HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 24, 2003, 01:17 PM
29 rods from you in western WI
Joined Jan 2003
4,885 Posts
Design & build of Pencam-class photo platform

I've been working on & off for the past 5 months on a design that will replace the Slowstick for me when operating out of all but the most cramped LZ's. Two months ago I reached CAD stage, and for the last two weeks the balsa scraps and glue have been flying.

WS: 48", just under 400 sq. in.
Airfoil: modified E-193
Power: geared 300-400 class
Control: R/E/T/Shutter
Payload: 3 oz max

CF tailboom, pull-pull controls inside boom, surfaces & fuse built-up balsa/ply, wing built-up balsa/ply w/CF tape spar doublers, quick-release wing (NO RUBBERBANDS! )

Ideas for larger next-gen: 6-8 oz payload for larger CCD/AF, pitch leveler for camera, left-down-right aim on aux. channel, flaperons.

Karl
Karl Bē is offline Find More Posts by Karl Bē
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 24, 2003, 01:18 PM
Joined Jan 2003
4,885 Posts
Tail items:
Old Jun 24, 2003, 01:19 PM
Joined Jan 2003
4,885 Posts
last for now:
Old Jun 24, 2003, 03:32 PM
Aerial Shutterbug
San Mateo, California, United States
Joined Nov 2001
5,007 Posts
Hi Karl,

Very nice design there. I am wondering if you will be incorporating any dihedral in the main wing? The self leveling properties of such a design would be a plus. Of course if you wanted maximum lift then keeping the wing flat would be a better design no?

I like the angled rudder surface, has this helped in reducing the turning radius of the plane? I'm still learning the basics of plane design so please bear with my questions.

BTW, 0.02 on your self-leveling thought. You could attach the camera with a simple two-axis gimbal, that would not only give you pitch correction but roll as well.

Regards,
Roger
RMihara is offline Find More Posts by RMihara
Old Jun 24, 2003, 04:12 PM
Joined Jan 2003
4,885 Posts
Hi Roger,