HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 15, 2011, 09:45 AM
Registered User
Canada, QC, Montreal
Joined Apr 2009
574 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wind_of_Change View Post
So I have a couple of efficiency & weight questions.

1. As I get all my AV gear hooked up using the cables that came with the gear, I notice that it's pretty much a mess of wires with big bulky RCA and Power connectors. I'm at 90 grams for all this stuff, and was wondering whether you guys snip off all these bulky connectors and hardwire everything, or just plug it in and pack all this bulky crap into your wing?

2. When people talk about shielding their wires, what does that mean? And which wires need to be shielded? Is it the AV signal wire, or the power wires, or both?

3. How does one go about shielding his wires?
I would also like to know the answers to these questions...
aero_k is offline Find More Posts by aero_k
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 15, 2011, 09:57 AM
Great Britain
MrBen.'s Avatar
Joined Dec 2008
1,668 Posts
Getting there slowly, did the laminating today.
MrBen. is online now Find More Posts by MrBen.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2011, 10:17 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Jan 2011
13 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wind_of_Change View Post
So I have a couple of efficiency & weight questions.

1. As I get all my AV gear hooked up using the cables that came with the gear, I notice that it's pretty much a mess of wires with big bulky RCA and Power connectors. I'm at 90 grams for all this stuff, and was wondering whether you guys snip off all these bulky connectors and hardwire everything, or just plug it in and pack all this bulky crap into your wing?
no, snip off the bulky RCA connectors. they don't do you any favor.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wind_of_Change View Post
2. When people talk about shielding their wires, what does that mean? And which wires need to be shielded? Is it the AV signal wire, or the power wires, or both?
wires shielded from external RF interference. power and AV wires need to be shielded for maximum interference protection and range.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wind_of_Change View Post
3. How does one go about shielding his wires?
Buy shielded cables. CAT6 or audio wires are shielded. As are USB and mouse cables. Shield by connecting the ground to the outside wire mesh or aluminum foil that wraps around the inner cables of the wire. on the side nearest to the battery only.
LeRoiFPV is offline Find More Posts by LeRoiFPV
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jan 15, 2011, 10:43 AM
Crash Test Dummy
e2346437's Avatar
United States, ME, Mapleton
Joined May 2005
902 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeRoiFPV View Post
Buy shielded cables. CAT6 or audio wires are shielded. As are USB and mouse cables. Shield by connecting the ground to the outside wire mesh or aluminum foil that wraps around the inner cables of the wire. on the side nearest to the battery only.
I've run a hundred miles of CAT6, and I've never seen any shield in it.
e2346437 is offline Find More Posts by e2346437
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2011, 10:59 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Jan 2011
13 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by e2346437 View Post
I've run a hundred miles of CAT6, and I've never seen any shield in it.
then you should use the shielded CAT6. that has shields in it. CAT5 is also fine btw. unless it doesn't have any shield in it. because that means it's unshielded.

(sorry if this post sounds a bit like stating the obvious - because it is)
LeRoiFPV is offline Find More Posts by LeRoiFPV
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jan 15, 2011, 11:04 AM
Crash Test Dummy
e2346437's Avatar
United States, ME, Mapleton
Joined May 2005
902 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeRoiFPV View Post
then you should use the shielded CAT6. that has shields in it. CAT5 is also fine btw. unless it doesn't have any shield in it. because that means it's unshielded.

(sorry if this post sounds a bit like stating the obvious - because it is)
Your post specifically said "CAT6 or audio wires are shielded" when in fact only shielded CAT6 is shielded. That may be obvious to you and me but not to the person reading it.
e2346437 is offline Find More Posts by e2346437
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2011, 11:07 AM
Registered Loser :)
mark hitchman's Avatar
New Zealand
Joined Sep 2009
1,928 Posts
For CAT 5 you can get utp or stp, the stp is the shielded one.

Mark
mark hitchman is offline Find More Posts by mark hitchman
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2011, 11:13 AM
Registered User
Zen09's Avatar
Germany, HB, Bremen
Joined Jun 2010
923 Posts
http://www.l-com.com/Content/FAQ.aspx?Type=FAQ&ID=4803
edit: too late
Zen09 is offline Find More Posts by Zen09
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2011, 11:14 AM View Post
LeRoiFPV
A moderator felt this post violated the following rule: Personal Attack. Show it to me anyway.
Old Jan 15, 2011, 11:27 AM
Great Britain
MrBen.'s Avatar
Joined Dec 2008
1,668 Posts
now now ladies, we have established it can come both shielded or not so lets move on.
MrBen. is online now Find More Posts by MrBen.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2011, 12:35 PM
Falling with style
metalfred's Avatar
Canada, QC
Joined Apr 2010
1,331 Posts
USB is +5v do you think I can pass +12v without problems?
metalfred is offline Find More Posts by metalfred
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2011, 12:37 PM
Great Britain
MrBen.'s Avatar
Joined Dec 2008
1,668 Posts
I think so thats what i use to power my vtx out on the wing, some usb cables use thicker wires than others
MrBen. is online now Find More Posts by MrBen.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2011, 02:39 PM
Registered User
Kmart's Avatar
United States, CO, Boulder
Joined Sep 2008
7,433 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beauregard View Post
That's funny.. Glad to see some humor..


Got my 60" today.. Wow this thing is huge Off to look for some 3m90
Hope Depot in Colorado has it. $13 a can. Get 2.

I got mine yesterday as well. Looks like a race. Although, mine is 8" shorter.
Kmart is offline Find More Posts by Kmart
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2011, 03:08 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2010
10 Posts
How much is total cost of this plane and electronics?
Wreckie is offline Find More Posts by Wreckie
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2011, 03:17 PM
Registered User
Kmart's Avatar
United States, CO, Boulder
Joined Sep 2008
7,433 Posts
That's a very subjective question- totally depends on what you put in it. But you're looking at $400-$1000, depending on what you put in it.
Kmart is offline Find More Posts by Kmart
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Mats 54" Zephyr RiteWing Build matwelli Flying Wings 47 Nov 25, 2011 07:24 PM
Discussion Another Ritewing Zephyr build thread trappy FPV Talk 136 Jan 11, 2011 04:25 AM
Build Log My little folding Ritewing Zephyr jimbob00 Flying Wings 10 Sep 19, 2010 07:05 AM
Build Log Building the ultimate Ritewing Zephyr trappy FPV Talk 49 Jul 21, 2010 05:28 PM
Discussion Ritewing Zephyr 1st FPV flight Matt Gunn FPV Talk 13 Sep 18, 2009 09:25 PM