HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 16, 2010, 01:35 PM
Bigtex
Joined Mar 2010
39 Posts
Discussion
Alpha 40 Glo to Electric Power Setup

Need some advice from some of the electric plane pros

Put together a Hanger 9 Alpha 40 Trainer-- going to to covert it to electric power. Horizon lists the flying weight of the glo model at 5 to 5.5 lbs.

Horizon Hobby recommends---- Power 25 BL Outrunner Motor, 870Kv; 60-Amp Pro Switch-Mode BEC Brushless ESC; and 3200mAh 4S 14.8V 20C LiPo, 13AWG EC3.

Will this be a sufficient power set up to give this plane adequate power?? or should I go with a stronger setup?

Any recommendations as to brand?

Would like to see an estimate of approximately how much flying time that one could expect from the Horizon Hobby recommended setup assuming that most flying will be a 60% throttle?

I am new to the hobby and still learning the electric technolgy-- and most of the time experience will yield good results-- sometime every better than the formulas. Appreciate any help and comments.

Thanks
bigtex57 is offline Find More Posts by bigtex57
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 16, 2010, 01:55 PM
Balsa and Foam can Coexist
United States, WA, Seattle
Joined Feb 2010
1,908 Posts
I suggest a Power 32. But I think a Power 25 should work as long as you watch the amps. See my reply in the electric page

BTW, I buy all the E-flite motors here (well actually the Exceed-RC Knock-offs) http://www.hobbypartz.com/mopose.html They work great
WAGliderGuy is online now Find More Posts by WAGliderGuy
Last edited by WAGliderGuy; Jul 16, 2010 at 02:01 PM.
Old Jul 16, 2010, 02:06 PM
Joined Jul 2010
5 Posts
Hi.I'm not a pro......but I tell you my experience with this plane

Just converted few weeks ago my Alpha 40 dsm2 RTF(the orange-white-black one)into electric and I'm very very satisfied whit this.

The set-up that I use is different (always taken from the pages of H9 and E-Flite)
motor: Power 46 bl 670 Kv
ESC: CC phoenix 60 Amp
BEC: CC CCBEC 10 Amp