Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 09, 2012, 07:37 PM
Registered User
Brian VT's Avatar
United States, VT, Rutland
Joined Dec 2011
536 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by grampi View Post
No overloading, just bump up the charging amperage a bit...it'll do 2 amps X 4 batteries....
You would be at 2 amps charging 4x500mAh lipos at 1C. Many say that is the ideal charge rate.
If you had 4x600mAh lipos then you'd just be charging at less than 1C. No problem, just a bit slower. Some say that may even prolong your lipo's life.
If you had a 4A charger you could charge 4x500mAh lipos at 2C (quicker). Some quality lipos can handle this, or even faster.
Brian VT is online now Find More Posts by Brian VT
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 09, 2012, 08:12 PM
Easy on the Sticks!
BattleDude's Avatar
United States, WY, Crowheart
Joined Aug 2011
3,142 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by grampi View Post
No overloading, just bump up the charging amperage a bit...it'll do 2 amps X 4 batteries....
Oh... you mean it has a total output capability of 8 amps?
BattleDude is offline Find More Posts by BattleDude
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2012, 08:37 PM
Registered User
Brian VT's Avatar
United States, VT, Rutland
Joined Dec 2011
536 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BattleDude View Post
Oh... you mean it has a total output capability of 8 amps?
Nope. It's a 2A charger.
Back to the 120SR.

There hasn't been much talk of a loop lately. Some of you must have tried recently ?
I'm starting to think about trying. I just haven't been able to commit.
Brian VT is online now Find More Posts by Brian VT
Last edited by Brian VT; Dec 09, 2012 at 08:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2012, 08:47 PM
Rockin' & Flyin'
Saxguy1000's Avatar
Virginia Beach
Joined Dec 2009
2,819 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian VT View Post
Nope. It's a 2A charger.
Back to the 120SR.

There hasn't been much talk of a loop lately. Some of you must have tried recently ?
I'm starting to think about trying. I just haven't been able to commit.
You can do a loop--it's easy. Fly FFF into the breeze at about 50+ feet, pull up and let the breeze blow it back over and around. I don't think a sim can simulate it, but I haven't tried it on one.
Saxguy1000 is offline Find More Posts by Saxguy1000
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2012, 09:00 PM
Registered User
Brian VT's Avatar
United States, VT, Rutland
Joined Dec 2011
536 Posts
I'm tempted ! LOL
I'll try to be wearing a helmet cam. if I attempt it.
Brian VT is online now Find More Posts by Brian VT
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2012, 09:05 PM
Rockin' & Flyin'
Saxguy1000's Avatar
Virginia Beach
Joined Dec 2009
2,819 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian VT View Post
I'm tempted ! LOL
I'll try to be wearing a helmet cam. if I attempt it.
Good. You might want to add protective goggles and a leather jacket for safety.
Saxguy1000 is offline Find More Posts by Saxguy1000
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2012, 09:08 PM
Registered User
Brian VT's Avatar
United States, VT, Rutland
Joined Dec 2011
536 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saxguy1000 View Post
Good. You might want to add protective goggles and a leather jacket for safety.
The helmet cam. is on my motorcycle helmet, so I've got that going for me.
Brian VT is online now Find More Posts by Brian VT
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2012, 09:26 PM
Which way is up?
stuball56's Avatar
Michigan, USA
Joined Mar 2008
686 Posts
If you're like me you probably don't give a rat's rear end about what the neighbor's think. But hey, that's gotta be a pretty funny sight. You, wearing a helmet, with a helmet cam on top, trying to dodge your crazy helicopter. Too funny.
stuball56 is offline Find More Posts by stuball56
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2012, 10:24 PM
Look ma, no hands!
1Pilgrim's Avatar
United States, WI, Sheboygan
Joined Aug 2011
1,252 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saxguy1000 View Post
The weather is GORGEOUS in Virginia Beach!!!!
There you go, pouring salt in our wounds again - we had the first measurable wet slushy snow of the season today.

