HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 25, 2010, 11:10 PM
USA, IL, Rolling Meadows
Joined Jul 2010
28 Posts
Discussion
Is clearview good for a rookie to learn?

Hey everyone! I am a rookie to RC flying, and i purchased the Clearview simulator. At first, i could barely get off the ground. After about a half hour i was really starting to learn (i'm using a dual joystick game controller, but holding the nobs like i would a RC controller). I purchased a TW-749 ME-109 for $96 (plane and controller), and i havent been able to keep it up in the air for more than 5 seconds (2 crashed, but plane is fine). My question is this; Will Clearview help me learn to fly a RC plane in the real world? I know nothing compares to actually doing the real deal, but will the trainer give me the tools in order to make another attempt at flight and maybe be successful?
steveTA1983 is offline Find More Posts by steveTA1983
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 26, 2010, 02:55 AM
Staffs, UK
Joined Nov 2003
9,889 Posts
Like any other simulator it will help most if you use it with a proper transmitter so you really get used to how YOUR controls work and feel. Also if you use it carefully to plan and practise simple moves until you get them exactly right rather than just playing it as a game, throwing the planes all over the sky.

Steve
slipstick is offline Find More Posts by slipstick
Old Jul 26, 2010, 08:07 AM
USA, IL, Rolling Meadows
Joined Jul 2010
28 Posts
when i play it i actually try to simulate real flying. i try to control it well and keep it steady, not just do loops and crazy stuff
Old Jul 26, 2010, 12:37 PM
Joined Jun 2010
109 Posts
One of the big issues with most game controllers is that they have round joystick limits. RC controllers have square ones. If you use a game pad you can never get to 100% on both channels on a stick at the same time. You might consider getting a cheap USB RC style joystick controller, or a cord to use your real Tx.