HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 20, 2010, 08:16 PM
Joined Jul 2010
42 Posts
Discussion
New Blade SR Pilot Need help with Pitch

Hi new to single rotor flight. Just purchased SR from LHS. Have had some fun but have crashed a few times with lots of repairs. I have rebuilt head several times and now I want to re-establish proper blade pitch. I have previously tracked blades successfully, but now need to re-establish a good initial head condition with blades properly set. Not much help from Blade for this, no specific instruction. How should I start so pitch curve is correct throughout range of flight from 0 throttle to full. What is blade pitch at 0 stick, mid-way, and full stick? Should it b 0 pitch at 0 stick to some maximum amount for this particular helo? Keep in mind I dont want an aggressive bird b?c i am new at this? Any advice welcomed. The radio package is not programable either? Thanx JJETMEC

PS: my 1st post
jjetmec is offline Find More Posts by jjetmec
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 20, 2010, 10:34 PM
Cranky old fart
Germantown, WI.
Joined Oct 2007
21,486 Posts
Basically, all you can do is set throttle to 0 (with TX on, battery in and motor disconnected) and adjust pitch to 0 using a pitch gauge. Beyond that, all you can do is ensure the head has adequate travel up and down. You can't really set pitch limits without a programmable TX.
Balr14 is offline Find More Posts by Balr14
Old Jul 20, 2010, 11:18 PM
Fly Runaway Fans
United States, TX, Fort Worth
Joined Jan 2009
9,387 Posts
Take Bal's word, he's got a lot more time in the biz than I do.

Mechanically, zero pitch should occur at mid throttle on a linear pitch curve. But with the jiggered transmitter there is no way of knowing what should be where when. It's all arbitrary unless Horizon specifies it.