HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 07, 2011, 01:57 AM
Registered User
RCvertt's Avatar
Joined Aug 2007
4,107 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by timecop View Post
I think the only difference is throttle idle at 1500us and maybe pwm period .
Hmmm. Gave it a glance and QUADX_SERVO only shows four servo commands. Nothing for motor throttle commands.

In ( Output.pde)QUADX_SERVO also has number of motors defined as 0 which seams strange.

Can you point me to where the motor throttle is being regulated? Does this code assume one central motor that is on constantly or 4 separate ones?
RCvertt is offline Find More Posts by RCvertt
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Chupacabra sighting !!!
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 07, 2011, 02:01 AM
Awaiting software update..
Ironframe's Avatar
United Kingdom, Yorkshire
Joined Sep 2011
75 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edkirk View Post
Could you provide a hint as to which person on the list goes by Alex.

Thanks, Ed
This one...
Ironframe is offline Find More Posts by Ironframe
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 07, 2011, 02:10 AM
Registered User
fr3d-nexus's Avatar
France (near the ch'ti village)
Joined Apr 2007
133 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bikertje888 View Post
I saw this post before, but I didn't think it would apply for me.
I thought it was only supposed to be used when you had a BMP085 connected.

But how come I need to make a hardware change just because I uploaded new software?
That I don't understand, everything was working before with 1.7ter.

Btw, I'm using Jussi's V1.2 board with everything soldered on except for the diode so I would get 5V.
Does this board already have the resistors onboard that I need?

Could it be that this problem has to do with a software setting?
I have internal pullups enabled in V1.9.
sorrry for late reply,
like you, in the beginning I didn't understand why ver1.9 was not compatible with my hardware: jussih board v1.11 and wmp, with or without other sensors.
I know that olders mwc versions bypass i2c errors, programmers said it was a mistake.


My working jussih v1.11 board was modified like this
unsolder d12 diode, and pullups resistors(4k7 if i remember) under arduino minipro(not leds resistors 470 ohms ).

I solder a little wire from the true 5v (esc) to wmp i2c "d12" connector.
now the i2c wmp connector is connected like this
+5v +5v sda scl gnd.
I solder a 2k2 resistor between sda wmp i2c connector and 5v
I solder a 2k2 resistor between scl wmp i2c connector and 5v

I power the board with 11.1v and plug ftdi and i2c error=0

jussih's pullups board was done between 3.3v and ic2 lines, with a oscilloscope i2c edges are 0v/3.3v now i2c edges are 0/5v and no errors appear.
regards.
fr3d-nexus is offline Find More Posts by fr3d-nexus
Last edited by fr3d-nexus; Dec 07, 2011 at 02:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 07, 2011, 03:25 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RCvertt View Post
Hmmm. Gave it a glance and QUADX_SERVO only shows four servo commands. Nothing for motor throttle commands.

In ( Output.pde)QUADX_SERVO also has number of motors defined as 0 which seams strange.

Can you point me to where the motor throttle is being regulated? Does this code assume one central motor that is on constantly or 4 separate ones?
I'm driving so i can't really check, but I thought they just run the motor in governor mode and only vary the pitch.
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Dec 07, 2011, 03:30 AM
Registered User
Alexinparis's Avatar
Paris, France
Joined Jun 2009
756 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by timecop View Post
I'm driving so i can't really check, but I thought they just run the motor in governor mode and only vary the pitch.
Exactly, that's it.
The ESC control is not done via multiwii in this case, but directly via your TX/RX RC, like a variable pitch heli.
It's up to you to tune a throttle curve, with normal and idle mode.
Alexinparis is offline Find More Posts by Alexinparis
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 07, 2011, 04:08 AM
Registered User
RCvertt's Avatar
Joined Aug 2007
4,107 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexinparis View Post
Exactly, that's it.
The ESC control is not done via multiwii in this case, but directly via your TX/RX RC, like a variable pitch heli.
It's up to you to tune a throttle curve, with normal and idle mode.
Ok. Thank you both for that. And I thought controlling the yaw on a heli was difficult let alone all this pitch, throttle curve, idle up, and governor stuff. No wonder multicopters are becoming more and more popular.

Sounds like the multiWii would make just using a regular VP heli a lot easier to use. Have the heli spool up slowly when throttle is above 1040 then have it gradually go into idle up mode when throttle is above 1100 and such.
RCvertt is offline Find More Posts by RCvertt
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by RCvertt; Dec 07, 2011 at 04:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 07, 2011, 04:13 AM
I'd Rather be Flying
United Kingdom, Milton Keynes
Joined Feb 2005
144 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fr3d-nexus View Post
sorrry for late reply,
like you, in the beginning I didn't understand why ver1.9 was not compatible with my hardware: jussih board v1.11 and wmp, with or without other sensors.
I know that olders mwc versions bypass i2c errors, programmers said it was a mistake.


My working jussih v1.11 board was modified like this
unsolder d12 diode, and pullups resistors(4k7 if i remember) under arduino minipro(not leds resistors 470 ohms ).

I solder a little wire from the true 5v (esc) to wmp i2c "d12" connector.
now the i2c wmp connector is connected like this
+5v +5v sda scl gnd.
I solder a 2k2 resistor between sda wmp i2c connector and 5v
I solder a 2k2 resistor between scl wmp i2c connector and 5v

I power the board with 11.1v and plug ftdi and i2c error=0

jussih's pullups board was done between 3.3v and ic2 lines, with a oscilloscope i2c edges are 0v/3.3v now i2c edges are 0/5v and no errors appear.
regards.
Have you disabled internal pullups in the software ?
glofuel is offline Find More Posts by glofuel
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 07, 2011, 06:20 AM
An ordinary sort of incredible
mr.incredible's Avatar
United States, TN, Knoxville
Joined Dec 2004
931 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fr3d-nexus View Post
sorrry for late reply,
like you, in the beginning I didn't understand why ver1.9 was not compatible with my hardware: jussih board v1.11 and wmp, with or without other sensors.
I know that olders mwc versions bypass i2c errors, programmers said it was a mistake.


