HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 31, 2010, 10:41 AM
Joined Nov 2009
306 Posts
Discussion
What's the difference between high and low wing loading?

I'm trying to find how to tell the difference between planes that have a high wing and low wing loading plane.
Could someone give me the name of a 3D plane that has each for an example or what to look for in the specs?

thanks,Robert
roberted5 is offline Find More Posts by roberted5
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 31, 2010, 12:28 PM
Utah USA
Joined Jun 2002
2,236 Posts
I'm no expert, but here's my best explaination.

Look for the "Wing Area" in the specs and the AUW (weight with everything ready to fly) which is usually in ounces. The wing area is usually given in square inches, so you take that info and divide it by 144 to get the square feet of the wing. You then divide the weight by the square feet to get the ounces per square feet.

The lower oz's per square feet the slower the plane will fly and will have a lower stall speed. For high alpha 3D you generally want as low a wing loading as you can get, even more so if flying indoors. Jet's and sport planes will usually have a higher wing loading and will fly much faster and require more speed to land.

Some planes, however, don't give you the wing area, but only the wing width. I just look at the taper and chord (depth) of the wing in that case and get a general feel for what the wing loading might be. I use a very rough formula for my outdoor 3D high alpha (somewhat floater) planes, 2 inches of wing for every oz. of weight max. For example on a 32" plane I shoot for a max of 16oz. For indoor you'd want to shoot for less weight than that (tighter area and no wind), more like a max of 12oz I would guess.

Here is an example plane spec:

Wing span: 32"
Wing chord: 9"
Weight: 16oz

32X9=288 sq inches /144 = 2 sq ft
16 oz / 2 sq ft = 8 oz per square foot