HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 31, 2010, 07:29 PM
Harrisonburg, Virgina USA
Joined Jul 2010
2 Posts
Question
New to it. Questions for Veterns

Hello everyone. I am a newbie and I would like to share some of my experiences in the RC world and ask for some advice.

My first RC vehicle was a CJ clone from a Sears catalog. It was a Christmas present I received when I was 6 or 7 and it was what I had asked for. Unfortunately it was DOA. It never moved and it was returned to Sears but was not replaced. When I was 12 for a birthday present I received a Radio Shack RC dune buggy. I loved that dune buggy and would play with it as much as I could but the problem was that it took something like 8 AA batteries and would only be usable for about 15 minutes. I remember stealing batteries from various things around the house trying to get a few extra minutes out of it. When I was 14 or 15, for Christmas I received an RC hovercraft which had a rechargeable battery pack. I loved chasing the dog and cat around with it on the kitchen floor however it wasn't much use anywhere else because unless what the craft was on was smooth it wouldn't move. About three years ago I bought one of those Walmart 30 dollar foam helicopters which was incredible fun for the cost but it was short lived as it got away from me and landed nearly impossibly into a toilet. I am fascinated by RC craft but I have been apprehensive of the cost and longevity of the item. I remember my father taking me to his friends house once because his friend has just purchased a very expensive RC car. I believed it was gas/nitro powered because it was very very fast. So fast in fact that while he was driving it (and I watching) he lost control of it. It cart-wheeled off the road and into a tree utterly destroying it.