HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 28, 2013, 06:18 PM
Rockin' & Flyin'
Saxguy1000's Avatar
Virginia Beach
Joined Dec 2009
2,815 Posts
Ahhhhhh! Grounded!!!! I dropped my DX8 and broke the F-Mode switch! Just freaking slap me!

Now I have to wait 2 weeks to send it in to get fixed. Anybody know of a do-it-yourself on repairing it?

Saxguy1000 is offline Find More Posts by Saxguy1000
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 28, 2013, 08:08 PM
USAF Retired - 1968-1988
Jake8131's Avatar
United States, IL, Mascoutah
Joined Dec 2010
3,176 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saxguy1000 View Post
Ahhhhhh! Grounded!!!! I dropped my DX8 and broke the F-Mode switch! Just freaking slap me!

Now I have to wait 2 weeks to send it in to get fixed. Anybody know of a do-it-yourself on repairing it?

Take it to radio shack and get a new switch and remove and reinstall the new one! Not that hard...I used to change toggle switch on F-4 Phantom Jets all the time in the air force.

Then i'll slap ya!!!! LOL!
Jake8131 is online now Find More Posts by Jake8131
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 08:13 PM
Rockin' & Flyin'
Saxguy1000's Avatar
Virginia Beach
Joined Dec 2009
2,815 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake8131 View Post
Take it to radio shack and get a new switch and remove and reinstall the new one! Not that hard...I used to change toggle switch on F-4 Phantom Jets all the time in the air force.

Then i'll slap ya!!!! LOL!
Yeah, that's what i'll do. It's $20+ to mail it and $40 repair. And, they'd probably charge return shipping, too. Gripes!
Saxguy1000 is offline Find More Posts by Saxguy1000
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 08:19 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2012
486 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbrackeen View Post
The 120 SR does not show up in the automatic updates for some reason. You have to manually download the file from the website, and place it in the update folder and run the manual update shortcut (its explained better on the download page).

As for the 120 SR in phoenix, the default setup is awful. I've found if you set it up as 100% (Advanced) under the simple page, its much more realistic. In fact this seems true on almost all the helis in the sim.
Yes on both counts.

I had to manually install it.
Also the flight characteristics are very unreal - even when it's set at 100%. Response to controls is terrible.
As I mentioned, RealFlight is very much more realistic in all respects with helicopter sims. It's not even worth wasting time with Phoenix for helis.
I do like the fixed wing sims though, and the flying fields are interesting.
midnite is offline Find More Posts by midnite
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 08:22 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2012
486 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saxguy1000 View Post
Yeah, that's what i'll do. It's $20+ to mail it and $40 repair. And, they'd probably charge return shipping, too. Gripes!
I also dropped my DX6i and broke the gear switch. Now it does duty as the TX for simulators.
I also repaired the broken roller a while back. Maybe the switch is next but it certainly won't be sent back for repair.
midnite is offline Find More Posts by midnite
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 09:52 PM
Wind you go around in circles
Wind Spirit's Avatar
United States, FL, Middleburg
Joined Jan 2012
1,362 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saxguy1000 View Post
Yeah, that's what i'll do. It's $20+ to mail it and $40 repair. And, they'd probably charge return shipping, too. Gripes!
Sorry to hear that Sax. Will HH send you a switch? The switch should not cost much and I would not think it would be hard to install.
Wind Spirit is offline Find More Posts by Wind Spirit
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 10:47 PM
Registered User
Dman1110's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Sydney
Joined Dec 2012
25 Posts
@midnight....glad you found the 120SR in Phoenix....I'd forgotten that there was a bit more to it than just a simple download. As far as the handling is concerned...it is unrealistic at best....but as I mentioned before...there are more settings that can be adjusted....damned if I can remember what they were.....something to do with the head characteristics.....I found them with a Google search but I don't have the URL ...it might have even been in these forums somewhere....or on helifreak. At least mine resembles the real bird a little now...
Dman1110 is offline Find More Posts by Dman1110
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 10:54 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2012
486 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dman1110 View Post
@midnight....glad you found the 120SR in Phoenix....I'd forgotten that there was a bit more to it than just a simple download. As far as the handling is concerned...it is unrealistic at best....but as I mentioned before...there are more settings that can be adjusted....damned if I can remember what they were.....something to do with the head characteristics.....I found them with a Google search but I don't have the URL ...it might have even been in these forums somewhere....or on helifreak. At least mine resembles the real bird a little now...
Thanks, I'll explore that. Don't know if it's really worth it though. Flying the 120 is better than the sim and it can be done almost anywhere. That's what I like about it. When I feel like playing with the TX inside with nothing more pressing to do, the 120 is always available - sim not required.
midnite is offline Find More Posts by midnite
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 02:01 AM
Still a N00B
lebaez's Avatar
United States, TX, Odessa
Joined Mar 2012
95 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by midnite View Post
Thanks, I'll explore that. Don't know if it's really worth it though. Flying the 120 is better than the sim and it can be done almost anywhere. That's what I like about it. When I feel like playing with the TX inside with nothing more pressing to do, the 120 is always available - sim not required.
That is so true...except maybe while charging batteries.
lebaez is offline Find More Posts by lebaez
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 04:33 AM
USAF Retired - 1968-1988
Jake8131's Avatar
United States, IL, Mascoutah
Joined Dec 2010
3,176 Posts
Sax, invest in a neck strap!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Jake8131 is online now Find More Posts by Jake8131
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 06:00 AM
Rockin' & Flyin'
Saxguy1000's Avatar
Virginia Beach
Joined Dec 2009
2,815 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wind Spirit View Post
Sorry to hear that Sax. Will HH send you a switch? The switch should not cost much and I would not think it would be hard to install.
Sadly, no. I suppose I'll negate the warranty if I replace my own switch, but heck, it's 2 years old now. How much more voiding is there to do? LOL
Saxguy1000 is offline Find More Posts by Saxguy1000
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 06:05 AM
Rockin' & Flyin'
Saxguy1000's Avatar
Virginia Beach
Joined Dec 2009
2,815 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake8131 View Post
Sax, invest in a neck strap!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
This is what makes me so mad! I have a neck strap--3 or 4!!! I was just using the radio to set up my old CX3 after making another repair. Had it on the table and somehow knocked it off. You ever see your life pass before your eyes as you were about to have a car crash? Well, that's what it was like watching that tx fall off the table. It was like in slow motion as I saw my entire R/C life pass by one model after another, one crash after another!!!!!

