HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 24, 2012, 10:03 AM
Registered User
Bloomfield, IN
Joined Nov 2006
937 Posts
After flying my WWI planes I almost need speed brakes on my F4F to slow it down for landing. WWI planes have more drag than the F4F so slow down much more quickly when throtle is cut.
degreen60 is offline Find More Posts by degreen60
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 24, 2012, 10:05 AM
Registered User
Bloomfield, IN
Joined Nov 2006
937 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RcAirplaneNoob View Post
What is the point of changing the motor? The motor in it is good right?
He bought an airframe. Probably did not come with motor.
degreen60 is offline Find More Posts by degreen60
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 10:06 AM
Registered User
LA Ming's Avatar
Poteau, OK
Joined Nov 2008
495 Posts
Hi RcAirplaneNoob:

From reading this thread, the stock motor is fine and dandy. In fact, from watching vids and reading reports, the stock little plane scoots around nicely. I think the guys that are changing things are like "hot rodders"... they want just a little (or a lot) more. Know what I mean?

Get one, fly it, enjoy it.
LA Ming is online now Find More Posts by LA Ming
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 02:36 PM
Registered User
Wamp's Avatar
Joined Mar 2012
2,137 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by LA Ming View Post
Hi RcAirplaneNoob:

From reading this thread, the stock motor is fine and dandy. In fact, from watching vids and reading reports, the stock little plane scoots around nicely. I think the guys that are changing things are like "hot rodders"... they want just a little (or a lot) more. Know what I mean?

Get one, fly it, enjoy it.
In my case no.
The stock unit, is probably similar or better than scale power.
Fine, but I have a habit of flying around at stall speed, then there is not enough power to get out of trouble.
I did find vertical preformance disappointing.
The Turnigy 3536 was a bit heavy, so I stayed with 1300mAh bats.
Was not so much looking to hot rod, but for a tractor gear.
Turned out to be worth it, because Wildcat could take on more wind.
That extended potential air time.
Bet a PK480 would be sweet! Chris
Wamp is offline Find More Posts by Wamp
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 06:15 PM
I am GBLynden
GBLynden's Avatar
United States, WA, Lynden
Joined Mar 2011
3,235 Posts
So my second flight with the Wildcat was a great experience! It was a relatively short flight, but it was fun to get that flight under my belt without issue.

This is a nice plane!
GBLynden is offline Find More Posts by GBLynden
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 09:48 PM
You Know What I Mean
LaserBeam's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Sydney
Joined Dec 2011
915 Posts
Motor Upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by RcAirplaneNoob View Post
What is the point of changing the motor? The motor in it is good right?

Swapping out motors is done by many r/c drivers/pilots.
Sometimes a bearing fails or the shaft gets bent in a crash.
Sometimes theres a fire from a hot ESC and LiPo
Sometimes the plane comes with a crappy little excuse for a motor,
and when you fly into the wind the plane flys backwards.
But much of the time we change our motor because we are
looking for more power, more torque, more speed or simply a machine that performs differently.

Putting a motor in that is way too big for the airframe/chassis is a popular past-time GLOBALLY
Australians love doing this we'll try to fit a 5.8litre V8 engine into a lawnmower, just for a laugh.
The trick is finding a motor that IS NOT too heavy or too powerful that it starts ripping wings off in flight.
Guys will post the results of their motor upgrades here, and any of the associated installation details,
so that others can learn from the experiences without all the headaches.
At the same time they get insight into the best upgrade parts for their own machine, making it easier to customise it to their requirements.

The motor in the Wildcat is fine. I like it and it will handle some wind, etc.
But one day you might want more of an adrenalin rush ... you'll need a bigger motor and esc for that.
PS. I always change the propelllor to see if i can squeeze some extra from the stock motors.
Then i change the ESC and LiPo to provide the motor with more juice.
The last step is the motor, which is not always an easy installation,
(may need to shop for other motor mounts, screws, spacers and the centre of gravity usually needs to be corrected).
Sometimes the new motor has a shorter shaft and changes have to be made so the original cowling fits, etc.
Always a good idea to share setups and check out others
LaserBeam is offline Find More Posts by LaserBeam
Last edited by LaserBeam; Nov 24, 2012 at 10:09 PM. Reason: Post Script
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 10:12 PM
Registered User
United States, LA, Lake Charles
Joined Jul 2003
65 Posts
I bought an airframe only and put in a:
Firepower 10 sport
http:// http://www.headsuprc.com/servlet/the-1429/Firepower-10-Sport-%283536-dsh-10%29/Detail
Smallpartscnc mount
http:// http://smallpartscnc.com/index.php?route=product/product&path=20_43_86&product_id=100

