HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 07, 2010, 10:14 PM
Space Coast USA
hoppy's Avatar
Space Coast
Joined Oct 2000
21,019 Posts
Discussion
Hobby King Spektrum-like RX

Got my $15 inline Rx (RA61A) today and surprise, surprise, no covering, no pin ID or +/- markings.
Called a friend who has already flown with his and here is the layout.
With the PC board lying on it's flat side with the pins facing you,
the AUX channel is to the right. The ground lead is on the bottom and the signal lead is the top pin.

I put shrink wrap around it and taped on an ID label.
For those that would like the ID label, here it is.
hoppy is offline Find More Posts by hoppy
Last edited by hoppy; Jul 08, 2010 at 01:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 08, 2010, 12:19 PM
Space Coast USA
hoppy's Avatar
Space Coast
Joined Oct 2000
21,019 Posts
A picture of the wrapped Rx with the label taped on.

Range test with the DX6i showed 85 paces before signal loss.

As mentioned in the other thread, fail safe on loss of signal only applies to the throttle. Other channels remained in the postion they were at on signal loss. Signal recapture seemed fast.
hoppy is offline Find More Posts by hoppy
Last edited by hoppy; Jul 08, 2010 at 12:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 08, 2010, 08:26 PM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2008
60 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoppy View Post
Range test with the DX6i showed 85 paces before signal loss.
Is 85 paces comparable to a Spektrum receiver?
dhoyt7141 is offline Find More Posts by dhoyt7141
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 08, 2010, 10:23 PM
60 years of RC flying
Daedalus66's Avatar
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Feb 2006
16,505 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhoyt7141 View Post
Is 85 paces comparable to a Spektrum receiver?
Depends what you mean by paces. Even Spektrum has stopped using this silly unit -- they now say 25 to 30 m. So even if you take very small paces, 85 of them are likely to be in excess of Spektrum range. Note however, that it makes a big difference whether you have the model on the ground (which is what Spektrum assumes) or raised 2-3 feet on a non-conductive surface (as many other manufacturers advise). Note also that various people have reported less range than Spektrum.

I now have one of the HK pseudo-AR6100s and will compare it with the real thing as soon as I can.
Daedalus66 is online now Find More Posts by Daedalus66
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 08, 2010, 10:32 PM
Registered User
United States, IA, Grinnell
Joined Mar 2005
560 Posts
I used my HK clone today(the one pictured on HK site with the black shrink tube)and it worked great, binded right away to my DX7,solid performance in the air on a 6 oz parkflyer. I did a short range check, maybe 10-15 yards.
I'm happy with it.

S
swede-rcgroups is offline Find More Posts by swede-rcgroups
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 08, 2010, 10:36 PM
Space Coast USA
hoppy's Avatar
Space Coast
Joined Oct 2000
21,019 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhoyt7141 View Post
Is 85 paces comparable to a Spektrum receiver?
85 paces for me is about 250' .....
The Tx and Rx were at waist level.
I was very surprised and at the 200' mark shouted out to my wife to keep the trainer switch on thinking she had let it go off..... she hollered back that it was on the whole time.

As I recall, 100' min is recommended for the Spektrum RX.
hoppy is offline Find More Posts by hoppy
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 09, 2010, 01:55 AM
Suspended Account
Panorama City, CA
Joined Sep 2004
5,566 Posts
Chinese Spektrum clones are spreading like wildfire. The price barrier finally broke down as we all hoped for.

Spektrum is moving ahead with new system which will make old DSM2 obsolete and uncompatible.

JR is breaking away from Spektrum by introducing their own system which is not compatibile with Spektrum.

Old Spektrum users are left holding bag.
John Kim is offline Find More Posts by John Kim
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jul 09, 2010, 05:46 AM
Air, Ground & Water
freechip's Avatar
Canada, ON, Rockland
Joined Aug 2008
24,108 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Kim View Post
Old Spektrum users are left holding bag.
No I am not holding a bag but I am holding my Spektrum unit and luving it.
freechip is offline Find More Posts by freechip
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 09, 2010, 06:48 AM
60 years of RC flying
Daedalus66's Avatar
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Feb 2006
16,505 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoppy View Post
85 paces for me is about 250' .....

As I recall, 100' min is recommended for the Spektrum RX.
Spektrum used to say 30 paces but now say 25-30m (they vary a bit from one place to another). So 250 feet is more than twice this. Given that you had the RX and Tx off the ground, your observation probably represents roughly similar performance to a genuine Spektrum Rx.
Daedalus66 is online now Find More Posts by Daedalus66
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 09, 2010, 08:19 AM
Space Coast USA
hoppy's Avatar
Space Coast
Joined Oct 2000
21,019 Posts
My DX6i manual says to have plane on ground and the TX in the position that is used for flying.
Range should be at least 30 paces (about 90').
I'll recheck it in that configuration.
hoppy is offline Find More Posts by hoppy
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 09, 2010, 09:28 AM
Air, Ground & Water
freechip's Avatar
Canada, ON, Rockland
Joined Aug 2008
24,108 Posts
The manual also says if it fails the range check to call HH/Spektrum for help BUT do not follow this recommendation if it fails.
freechip is offline Find More Posts by freechip
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 09, 2010, 12:06 PM
Space Coast USA
hoppy's Avatar
Space Coast
Joined Oct 2000
21,019 Posts
RANGE TEST #2
RA61A

Airplane on ground - antenna about 5" above ground level in vertical position.
TX about 3' above ground
Range Check switch "On"
Both Rx and Tx antennas in a vertical orientation.

Test Result:
Control OK out to 105'.
hoppy is offline Find More Posts by hoppy
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2010, 10:24 AM
Space Coast USA
hoppy's Avatar
Space Coast
Joined Oct 2000
21,019 Posts
Flying Report on range.
On a 28" wing span foamy, I took it to the limits of my eyesight as far as recognizing the planes orientation and had no control problems. That's probably 3X farther away than I would normally fly the plane. Flew about 10 min.
hoppy is offline Find More Posts by hoppy
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2010, 12:00 PM
Registered User
United States, IA, Grinnell
Joined Mar 2005
560 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Kim View Post

Old Spektrum users are left holding bag.
Then why is Spektrum coming out with the DX8? I think DMS2 will be around for a long time to come. Thousands of pilots are using DSM2 with no problems what-so-ever.

S
swede-rcgroups is offline Find More Posts by swede-rcgroups
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2010, 07:29 AM
Registered User
AirmanAirhead's Avatar
Novato, CA
Joined Dec 2008
693 Posts
Subscribed
AirmanAirhead is offline Find More Posts by AirmanAirhead
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alert Quem tem Tx e Rx da Hobby King...Experiencias, Referencias e Testimoniais Guga Brazil 20 Jan 21, 2011 06:20 AM
For Sale Hobby King 6 channel tx and rx parts losikid Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 2 Dec 27, 2009 11:14 PM
Wanted Hobby king tx, or other compatible brands with its rx losikid Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 1 Nov 05, 2009 10:21 AM
Discussion Car ESC and 2.4 Hobby King RX NX-687 Radios 4 Oct 01, 2009 10:23 AM
Discussion Would Like To By A E Motor Equivalent Of An E-flite 46 In Hobby King FedericoA Power Systems 4 Sep 21, 2009 05:50 AM