HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 20, 2003, 07:58 AM
Nashville, TN
Joined Jun 2003
72 Posts
Newbie - Frying my Batt with Endoplasma. Help?

I'm new at the electric game, and am trying to build a PBF using an Endoplasma motor, geared 3:1 (GD-600) with a 12x8 APC. Currently using 8 cell 1350 NiMH pack. Here's the rub. When testing this setup, running the motor full out, the battery pack became very hot, very quickly. Seems I may be trying to pull too much current (I guess). Too much prop? Perhaps go to an 11x7? Not enough cells? Change gearing? (I do realize that prop unloading in air might help with load)

Can someone give me a quick tutorial? I'll be looking into getting Motocalc to learn, but I just don't want to fry things.

Thanks for any help.
Gray
StahlmanGC is offline Find More Posts by StahlmanGC
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 20, 2003, 08:26 AM
Use The Force Jim
Las Cruces, NM USA
Joined Jul 2001
2,341 Posts
You need to see how many amps you are pulling. They sell some reasonably priced clamp on amp meters or the best way would be with an Astro Flight super watt meter. Another way would be to simulate your setup in motocalc. That should give you a ball park idea on your amp draw and what your cells are capable of.

Off the top of my head, I would say you are wayyy under geared/over propped with that setup. I was swinging an 11-7 on ten sub C cells and pulling 30 amps with 3.8:1 gearing. How many cells are you running? What are the physical dimensions of your cells? I'm not familiar with your 1350 nimh's, but I'm pretty sure that the smallest cell that will handle an endoplasma's current needs are the CP1700 nicads or the 5/4FAUP 1950 nimh's. If your cells are not equal to these cells I've mentioned then for sure you are pushing them way past their limits and toasting the poor things. Once again, at least download motocalc for a free trial and get an idea of what's happening.
Jim Walker is offline Find More Posts by Jim Walker