I did load up the #16 HD cam on my heli and tooled around the basement with it. The new heli must be a lot smoother, vids are much clearer than with the antique 120. Come to think of it, this would be a great way to check for vibration!
1Pilgrim is offline Find More Posts by 1Pilgrim
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2012, 10:31 PM
Look ma, no hands!
1Pilgrim's Avatar
United States, WI, Sheboygan
Joined Aug 2011
1,252 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian VT View Post
There hasn't been much talk of a loop lately. Some of you must have tried recently ?

I'm starting to think about trying. I just haven't been able to commit.
A while back there was a guy who kept threatening to fly his 120 from the back yard to the front of the house while running through the breezeway. I dunno whatever became of that - maybe he wasn't able to commit...
1Pilgrim is offline Find More Posts by 1Pilgrim
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2012, 10:58 PM
Scout CX | mCX2 | mSR | 120SR
North_of_49's Avatar
Canada, AB, Edmonton
Joined Dec 2011
6,574 Posts
There's always more than one way to get your RC from one yard to the other ...



RC Car Jumps House ~ xxx main SQUARED DVD (1 min 51 sec)
North_of_49 is offline Find More Posts by North_of_49
RCG Plus Member
Old Dec 09, 2012, 11:24 PM
NotAnotherMomentLostToSei zures
Chap1012's Avatar
United States, MA, Malden
Joined Mar 2008
11,160 Posts
^^^^^
Crazy azz guys
Chap1012 is offline Find More Posts by Chap1012
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 09, 2012, 11:56 PM
Scout CX | mCX2 | mSR | 120SR
North_of_49's Avatar
Canada, AB, Edmonton
Joined Dec 2011
6,574 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chap1012 View Post
^^^^^
Crazy azz guys


By the way, Mike... I meant to mention in the other thread that xxx-main, the site that video was produced for, makes a product called Lexan Picture Glue. You were talking about how you were trying the glue/water mod on your Champ. Problem is, that's a brittle cocktail when it dries. The picture glue is a similar thing but it's been formulated to be flexible... it's used to glue internal graphics cut out from magazines etc. to the inside of clear Lexan rc car bodies... it needs to be flexible or the glue/graphics with crack and release when the bodies take a hit.

... problem though... no one will ship it this time of year... freezing ruins it, so, unless your LHS already has some...

(I'll verify that with xxx-main)

Sorry, everyone, for the off-topic.
North_of_49 is offline Find More Posts by North_of_49
RCG Plus Member
Old Dec 10, 2012, 06:30 AM
Registered User
United Kingdom, England, Kent
Joined Sep 2012
396 Posts
I'm going off topic as well.

I've now got phoenix. Woop Woop
SR120 fan is offline Find More Posts by SR120 fan
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 06:49 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2005
657 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian VT View Post
You would be at 2 amps charging 4x500mAh lipos at 1C. Many say that is the ideal charge rate.
If you had 4x600mAh lipos then you'd just be charging at less than 1C. No problem, just a bit slower. Some say that may even prolong your lipo's life.
If you had a 4A charger you could charge 4x500mAh lipos at 2C (quicker). Some quality lipos can handle this, or even faster.
I think you're overlooking the fact that this charger will charge at 2 amps on EACH of the 4 batteries....wouldn't 1C for a 600mAh battery equal .6 amps?
grampi is offline Find More Posts by grampi
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product Blade SR RTF Electric Micro Heli by E-flite ghost2212 Micro Helis 6557 Jun 19, 2014 09:52 PM
Discussion Update Blade CP or buy E-Flite Blade SR or 400? markhwing Electric Heli Talk 10 Aug 06, 2012 03:16 PM
Link E-flite mSR batteries E flite 110-120 Hyp.CX 120 and others everydayflyer Batteries and Chargers 45 Apr 08, 2010 04:55 AM
For Sale Did you just buy a new E-Flite Blade SR? Z06 Tony Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 3 Feb 28, 2010 12:01 AM
New Product Blade SR RTF Electric Micro Heli by E-flite ghost2212 Micro Ready-to-Fly 2 Jan 07, 2010 09:36 AM