HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 15, 2010, 07:55 AM
Joined Jul 2010
3 Posts
Discussion
Need help connecting transmitter to computer for flight sim

Hello, I'm just getting into RC planes and while surfing the net I came across this forum and decided to register.
I dont have a plane yet and decided to start on a rc flight simulator. My friend gave me a transmitter that he said I could hook up to my computer. This way I only have to download the flight sim software. The only problem is that I have no idea how to hook it up to my laptop or if I even can. There is an input on the side of the transmitter for a charger cable and then another one that looks almost like an S-Video jack that say's "trainer" above it. I imagine I have to use that but I dont know where to get the cable. Does anyone know if the transmitter would connect to my computer? Also, any recommendations for a pretty good (and cheap) rc flight simulator?
Thanks for the help!
frankyd is offline Find More Posts by frankyd
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 15, 2010, 08:43 AM
Joined Jul 2010
3 Posts
After doing some research it looks like this cable would connect the transmitter to my computer....but would it work? Also, can I find a cheaper one? $18 seems a bit pricey for just a cable.

http://www.amazon.com/EF-Transmitter...9201298&sr=8-2
Old Jul 15, 2010, 09:20 AM
Joined Jun 2010
111 Posts
Save yourself a little hassle
http://www.nitroplanes.com/simulator.html

I think those come with FMS (the free sim) but will work with clearview if you want a better sim. The more expensive sims come with their own controllers.
geekybiker is offline Find More Posts by geekybiker
Old Jul 15, 2010, 09:36 AM
Joined Jul 2010
3 Posts
Thanks for the link. I didnt realize how cheap they sims were. I did a search but the ones that I found were much more expensive than that. Is that a pretty decent simulator?
Old Jul 15, 2010, 12:33 PM
Joined Jun 2010
111 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankyd View Post