My working jussih v1.11 board was modified like this
unsolder d12 diode, and pullups resistors(4k7 if i remember) under arduino minipro(not leds resistors 470 ohms ).

I solder a little wire from the true 5v (esc) to wmp i2c "d12" connector.
now the i2c wmp connector is connected like this
+5v +5v sda scl gnd.
I solder a 2k2 resistor between sda wmp i2c connector and 5v
I solder a 2k2 resistor between scl wmp i2c connector and 5v

I power the board with 11.1v and plug ftdi and i2c error=0

jussih's pullups board was done between 3.3v and ic2 lines, with a oscilloscope i2c edges are 0v/3.3v now i2c edges are 0/5v and no errors appear.
regards.
I'm using Jussi's 1.11 shield and MWC1.9 with no problems. I just have WM+ no other modifications were necessary.
mr.incredible is offline Find More Posts by mr.incredible
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 07, 2011, 08:07 AM
Urban Aerial Photography
Bucharest, Romania
Joined Sep 2009
355 Posts
Thank you Alex & Team for making this real.
November sunset aerial footage in park (1 min 29 sec)
dramida is offline Find More Posts by dramida
Last edited by dramida; Dec 07, 2011 at 12:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 07, 2011, 08:20 AM
DiaLFonZo - UAV/Drone
Dialfonzo's Avatar
Canada, QC
Joined Oct 2007
6,775 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dramida View Post
Thank you alex & Team for making this real.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6FtfXbLEQU8
dramida, your video are always fantastic..!
Keep going...
Dialfonzo is offline Find More Posts by Dialfonzo
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: DiaLFonZo-Copter - Announcement
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 07, 2011, 08:29 AM
My planes have left thrust :s
vanepico's Avatar
United Kingdom, St Albans
Joined Sep 2005
1,850 Posts
yay got the arduino today
vanepico is offline Find More Posts by vanepico
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 07, 2011, 09:25 AM
Fournier RF4D N1771 Awesome!
jb92563's Avatar
Riverside, CA
Joined Nov 2004
270 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cass3825 View Post
Personally, I would rather spend a few more bucks and buy a board from someone that frequents these forums, is a fellow flyer, and shares our passion for the hobby. Not someone pumping out flight control boards for a quick buck.

just my two cents,
Billy
Lets see build one yourself:

Pro Mini ~$20
MP+ gyro ~$15
Acc ~$15
Baro ~$15
Compass ~$15
Shield ~$15

Total about $95
add a couple dozen hours of my time in soldering, configuring etc and maybe a blown device if I screw up the wiring, followed by cussing and a delay to get new parts.

Compared to this thing for $69 plus free shipping and no hassles ready to fly. http://www.ebay.com/itm/MWC-v1-9-Mul...-/150713400273
OK so they paid a kid $4 to solder it up and made $1 profit. So maybe they did make a quick buck, but I just love them for it.

So far I spent $200 and still am not happy with my flying ball of wires.

Hey....no contest the China made Multiwii 9DOF "all in one" ready to fly wins hands down.

Just bought one, only 7 left now.
This ebay seller has a 99.7%+ rating on over 24,000 items....great customer satisfaction!

Ray
jb92563 is offline Find More Posts by jb92563
Last edited by jb92563; Dec 07, 2011 at 10:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 07, 2011, 09:45 AM
LoS sUAS AP/V is not a crime.
W,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,'s Avatar
Grass Valley, CA
Joined Feb 2008
378 Posts
Seeing your Multi Copter fly steady and zip around plus knowing you put it all together: PRICELESS!
(with lots of help from RCG and alexinparis The Great!)
W,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, is offline Find More Posts by W,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 07, 2011, 10:28 AM
Registered User
sri lanka
Joined Nov 2010
67 Posts
my multiwii quadcopter altitude hold test

my quad works very well with 1.8 ITG 3205 NCK and baro.
all work perfectly. but my itg3205 doesn't work properly with 1.9
now i'm using 1.8
roll , pitch P=3.2, D=50
this is the best for my quad. no any vibrations.
again thanks a lot for alex and multiwii team.

altitude hold test (ITG3205,NCK,BMP085)
multiwii quadcopter altitude hold test (ITG3205,NCK,BMP085) (4 min 6 sec)


2'nd cam test
there are some problems. when the quadcopter comes down so fast there are some vibrations and the pilot is not very good.
a little bit high latitude FPV with my multiwii quadcopter (2 min 18 sec)
madushan2008 is offline Find More Posts by madushan2008
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 07, 2011, 11:00 AM
Registered User
Deutschland
Joined Jul 2011
90 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gartenflieger2 View Post
You might need to connect the WMP to 5V, as on D12 it is initialized with the sensitivity too high. In that case you also see very high gyro readings in the GUI.

Christoph

P.S. Has it ben flying normally before?
Hi Gartenflieger2,
I never used a warthox board before. On the board it says WMP Power to D12. Here is the picture . But I'll try your solution tomorrow. It was the first try flying.

Quote:
Originally Posted by flow23 View Post
But what's the difference then when one copter flies great and the other doesn't with D12 connected???
I connected my WM+ to 5V, same effect, any motor goes up erratically. I dismounted the motors and calibrated my gyro on the table and gave 1500 throttle, here is my screenshot from the GUI. I need help with this I don't know where to look
flow23 is offline Find More Posts by flow23
Last edited by flow23; Dec 07, 2011 at 11:08 AM. Reason: Forget old quotes
Reply With Quote