HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 23, 2012, 01:44 AM
Registered User
United States, CA, Sebastopol
Joined Dec 2010
7,480 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kalmon View Post
I use a large drop of CA on the hub to add weight. I've had to do this on a couple of my props.

-Brian
Yup... that's the method I was talking about. So you should do that on little props too. OK... thanks!
erkq is offline Find More Posts by erkq
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 23, 2012, 07:09 AM
Lawn Dart Specialist
SixDeuces's Avatar
United States, PA, Williamsport
Joined Jun 2006
392 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fooferdoggie View Post
my elevator servo has died or spazed out. only 5 flights on it the last I lightly stuck it in a tree. hard to wait 5 days to fly again only to discover the elevator was not working. playing with it with my finger it moved fully one way or the other but that was more of a spaz then anything else. I cleaned the servo with the cleaner I use on all my heli's and lubed it but nothing. So do I replace the servo or the board? and if the servo is this the right one
Replacement Servo Mechanics: 2.3-Gram 2030L
(SPM6836)
First, remove both servos, carefully clean the contacts, then reinstall. If that doesn't help, swap servo positions and see if the problem moves with the mechanics. (Unlikely.) If problem persists in the same side, the board is shot.
SixDeuces is offline Find More Posts by SixDeuces
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 10:27 AM
Registered User
United States, OR, Happy Valley
Joined Aug 2012
207 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SixDeuces View Post
First, remove both servos, carefully clean the contacts, then reinstall. If that doesn't help, swap servo positions and see if the problem moves with the mechanics. (Unlikely.) If problem persists in the same side, the board is shot.
Don't you have to cut the wires on them? I have not taken the board out but I thought they were soldered on.
fooferdoggie is offline Find More Posts by fooferdoggie
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 11:29 AM
Registered User
United States, CA, Sebastopol
Joined Dec 2010
7,480 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fooferdoggie View Post
Don't you have to cut the wires on them? I have not taken the board out but I thought they were soldered on.
Nope. Little biddy plugs. They would never solder them on (I'd hope). Much too difficult replacing dead/defective servos for an end-user. It would be completely serviceable in the field.
erkq is offline Find More Posts by erkq
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 01:40 PM
If it has wings it will fly...
ckleanth's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Birmingham
Joined Mar 2011
1,425 Posts
hi chaps. today was a bit windy and the top wing on my beast(pre 3d version) finally gave up and snapped in half. I was going o buy a replacement when I saw that from my local shop the 3d set is slightly cheaper and have bigger control surfaces. on the other hand the tail & elevator control surfaces on the 3d also seem bigger.
questions are
-is my observation correct about the control surfaces or the difference of the basic and the 3d is the acx3 alone?
-has anyone fitted the 3d main wing set on the basic beast (and possibly would require fitting the elevator as well) or shall I stick with the old profile?
ckleanth is offline Find More Posts by ckleanth
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 02:16 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, Sebastopol
Joined Dec 2010
7,480 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckleanth View Post
hi chaps. today was a bit windy and the top wing on my beast(pre 3d version) finally gave up and snapped in half. I was going o buy a replacement when I saw that from my local shop the 3d set is slightly cheaper and have bigger control surfaces. on the other hand the tail & elevator control surfaces on the 3d also seem bigger.
questions are
-is my observation correct about the control surfaces or the difference of the basic and the 3d is the acx3 alone?
-has anyone fitted the 3d main wing set on the basic beast (and possibly would require fitting the elevator as well) or shall I stick with the old profile?
First, terminology, because it gets confusing about what you're discussing:

The 3D is a "basic" model. "Basic" just means it comes without charger, battery, Tx. I think you're referring to the v1 Beast when comparing. All control surfaces are the same size. So, given that, swapping wings would be pointless.
erkq is offline Find More Posts by erkq
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 03:00 PM
If it has wings it will fly...
ckleanth's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Birmingham
Joined Mar 2011
1,425 Posts
yea I've got the v1... I wasnt sure about the "basic" terminology

right the difference is price but from what you're saying the V1 and the 3D a/c its exacly the same shape/size but with the as3x receiver?

