HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 09, 2010, 09:32 AM
Bray, UK
Joined Aug 2009
270 Posts
Discussion
Make a flying wing out of your crashed PKZ UM Sukhoi!

[NEW VIDEO & IMPROVED WING on page 2!]
Ok, so don't laugh too much, but I have just made a flying wing out of salvage from the debris of a couple of PKZ UM Sukhois... and amazingly it actually flies (well I was amazed, anyway).

I have never built anything before but I have been lurking in these forums and was finally inspired to try to make a little wing out of broken bits of plane and spare PKZ parts.

I joined two half Sukhoi wings (including ailerons, the servo horns and one servo still in place), stuck on the AR6400L brick and motor from a dead Sukhoic XP and used the rest of the wings as vertical stabilisers. The space between the wings was perfect for a prop for an Ember, but I didn't glue it on properly (as it is rotating the wrong way and unscrews itself) and it blew away, so I took an old 5043 prop and cut it down to 10cm to fit.

It was quite breezy for the maiden so I was all over the place, but it flew!! I had to equal out the throws as the linear servo is a standard one, whereas the brick is the long throw version, but easy enough. Quite twitchy on roll and pitch, but controllable, especially once I put some expo in. Rolls and loops easily! I would say it certainly needs the vertical stabs at the wingtips to continue further back, but at least the nice symmetric wing profile helps it fly true.

Anyway, some pics below and I'll post a video when the wind dies down... As I said, this was my first attempt at anything that wasn't (A)RTF, so be kind but any suggestions, comments, criticism, ideas for what I should do next to improve my limited skills (think baby steps!) etc very welcome!
bluefisherking is offline Find More Posts by bluefisherking
Last edited by bluefisherking; Aug 24, 2010 at 03:52 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 09, 2010, 11:03 AM
yes my thermal gogles are on
Ocala,Fla