I found a place that may sell the actual switches, so maybe HH wouldn't notice in the future that I soldered a new switch. They didn't notice that I replaced the antenna from the first drop I made from 1 foot off the ground last year!
Saxguy1000 is offline Find More Posts by Saxguy1000
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 09:33 AM
NotAnotherMomentLostToSei zures
Chap1012's Avatar
United States, MA, Malden
Joined Mar 2008
11,105 Posts
Sax, are you laying your TX down flat when you are not using it. IE: Even when you first power up a bird? I can't remember the last time I set my TX down "free standing" on the bottom feet in the up-right position.

Mike.
Chap1012 is offline Find More Posts by Chap1012
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 10:14 AM
MCX2..120SR..NCPX..MQX..D X7s
23DM's Avatar
United States, OR, Salem
Joined May 2012
45 Posts
Good Morning !
Just bought a DX7s and put it on the charger for 12 hrs. Only showing 5.5v...anyone familiar with the full charge/max voltage ? P.S. out of box was 4.8v.
My Dx6i would hit 5.8v.
23DM is offline Find More Posts by 23DM
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 10:43 AM
Rockin' & Flyin'
Saxguy1000's Avatar
Virginia Beach
Joined Dec 2009
2,815 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chap1012 View Post
Sax, are you laying your TX down flat when you are not using it. IE: Even when you first power up a bird? I can't remember the last time I set my TX down "free standing" on the bottom feet in the up-right position.

Mike.
Yes, it was laying down. I hit it with my hand reaching for it! How many goofs could go into one calamity???
Saxguy1000 is offline Find More Posts by Saxguy1000
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product Blade SR RTF Electric Micro Heli by E-flite ghost2212 Micro Helis 6557 Jun 19, 2014 09:52 PM
Discussion Update Blade CP or buy E-Flite Blade SR or 400? markhwing Electric Heli Talk 10 Aug 06, 2012 03:16 PM
Link E-flite mSR batteries E flite 110-120 Hyp.CX 120 and others everydayflyer Batteries and Chargers 45 Apr 08, 2010 04:55 AM
For Sale Did you just buy a new E-Flite Blade SR? Z06 Tony Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 3 Feb 28, 2010 12:01 AM
New Product Blade SR RTF Electric Micro Heli by E-flite ghost2212 Micro Ready-to-Fly 2 Jan 07, 2010 09:36 AM