Ultra Micro Beast Wing Set 14.24
http://www.wheelspinmodels.co.uk/i/121759/

UMX Beast 3D Wing Set 12.34
http://www.wheelspinmodels.co.uk/i/121759/
ckleanth is offline Find More Posts by ckleanth
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 03:04 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, Sebastopol
Joined Dec 2010
7,480 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckleanth View Post
yea I've got the v1... I wasnt sure about the "basic" terminology

right the difference is price but from what you're saying the V1 and the 3D a/c its exacly the same shape/size but with the as3x receiver?

Ultra Micro Beast Wing Set 14.24
http://www.wheelspinmodels.co.uk/i/121759/

UMX Beast 3D Wing Set 12.34
http://www.wheelspinmodels.co.uk/i/121759/
Yes... just different markings.
erkq is offline Find More Posts by erkq
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 03:05 PM
If it has wings it will fly...
ckleanth's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Birmingham
Joined Mar 2011
1,425 Posts
cheers
ckleanth is offline Find More Posts by ckleanth
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 04:16 PM
Registered User
United States, OR, Happy Valley
Joined Aug 2012
207 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by erkq View Post
Nope. Little biddy plugs. They would never solder them on (I'd hope). Much too difficult replacing dead/defective servos for an end-user. It would be completely serviceable in the field.
too many of my parkzone and blade helis have soldered on servo's
fooferdoggie is offline Find More Posts by fooferdoggie
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 05:01 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, Sebastopol
Joined Dec 2010
7,480 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fooferdoggie View Post
too many of my parkzone and blade helis have soldered on servo's
Really! Yeah... I'd say even 1 is too many!
erkq is offline Find More Posts by erkq
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 11:22 PM
Registered User
United States, OR, Happy Valley
Joined Aug 2012
207 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by erkq View Post
Nope. Little biddy plugs. They would never solder them on (I'd hope). Much too difficult replacing dead/defective servos for an end-user. It would be completely serviceable in the field.
No plugs. Only the aileron servos have plugs. What a pain to take it apart. I will never complain about replacing a heli frame. Far easier. Now I have to solder those tiny wires
fooferdoggie is offline Find More Posts by fooferdoggie
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 06:53 AM
Registered User
Canada, ON, Calabogie
Joined May 2011
261 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fooferdoggie View Post
No plugs. Only the aileron servos have plugs. What a pain to take it apart. I will never complain about replacing a heli frame. Far easier. Now I have to solder those tiny wires
What's on the brick stays on the brick
msdumo is offline Find More Posts by msdumo
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 10:22 AM
Registered User
United States, OR, Happy Valley
Joined Aug 2012
207 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by msdumo View Post
What's on the brick stays on the brick

at least a servo is only 6.00
fooferdoggie is offline Find More Posts by fooferdoggie
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 10:31 AM
Registered User
United States, CA, Sebastopol
Joined Dec 2010
7,480 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fooferdoggie View Post
No plugs. Only the aileron servos have plugs. What a pain to take it apart. I will never complain about replacing a heli frame. Far easier. Now I have to solder those tiny wires
Quote:
Originally Posted by msdumo View Post
What's on the brick stays on the brick
I have poor reading comprehension... apparently. Sorry... didn't register that it was on the brick. Duh...
erkq is offline Find More Posts by erkq
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion ParkZone Ultra Micro T-28!!! THE Owners Thread!!!! dkintx Micro Ready-to-Fly 10038 Sep 29, 2014 11:04 AM
Official Parkzone P-51 Owners Thread - Part 2 monitor Parkflyers 2602 Jun 15, 2014 04:51 PM
Discussion UM beast, Now your talking qman Micro Ready-to-Fly 102 Dec 22, 2010 10:39 AM
Discussion The first OFFICIAL Parkzone Sukhoi SU-26XP BNF by ParkZone Owners thread skyjet Micro Ready-to-Fly 2 Mar 19, 2010 03:00 PM
Official Parkzone P-51 Owners Thread monitor Parkflyers 913 Oct 04, 2005 09:02 PM