM
Registered User
LuvEvolution7's Avatar
St.Catharines, Ontario
Joined Jan 2009
10,377 Posts
I don't know about those trees.............even though they are firmly rooted to the ground, sometimes you'de swear they literally jump right in front of you. LOL.

don't be too disturbed about your "incident", it happens to everyone...............well, there are those that have hit trees and/or other objects and then there are those that are wannabe man pilots. LOL.
LuvEvolution7 is offline Find More Posts by LuvEvolution7
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Wot 4 Frank Hurd Sport Planes 75 Dec 21, 2012 03:46 PM
Discussion Wot 4 or Acrowot sg sailing Fuel Plane Talk 9 Sep 17, 2011 12:06 PM
Wot- 4 Twister 60 e-conversion leccyflyer Sport Planes 51 Jun 14, 2010 10:25 AM
Discussion OS 61FX in a Wot 4? Sosbe1 Power Systems 1 Mar 25, 2010 11:31 AM
Discussion WOT 4 Mk3 Build ben64 Fuel Plane Talk 0 Oct 10, 2009 05:21 PM