HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old May 26, 2011, 10:42 PM
KJ6RCJ
gent96's Avatar
United States, CA, Elk Grove
Joined May 2010
406 Posts
Thanks for your reply, spag. I did what you said. So basically, if i roll the quad to the left, the front right and rear right motors will decrease while the opposite motors will increase and vice versa, right? That is showing in the GUI.
One thing I noticed, the throttle of the rear left motor is lower than the rest. Is that normal?

Any changes that I could make to the code? I am a noob at changes in the code...


Gent
gent96 is offline Find More Posts by gent96
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 26, 2011, 10:44 PM
Registered User
Alexinparis's Avatar
Paris, France
Joined Jun 2009
756 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gent96 View Post
Thanks for your reply, spag. I did what you said. So basically, if i roll the quad to the left, the front right and rear right motors will decrease while the opposite motors will increase and vice versa, right? That is showing in the GUI.
One thing I noticed, the throttle of the rear left motor is lower than the rest. Is that normal?

Any changes that I could make to the code? I am a noob at changes in the code...


Gent
see http://www.multiwii.com/?page_id=100...utral_RC_input
Alexinparis is offline Find More Posts by Alexinparis
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2011, 10:57 PM
KJ6RCJ
gent96's Avatar
United States, CA, Elk Grove
Joined May 2010
406 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by capt View Post
Is your WM/NK mounted correctly? lets see a picture.

Also in pic #2 your level mode is not selected in the white box so no radio channel would be able to activate the NK.
capt,

These are the pics of my board. A little blurry but hope you can make sense out of them. TIA!

Gent
gent96 is offline Find More Posts by gent96
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2011, 10:58 PM
KJ6RCJ
gent96's Avatar
United States, CA, Elk Grove
Joined May 2010
406 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexinparis View Post
Alex,

Thank you for your reply. I will look into it and come back here.

Gent
gent96 is offline Find More Posts by gent96
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2011, 11:12 PM
Registered User
USA, AK, Soldotna
Joined Jan 2005
562 Posts
Gent96: You said your quad yaws like mad on its own. Have tried uncommenting the revers yaw in the configurable parameters of the code?
pinball is offline Find More Posts by pinball
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2011, 11:56 PM
KJ6RCJ
gent96's Avatar
United States, CA, Elk Grove
Joined May 2010
406 Posts
Yes, I've reverse the yaw to-1 in the code. Is it normal that the arm/ disarm changes every now and then. Awhile ago, I armed and disarmed the motors using the throttle stick. Now I do the same actions using the roll stick. How could that be?

Can anyone send me an original or working 1.7 sketch for Quadx? I think I messed my sketch real bad with my noobness, LOL.

Gent
gent96 is offline Find More Posts by gent96
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2011, 12:03 AM
"Let's put a camera on that.."
spagoziak's Avatar
Twin Cities, MN
Joined Feb 2010
1,063 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gent96 View Post
Yes, I've reverse the yaw to-1 in the code. Is it normal that the arm/ disarm changes every now and then. Awhile ago, I armed and disarmed the motors using the throttle stick. Now I do the same actions using the roll stick. How could that be?

Can anyone send me an original or working 1.7 sketch for Quadx? I think I messed my sketch real bad with my noobness, LOL.

Gent
The arm/disarm via roll is normal too! That was added so that folks with tricopters would stop stuffing their rear props into the dirt.

I'd be happy to send you my working quadx--I've got it right here. PM me your email (to avoid the bots)!

spag
spagoziak is offline Find More Posts by spagoziak
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2011, 12:13 AM
KJ6RCJ
gent96's Avatar
United States, CA, Elk Grove
Joined May 2010
406 Posts
Thanks Spags! Sent you a PM.

Guys, you are awesome here in Alex's thread for helping a noob like me...

Gent
gent96 is offline Find More Posts by gent96
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2011, 12:43 AM
Registered User
capt's Avatar
Nevada, USA
Joined Sep 2007
1,919 Posts
Quote:
These are the pics of my board.
That looks correct.
capt is offline Find More Posts by capt
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2011, 12:44 AM
"Let's put a camera on that.."
spagoziak's Avatar
Twin Cities, MN
Joined Feb 2010
1,063 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gent96 View Post
Thanks Spags! Sent you a PM.

Guys, you are awesome here in Alex's thread for helping a noob like me...

Gent
Happy to! It's great getting that thing off the ground for the first time--we want you to squeak!
spagoziak is offline Find More Posts by spagoziak
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2011, 01:15 AM
"Let's put a camera on that.."
spagoziak's Avatar
Twin Cities, MN
Joined Feb 2010
1,063 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by remzibi View Post
I made first attempt to connect remzibiOSD to MWC .

Connection is easy , one cable from TX from MWC to RX of OSD .

OSD should detect 115200 MWC baudrate .
After motors are armed will made Save_Home function and type "MWC ARMED" - this message is generated by MWC , is possible to generate any message on OSD .
Also will start to show AH .

