SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by hoppy, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Feb 13, 2013, 09:38 PM View Post
mannjulie2010
A moderator felt this post violated the following rule: Off Topic Advertisement. Show it to me anyway.
Old Feb 14, 2013, 08:18 AM
Space Coast USA
hoppy's Avatar
Space Coast
Joined Oct 2000
20,945 Posts
Post mistakenly deleted. Sorry.


Originally Posted by v00d0o
Ok, I guess it is a lot about trial and error.. I was only hovering.
I've got to fly around a bit, and put my full gopro load on it to see my true flight times.

Thanks for now
hoppy is offline Find More Posts by hoppy
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 08:22 AM
Registered User
v00d0o's Avatar
United States, VA, Fairfax
Joined Dec 2012
1,248 Posts
hoppy I think you deleted the wrong comment.

anyway... So this is basically all trial and error? I don't want to go under 3.7 no load. I'll have to do some testing to see what my voltage is during load when it is @3.7v


Edit.

Thanks hoppy
v00d0o is offline Find More Posts by v00d0o
RCG Plus Member
Old Feb 14, 2013, 04:39 PM
That's a funny word
NE Ohio
Joined Apr 2003
3,686 Posts
Here's another idea if you have the equipment. Toggle between the loaded and unloaded currents while watching the voltage. A CBA will do this on "duty cycle" tests easily allowing one to fairly accurately determine the relationship between the specific voltages. It can range a LOT and can also range because of temp.
gulio is offline Find More Posts by gulio
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 05:35 PM
Space Coast USA
hoppy's Avatar
Space Coast
Joined Oct 2000
20,945 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by v00d0o View Post
hoppy I think you deleted the wrong comment.

anyway... So this is basically all trial and error? I don't want to go under 3.7 no load. I'll have to do some testing to see what my voltage is during load when it is @3.7v


Edit.

Thanks hoppy
Test and evaluate, that's the procedure. Using the chart, you can estimate after one timed run about how long it will take to get to 80%. For instance, if you fly for 5 min and the pack is 50% depleted, than another 2 1/2 minutes would put it around 75%.
hoppy is offline Find More Posts by hoppy
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 05:52 PM
Registered User
v00d0o's Avatar
United States, VA, Fairfax
Joined Dec 2012
1,248 Posts
Thanks,

I've got my battery here. I'm not sure if its faulty or not.

I charge it balanced so a total of 12.6v - 4.20v per cell

But after I leave it couple minutes.. it goes to around 12.5v - 4.17 to 4.19 per cell..

is this normal?
v00d0o is offline Find More Posts by v00d0o
RCG Plus Member
Old Feb 14, 2013, 06:41 PM
Space Coast USA
hoppy's Avatar
Space Coast
Joined Oct 2000
20,945 Posts
Perfectly normal.
hoppy is offline Find More Posts by hoppy
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 09:15 PM
Registered User
v00d0o's Avatar
United States, VA, Fairfax
Joined Dec 2012
1,248 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoppy View Post
Perfectly normal.
Right on!

I may end up getting an OSD to see what I need to see on the screen... That way I'll know when to land. No guessing!
v00d0o is offline Find More Posts by v00d0o
RCG Plus Member
Old Feb 14, 2013, 09:46 PM
RC Helicopter Pilot
TheWoodCrafter's Avatar
United States, CA, Westminster
Joined Mar 2010
1,696 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by v00d0o View Post


I may end up getting an OSD to see what I need to see on the screen... That way I'll know when to land. No guessing!
That is what the timer in your TX is for.
TheWoodCrafter is offline Find More Posts by TheWoodCrafter
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 07:17 AM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2013
14 Posts



Albeit I am a newbie at rc flying, I forget to flick the timer switch. A nice bright egg timer ticking is easy to see, set and get used to rather than a setting in the thrid page of the TX computer and a flick-switch on the top... Also for beginners with something like a DX5 the egg timer always works

cubflyingdave is offline Find More Posts by cubflyingdave
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2013, 12:08 PM
Joe_Crash
joe_crash's Avatar
United States, MD, Gaithersburg
Joined Oct 2010
436 Posts
Any hope of resurrection?

Ah, I totally goofed and let my attention wander, and over discharged a brand new Turnigy Nano Tech 3s 1600mah 25-50C lipo - down to a voltage level of 8.2 v ... yes, I know - I'm an idiot. There is no puffing on the battery at all - is there any way to resurrect this battery? When I put in on my charger, I get a msg. saying the voltage is too low.

Is it destined for the lipo afterlife, and simultaneously teaching me a very expensive lesson to take my ADD meds and pay attention, or can it possibly be salvaged?

Thanks - feeling stupid - Joe
joe_crash is offline Find More Posts by joe_crash
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2013, 12:22 PM
Space Coast USA
hoppy's Avatar
Space Coast
Joined Oct 2000
20,945 Posts
Hi Joe, check out the Sticky, http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1074181

I'd do the charge outside or in a firesafe place. Probably no problems but it pays to play safe.

Some reading on battery problems. http://www.mpoweruk.com/lithium_failures.htm
hoppy is offline Find More Posts by hoppy
Last edited by hoppy; Mar 22, 2013 at 12:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2013, 09:48 PM
Joe_Crash
joe_crash's Avatar
United States, MD, Gaithersburg
Joined Oct 2010
436 Posts
Thanks for the hope

I was just sitting here working on my quad, with my (dead) brand new nano-tech battery - then saw your post - thanks ! There's a glimmer of hope! I really was not wanting to cut the leads off of it and re-use the XT60 in a wiring harness - that would be one expensive wiring harness! I'll give it a try tomorrow and post back ... crossing my fingers.
joe_crash is offline Find More Posts by joe_crash
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2013, 09:48 PM
Registered User
Tallahassee, FL
Joined Sep 2009
1,531 Posts
The sooner the better. The more time spent below safe minimum the more potential for permanent damage.
Turner2 is offline Find More Posts by Turner2
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2013, 08:02 AM
Registered User
kerwin50's Avatar
winston mo
Joined Oct 2006
7,539 Posts
I had a tx lipo that I left on. It went dead. I did a no no and took it out side where I shocked it with a 12 volt car battery. I didn't do it very long, maybe 10 seconds at a time for 3 times.
After that I charged it at 300 ma.
That was last year and so far it seems to of held.
I know I should be discharging my Tx batt to between usage but I havn't done that either.
Are the lipo Tx batteries any different.
kerwin50 is offline Find More Posts by kerwin50
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools