SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by billpa, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old May 04, 2012, 08:07 AM
Simon
Asomaro's Avatar
United Kingdom, Dorset
Joined Sep 2011
14 Posts
4s set up

Hi, just wanted to double check something before I go and mess up so any advice would be very much appreciated.

I want to use 2 x 4s 3000 mah lipos (wired to create 4s 6000 mah) to power my wing.

I will be using a v4 logger and an OSD pro along with FPV gear (200 mw tx and board camera) as well as various other add on's like the guardian.

I will be using a 10a BEC (prob a castle creations one) to serve power to my spektrum rx.

The thing that concerns me is that the lipos deliver 14.8v - the spektrum rx is OK because that has the BEC to regulate the power, but what about the FPV gear? I plan to use a small BEC to regulate the 5v required for the FPV tx, but the camera requires 12v - how is that achieved?

Does the OSD Pro just pass through whatever voltage is being fed from the Logger (ie 14.8v)? If so then I need to have some kind of regulator to reduce the voltage from 14.8 to 12 - I've not done that before so any suggestions are very welcome!

Cheers,
Asomaro is offline Find More Posts by Asomaro
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 06, 2012, 01:37 AM
Team Park Pilot - Airborne
OzparkPilot's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Sydney
Joined Nov 2006
4,471 Posts
Sub
OzparkPilot is online now Find More Posts by OzparkPilot
Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2012, 06:23 PM
Winter Sucks!!
romans1015's Avatar
United States, WI, New Berlin
Joined Aug 2002
751 Posts
New to FPV and after receiving a box full of parts from RMRC and briefly scanning
over some of the instructions, my first thought was

Well, after a week of reading forums and post and threads and videos, my wiring
diagram is done. Annnnnd.....I think I actually understand it

BUT, IS IT RIGHT??? That is the BIG Question

If anyone could give me a few minutes of their time and look over what I have
that would be awesome!
I'm at the edge of my seat, wondering if I did this right

Thanks,
Randy
romans1015 is online now Find More Posts by romans1015
Last edited by romans1015; May 21, 2012 at 07:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2012, 07:15 PM
Team Park Pilot - Airborne
OzparkPilot's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Sydney
Joined Nov 2006
4,471 Posts
I want to know if the abouve works aswell as thats how I drew mine up too..Experts please
OzparkPilot is online now Find More Posts by OzparkPilot
Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2012, 09:56 PM
Long Range FPV'er
Joined Feb 2009
573 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by romans1015 View Post
New to FPV and after receiving a box full of parts from RMRC and briefly scanning
over some of the instructions, my first thought was

Well, after a week of reading forums and post and threads and videos, my wiring
diagram is done. Annnnnd.....I think I actually understand it

BUT, IS IT RIGHT??? That is the BIG Question

If anyone could give me a few minutes of their time and look over what I have
that would be awesome!
I'm at the edge of my seat, wondering if I did this right

Thanks,
Randy
If you are using the Guardian which it looks like you are, then Aileron out from the OSD needs to go to the Aileron servo, not the Rudder... Rudder from your Futaba Rx goes to straight to the rudder servo.. (You can put a gyro on the rudder if you wish.. )Your current setup would be used if the Guardian wasn't installed.. Alot of guys would have used that setup with the FY-20A...

The Guardian makes the FY-20A look... Old !
Mykro is online now Find More Posts by Mykro
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2012, 10:26 PM
Winter Sucks!!
romans1015's Avatar
United States, WI, New Berlin
Joined Aug 2002
751 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mykro View Post
If you are using the Guardian which it looks like you are, then Aileron out from the OSD needs to go to the Aileron servo, not the Rudder... Rudder from your Futaba Rx goes to straight to the rudder servo.. (You can put a gyro on the rudder if you wish.. )Your current setup would be used if the Guardian wasn't installed.. Alot of guys would have used that setup with the FY-20A...

The Guardian makes the FY-20A look... Old !

Thanks Mykro....I'm a little confused though

My plane is only Rudder/Elevator. Do I need ailerons to use the Gaurdian??
romans1015 is online now Find More Posts by romans1015
Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2012, 11:43 PM
Long Range FPV'er
Joined Feb 2009
573 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by romans1015 View Post
Thanks Mykro....I'm a little confused though

My plane is only Rudder/Elevator. Do I need ailerons to use the Gaurdian??
It should work..I don't see why it wouldn't..
Mykro is online now Find More Posts by Mykro
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2012, 12:05 AM
Winter Sucks!!
romans1015's Avatar
United States, WI, New Berlin
Joined Aug 2002
751 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mykro View Post
It should work..I don't see why it wouldn't..

I had the rudder channel on receiver going to the aux1in at the osd. I changed that .

And I also had the aileron channel rx going to aileron on the osd when my plane
doesn't even have ailerons

Here it is again:
romans1015 is online now Find More Posts by romans1015
Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2012, 12:22 AM
Winter Sucks!!
romans1015's Avatar
United States, WI, New Berlin
Joined Aug 2002
751 Posts
This is from the manual:

"Connecting the Servos

Connect your receiverís Aileron output (or Rudder receiver output, if the plane does not have Ailerons)
and the Elevator receiver output to the OSD Proís Aileron and Elevator servo
inputs.
Then, connect your servos to their corresponding OSD Pro servo outputs."


So as you can see, I have the rudder going from the rx to the "OSD aileron In"
and then the "OSD aileron out" going to the rudder.

Is the gaurdian going to recognize it as rudder yaw axis? and not aileron roll axis?

My plane is very self stabilizing so not having ailerons with the guardian wont be as bad.

Here is the plane:
romans1015 is online now Find More Posts by romans1015
Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2012, 12:25 AM
Long Range FPV'er
Joined Feb 2009
573 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by romans1015 View Post
I had the rudder channel on receiver going to the aux1in at the osd. I changed that .

And I also had the aileron channel rx going to aileron on the osd when my plane
doesn't even have ailerons

Here it is again:
looks like you're all good now..
Mykro is online now Find More Posts by Mykro
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2012, 01:07 AM
Registered User
Norway, Hordaland, Bergen
Joined Feb 2009
280 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by romans1015 View Post
This is from the manual:

"Connecting the Servos

Connect your receiverís Aileron output (or Rudder receiver output, if the plane does not have Ailerons)
and the Elevator receiver output to the OSD Proís Aileron and Elevator servo
inputs.
Then, connect your servos to their corresponding OSD Pro servo outputs."


So as you can see, I have the rudder going from the rx to the "OSD aileron In"
and then the "OSD aileron out" going to the rudder.

Is the gaurdian going to recognize it as rudder yaw axis? and not aileron roll axis?

My plane is very self stabilizing so not having ailerons with the guardian wont be as bad.

Here is the plane:
Hi, I use the guardian on a Slow-Stick (that is also rudder/elevator only), and it works great. Much better than the FY-20A I tried first.

Only thing with your setup that I got a comment on is that you use ch4 on the receiver for control and not ch1.
If you use mode2 on your futaba radio, Ch1 is main 'stearing' control, aileron if you have it, or else you connect the rudder to it. So you have both main controls on the same stick.
On my slow-stick I use ch4(rudder stick) for camera pan.

Megafluffy
Megafluffy is offline Find More Posts by Megafluffy
Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2012, 07:57 AM
Winter Sucks!!
romans1015's Avatar
United States, WI, New Berlin
Joined Aug 2002
751 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Megafluffy View Post
Hi, I use the guardian on a Slow-Stick (that is also rudder/elevator only), and it works great. Much better than the FY-20A I tried first.

Only thing with your setup that I got a comment on is that you use ch4 on the receiver for control and not ch1.
If you use mode2 on your futaba radio, Ch1 is main 'stearing' control, aileron if you have it, or else you connect the rudder to it. So you have both main controls on the same stick.
On my slow-stick I use ch4(rudder stick) for camera pan.

Megafluffy
Thanks, I'll switch that. I like having rudder and elevator both controlled from the right stick.
romans1015 is online now Find More Posts by romans1015
Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2012, 05:27 PM
Winter Sucks!!
romans1015's Avatar
United States, WI, New Berlin
Joined Aug 2002
751 Posts
Although I understand a lot of why I plugged things in where I did. There are
also things I did just because it's what I read that you should do.

So here are some questions I hope some of you can answer.


1) Are the camera and mic getting their power via the battery through the OSD?


2) I have a separate battery powering my VTX, do I really need to do that?


3) Should I remove the black ground wire and the red power wire that goes

from the esc to the OSD Throttle out? Which would leave just the signal wire.
For the reasons below.


"remove the ground wire that goes from your ESC to the OSD. I had it
connected too, untill one day the motor current decided that it should
follow this route to return to the battery. The wire melted within
seconds, but luckily no other component was damaged since this
happend during pre-flight test and I shut the throttle immediately. It is
safer to have only the signal wire connected
."

"Bite the bullet and spend the money on a good low noise stand alone

BEC. Then clip or remove the red wire on your ESC/throttle connector to
disable the ESC BEC. If you can spare the room/weight a second battery
for powering your system will work too and eliminate any possible
"switching noise" being introduced. You will save yourself a lot of grief."

Thanks,
Randy

romans1015 is online now Find More Posts by romans1015
Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2012, 09:01 AM
Registered User
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Jan 2008
1,044 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by romans1015 View Post
New to FPV and after receiving a box full of parts from RMRC and briefly scanning
over some of the instructions, my first thought was

Well, after a week of reading forums and post and threads and videos, my wiring
diagram is done. Annnnnd.....I think I actually understand it

BUT, IS IT RIGHT??? That is the BIG Question

If anyone could give me a few minutes of their time and look over what I have
that would be awesome!
I'm at the edge of my seat, wondering if I did this right

Thanks,
Randy
Usually an ESC has a BEC built into in which case you either don't need the UBEC that you have connected to the Receiver battery input, or you need to disconnect the red wire coming out of your ESC.

If you go with disconnecting the ESC red wire and use the UBEC, you should connect the UBEC input to the ESC side of the eLogger such that the eLogger will also record your UBEC's current.

You should also consider removing the ground wire connected to the UBEC as this completes a ground loop path created in conjunction with the ground wire in the Throttle Out - ESC path.

Yes, your Camera and Mic are getting power from your second battery through the OSD Pro. This is called 'Pass-Through'.

You can remove the second battery and power all from your main pack but be sure to make the changes above to remove the ground loop.

Geoff
garris2 is offline Find More Posts by garris2
Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2012, 10:38 AM
Winter Sucks!!
romans1015's Avatar
United States, WI, New Berlin
Joined Aug 2002
751 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by garris2 View Post
Usually an ESC has a BEC built into in which case you either don't need the UBEC that you have connected to the Receiver battery input, or you need to disconnect the red wire coming out of your ESC.

If you go with disconnecting the ESC red wire and use the UBEC, you should connect the UBEC input to the ESC side of the eLogger such that the eLogger will also record your UBEC's current.

You should also consider removing the ground wire connected to the UBEC as this completes a ground loop path created in conjunction with the ground wire in the Throttle Out - ESC path.

Yes, your Camera and Mic are getting power from your second battery through the OSD Pro. This is called 'Pass-Through'.

You can remove the second battery and power all from your main pack but be sure to make the changes above to remove the ground loop.

Geoff

Thanks Geoff for answering those. I dont have it all soldered up yet. I kind of
want to wait till I know my diagram is right.

Is there an advantage to using two batteries?

Randy
romans1015 is online now Find More Posts by romans1015
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Please post your brushless motor pole count here billpa Eagle Tree Systems 86 May 10, 2014 02:35 PM
Discussion Please post photos of your sensor installations here! billpa Eagle Tree Systems 8 Jul 09, 2011 05:21 AM
Discussion Post your small flying field video here! Lafayette Aerial Photography 38 Sep 05, 2010 01:46 AM
Help! Noob needs help wiring elogger-v3/OSD Pro Mykro Eagle Tree Systems 7 Jun 25, 2010 12:59 AM
PLEASE post pics of your Tiger Moths here!! JREEVES Parkflyers 3 Oct 26, 2001 09:51 PM