OSD should have firmware for external devices cooperation - like that one
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showa...1&d=1295560554

To activate , in config.h should be uncommented this line
Code:
 
//#define remzibiOSD           // Uncomment this if not using remzibiOSD
I tested it on terminal - but if anyone have OSD and want to play - please refer progress.

I taked time frame from ISR of servos added AH_flag++ variable , so if AH_flag is bigger than AH_Freq - so serial print of data begin and AH_Freq is reset . That is possible control data frequency update .
Code:
 #define AH_Freq  25 // this parameter regulate frequency of AH data , less is faster
PDE is here for download
Sadly, I couldn't get the MWC to do *anything* with this... just a blinking green light, maybe lit every .5 seconds then off for .5. The config wouldn't pick it up and the OSD didn't show signs of seeing it either.

My pitch gimbal for stabilization didn't respond to tipping, either, so I suppose I did something wrong in the code? It compiled ok though...

I dunno, I think I might be in over my head here.

spag
spagoziak is offline Find More Posts by spagoziak
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2011, 01:38 AM
Sudden Freak
c2po's Avatar
Atlanta, GA
Joined Oct 2006
330 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexinparis View Post
You did a nice hack which cheap things
As you wrote, one I2C function assumes a simultaneous STOP and START order. It avoids some bits on the I2C bus, but there are few situations where devices are not happy with this.
I will add an option to separate th 2 orders, which would be more in line with the expected I2C standard.
Thanks, Alex!
Yes, I realized it's somewhere in those shortcuts to save some bus cycles that didn't work with the clone, but I also didn't want to switch to that huge standard Wire library because your code is much more effective and simple, so I just plugged in that version from Peter Fleury that made my Nunchuk clone happier.
c2po is offline Find More Posts by c2po
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2011, 02:16 AM
Sudden Freak
c2po's Avatar
Atlanta, GA
Joined Oct 2006
330 Posts
changes for BMA180

Existing init code for BMA180 is changing offset X trimming lsb bits offset_x<3:0> (register 0x35) that are calibrated at production line with those lines (so I removed that range set to 3g completely, because default range +/-2g should work just fine):

i2c_write(0x35);
i2c_write(3<<1); // range set to 3. 2730 1G raw data.


Also the code changing temperature compensated bits tcs<3:0> (register 0x20) pretrimmed at production line with those lines:

i2c_write(0x20); // bw_tcs reg: bits 4-7 to set bw
i2c_write(0<<4); // bw to 10Hz (low pass filter)


So I changed it to read the register first and then writing LPF setting with the tcs bits unchanged:

i2c_rep_start(BMA180_ADDRESS+0);
i2c_write(0x20); // register bw_tcs
i2c_rep_start(BMA180_ADDRESS+1);
reg = i2c_readNak(); // read bw_tcs (bw bits 7:4)
delay(5);
i2c_rep_start(BMA180_ADDRESS+0);
i2c_write(0x20); // bw_tcs reg: bits 4-7 to set bw
i2c_write(reg & 0x0F); // set low pass filter to 10Hz (bits value = 0000xxxx)


I also changed the accADC calculation which was... uhmm... a bit incorrect on negative values.
Raw data 4096 @ 1g (0.25 mg/LSB), it is 14 bit value (13:6 | 5:0) but located in bits 15:2, so we need to divide it /4 (not shift it >>2 because it is a signed int value in 2's complement format). Also with default range +/-2g we need to divide it /20 to get value ~200 (to match other sensors) - total divisor is /4/20 = /80

accADC[ROLL] = - ((rawADC_BMA180[1]<<8) | rawADC_BMA180[0]&0xFC) / 80;
accADC[PITCH] = - ((rawADC_BMA180[3]<<8) | rawADC_BMA180[2]&0xFC) / 80;
accADC[YAW] = ((rawADC_BMA180[5]<<8) | rawADC_BMA180[4]&0xFC) / 80;


Works fine now, BMA180 is of course much better that Nunchuk.
c2po is offline Find More Posts by c2po
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2011, 02:44 AM
Flying a Chipmunk in Portugal
jhsa's Avatar
NRW, Germany
Joined Sep 2010
3,251 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qrome View Post
I think you said you are running Windows 7 64 bit version. By chance did you install Java 64 bit runtime? If so that could be the issue. I found that the MultiWiiConfig only ran under the x86 32 bit version of java.
No, no. I'm using win XP 32 with service pack 3. the problem is that it takes about 20 minutes to open the multiwii conf..
jhsa is online now Find More Posts by jhsa
Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2011, 02:56 AM
Registered User
Portugal
Joined May 2010
240 Posts
Hello all
I am still learning to fly my quad...
But the orientation of a tri seems more easy to me still learning.
What is the smallest tri multiwii you know?
And it would be cool to fly inside house. Maybe something with the size of a tx...
What do you guys think?
kiliam is offline Find More Posts by kiliam
Reply With Quote