Along with a 40amp ESC and a 10x5 prop. I fly 1300mah lipos and get about 5-1/2 minute flights. I don't know how fast it is but its pretty quick and has unlimited vertical.
butaford is offline Find More Posts by butaford
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 01:33 AM
We got some flyin' to do!
Justwingit's Avatar
United States, CA, Fort Irwin
Joined Apr 2012
5,207 Posts
I guess I'm the oddball...I put batteries in mine and fly it
Justwingit is online now Find More Posts by Justwingit
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 25, 2012, 03:42 AM
Registered User
Wamp's Avatar
Joined Mar 2012
2,137 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justwingit View Post
I guess I'm the oddball...I put batteries in mine and fly it
Futzen on the bench can past the time.
But right on the idea is to fly.
I still have my original stock unit!
I bought an airframe to cut down time in the beginning.
Got to fly to learn. But #1 survived!
Looking around the shop, there was a dusty 450 heli.
What a waste. RX, ESC and good servoes good to go.
Found a you tube vid were a fela stuck in the cheap Turnigy 3536
For more vertical performance.
Next thing ya know two planes at the field!
Yup just fly! Chris
Wamp is offline Find More Posts by Wamp
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 11:03 AM
Registered User
United States, FL, West Melbourne
Joined May 2011
1,743 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justwingit View Post
I guess I'm the oddball...I put batteries in mine and fly it
New to the thread and I am buying one from a buddy. Barely flown. While I agree in principle I have to say theat the wildcat I saw recently with a POWER 25 was unbelievable. I did change out my Corsair to a Power 15 as has Parkzone. That said the Corsair has a lot more wing to support the weight.

I have no big motor change plans for this bird. Looks pretty quick as is.
Rickflaguy is offline Find More Posts by Rickflaguy
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 11:32 AM
Registered User
United States, LA, Lake Charles
Joined Jul 2003
65 Posts
I wanted a stock one, but they quit selling the plug-n-play. If they didn't want an arm and a leg for their stock motor I would have gotten one.
butaford is offline Find More Posts by butaford
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 02:49 PM
Flying is Freedom
Sky_Captain's Avatar
Annandale, VA
Joined Jul 2007
6,385 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RcAirplaneNoob View Post
What is the point of changing the motor? The motor in it is good right?
To make it faster or have a higher climb rate.
It's decent, but not easy to repair of the shaft gets bent or something like that. It's a decent motor but nothing to write home about. If you want more power or speed then the Power 10 or G10 are good motors. But get the aluminum motor mount to go with them.
Sky_Captain is offline Find More Posts by Sky_Captain
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 03:17 PM
Registered User
United States, FL, West Melbourne
Joined May 2011
1,743 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by butaford View Post
I wanted a stock one, but they quit selling the plug-n-play. If they didn't want an arm and a leg for their stock motor I would have gotten one.
Don't get me wrong, when the stock motor burns out I am not going out to pay a fortune for E-Flite. I would likely go for a Power 10 of a similar weight for fun.

That Power 25 Wildcat was amazing though.
Rickflaguy is offline Find More Posts by Rickflaguy
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 08:22 PM
We got some flyin' to do!
Justwingit's Avatar
United States, CA, Fort Irwin
Joined Apr 2012
5,207 Posts
I'll think about swapping out the motor when the stock one burns up...

Right now it's got over 20 flight hours on it and it still pulls very well...
Justwingit is online now Find More Posts by Justwingit
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 25, 2012, 08:54 PM
Arrowhead
Joined Dec 2010
1,389 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justwingit View Post
I guess I'm the oddball...I put batteries in mine and fly it
Works for me too. But everyone has their own way of enjoying the hobby. As long as they're having fun and not hurting anyone, it's all good
CF105 is online now Find More Posts by CF105
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Parkzone F4F Wildcat WOW!!!! ilovejets1 Parkflyers 34 Dec 09, 2010 10:29 PM
Build Log Dumas 17.5" F4F Wildcat LoneRanger Scratchbuilt Indoor and Micro Models 53 Jul 07, 2010 10:34 AM
Wanted TRADE MY NEW EFLITE P47 your ALFA F4F WILDCAT! BRUTUS2238 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Jun 10, 2010 10:31 AM
Discussion The first OFFICIAL Parkzone Sukhoi SU-26XP BNF by ParkZone Owners thread skyjet Micro Ready-to-Fly 2 Mar 19, 2010 04:00 PM
Discussion Scratchbuilt F4F Wildcat kylewoody Parkflyers 2 Sep 01, 2009 09:18 PM