HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 09, 2011, 05:31 PM
Registered User
RCvertt's Avatar
Joined Aug 2007
3,903 Posts
Before I spend the time to wire it up, will the MultiWii work without a WMP gyro attached?

I just want to use the ProMini and MultiWii code to do some channel mixing for some servos that my TX can't do but I don't need the gyro/IMU part of the code.
RCvertt is offline Find More Posts by RCvertt
RCG Plus Member
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 09, 2011, 05:34 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
You will probably need to do some commenting out of things. Or else it'll spend years in i2c timeout code.
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Nov 09, 2011, 05:54 PM
Registered User
RCvertt's Avatar
Joined Aug 2007
3,903 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by timecop View Post
You will probably need to do some commenting out of things. Or else it'll spend years in i2c timeout code.
Thanks. In a time crunch so I'll throw some gyros in there.

Sounds like a (#define MixerOnly) or (#define NoIMU) option would be cool for those that just need a motor or servo mixer.
RCvertt is offline Find More Posts by RCvertt
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 09, 2011, 06:00 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
It's not as complex as it sounds. I would just add 'return;' into stuff like WMP_Init(), WMP_GetADC() or similar, instead of making it do i2c reads/writes. Only a couple lines change.
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Nov 10, 2011, 01:38 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2009
54 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farmer_Joe View Post
-katana- great video! Do you have some pictures for your copter.
Unfortunately not, however, is a Okto flat, about 3.5 kg, totally self-made with pitch and roll and 5.8 ghz downlink.
-katana- is offline Find More Posts by -katana-
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2011, 03:35 AM
Simple is the best
Widelec's Avatar
Joined May 2011
1,051 Posts
What do you think about ESC with integrated data logger?

Integrated the function of flying data logger, could recording the flying data as: Current, Voltage, Temperature, RPM, Power, Throttle travel etc
High rate adjustable switching (PWM:8KHz/12KHz/16KHz)

http://www.himodel.com/electric/HIFE...ESC-20A-K.html
Widelec is offline Find More Posts by Widelec
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Boomerang FPV Quad
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2011, 04:17 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
Buy one, take it apart, take some pics. Personally I don't really see the need for 4 escs logging flight data.
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Nov 10, 2011, 05:43 AM
throw new IOPilotException();
IceWind's Avatar
Ireland, County Dublin, Dublin
Joined Feb 2005
2,566 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Widelec View Post
What do you think about ESC with integrated data logger?

Integrated the function of flying data logger, could recording the flying data as: Current, Voltage, Temperature, RPM, Power, Throttle travel etc
High rate adjustable switching (PWM:8KHz/12KHz/16KHz)

http://www.himodel.com/electric/HIFE...ESC-20A-K.html
"4. Upgradeable the firmware of ESC through Internet"
Wowww those guys actually thought forward. I am amazed.
I think is asking too much that the code could be open, but this is a great start.
IceWind is offline Find More Posts by IceWind
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2011, 07:47 AM
Simple is the best
Widelec's Avatar
Joined May 2011
1,051 Posts
-Programmable the parameters of ESC through USB cable connected to computer
-Upgradeable the firmware of ESC through Internet
-High rate adjustable switching (PWM:8KHz/12KHz/16KHz)

interesting features
I think these features will soon many of esc
Widelec is offline Find More Posts by Widelec
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Boomerang FPV Quad
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2011, 08:11 AM
Heli and E-Plane
United States, FL, Ocala
Joined Nov 2010
939 Posts
There is a thread on this forum dedicated to reprogramming various ESC's to increase their performance.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1513678
jer291113 is offline Find More Posts by jer291113
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2011, 08:15 AM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,520 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Widelec View Post
What do you think about ESC with integrated data logger?

Integrated the function of flying data logger, could recording the flying data as: Current, Voltage, Temperature, RPM, Power, Throttle travel etc
High rate adjustable switching (PWM:8KHz/12KHz/16KHz)

http://www.himodel.com/electric/HIFE...ESC-20A-K.html
Thank you, I was about to make a purchase of some new ESCs, your post comes at the idea time.
rimshotcopter is offline Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2011, 08:18 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rimshotcopter View Post
Thank you, I was about to make a purchase of some new ESCs, your post comes at the idea time.
I'm glad you're testing them. Make sure to tear some up and post pics.
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Nov 10, 2011, 08:43 AM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,520 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by timecop View Post
I'm glad you're testing them. Make sure to tear some up and post pics.
I have been eyeballing these for sometime now but never pulled the trigger.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...hless_ESC.html
rimshotcopter is offline Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2011, 08:49 AM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
Ohhh,, another 'Internet ugpraeable ESC firmware'. I downloaded the HiFei software, and unless the've coded the "internet upgrade" part in invisible programming language, it doesn't actually connect to internet to upgrade. Of course, there's no actual firmware for download anywhere on HiFei's site, either. It asks you to open a 'dlc' file for upgrade. Looking at the superbrain thing, it's firmware is also .dlc....
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Nov 10, 2011, 09:34 AM
If it flies, I will crash it
mxspode's Avatar
USA, CO, Westminster
Joined Jan 2008
3,000 Posts
Pretty sure they are the same thing in different packaging. A few have come across my build table and I am not impressed. Seems like a good way to charge $30 for a $15 ESC to me. Just my opinion guys, have at it.

Rob...
mxspode is offline Find More Posts by mxspode
Reply With Quote