HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 08, 2010, 11:09 AM
Brushless
cdi3d's Avatar
Joined Mar 2009
2,049 Posts
Alex - Is there any way to test a WMP+ to see if it is still functioning - All I did was change batteries and I went from flying to no flying - No green light - I double checked all connections and still nothing - Any ideas? WMP+ is an original - Seems like my WMP+ is dead

Mike

Okay I just tried a bad WMP+ and something must have happened to my original - not sure what because I am getting a green light now -
cdi3d is offline Find More Posts by cdi3d
Last edited by cdi3d; Jul 08, 2010 at 11:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 08, 2010, 12:02 PM
Registered User
ddrake's Avatar
Milan
Joined Mar 2007
381 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdi3d View Post
Alex - Is there any way to test a WMP+ to see if it is still functioning - All I did was change batteries and I went from flying to no flying - No green light - I double checked all connections and still nothing - Any ideas? WMP+ is an original - Seems like my WMP+ is dead

Mike

Okay I just tried a bad WMP+ and something must have happened to my original - not sure what because I am getting a green light now -
Glad you solved. It may have been stated before but a quick search didn't bring it up.
Anyway some may find this helpful: Knuckles904 & GlacialWanderer from the Arduino forum have made the code both to test and have a graphic response of the wmp.
http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/...=1245723011/15
See posts 17 & 18

Regards
ddrake is offline Find More Posts by ddrake
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 08, 2010, 01:06 PM
Brushless
cdi3d's Avatar
Joined Mar 2009
2,049 Posts
Okay - I just wired in my old WMP+ (the bad version) and the tri seems to be flying - Oscillation is pretty bad so I am going to test it for a while - Has anyone found a good fake replacement for the original on ebay? Thanks

Mike

Nevermind - IC2 dropout I think - Just flipped over after a few minutes of flying - motors were really hot along with ESC's - I think I will be upgrading soon - Once I get a new WMP+
cdi3d is offline Find More Posts by cdi3d
Last edited by cdi3d; Jul 09, 2010 at 09:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2010, 10:38 AM
Registered User
South korea
Joined Dec 2003
209 Posts
I just finished my tricopter. Thanks alex.
On sat I'll test my tricopter in official.
I did test flight in a few second in my livingroom.
she's good.
I used prop normal-2ea, reverse-1ea.
wland is offline Find More Posts by wland
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2010, 12:22 PM
Ready to fly MRs
Sid3ways's Avatar
Swanton, OH
Joined Jul 2007
5,068 Posts
It is amazing something so simple flies so well. Still haven't gotten to the wiring of the boards yet But I will very soon.
Sid3ways is online now Find More Posts by Sid3ways
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2010, 06:58 PM
Registered User
Alexinparis's Avatar
Paris, France
Joined Jun 2009
756 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wland View Post
I just finished my tricopter. Thanks alex.
On sat I'll test my tricopter in official.
I did test flight in a few second in my livingroom.
she's good.
I used prop normal-2ea, reverse-1ea.
Hi Yun,
Thank you for your feedback.
I hope everything will go right this week.
Alexinparis is offline Find More Posts by Alexinparis
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2010, 10:22 AM
FPV Junkie
tazdevil's Avatar
somewhere in space
Joined Aug 2006
675 Posts
oh year it's flying well !!

need to rebuilt my yaw mecanic ,cause mecanical game create a lot of oscillation in yaw axes..

need to find a good solution and easy to reproduce for this...
tazdevil is offline Find More Posts by tazdevil
Last edited by tazdevil; Jul 15, 2010 at 03:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2010, 12:52 PM
Registered User
Alexinparis's Avatar
Paris, France
Joined Jun 2009
756 Posts
Hi,

These days I played a lot with processing (processing.org) and have just finished the first version of a GUI for TriiWiiCopter. Processing is a very good approach to build rapidly a GUI with java rudiments, and it is free!
The principle of the GUI is quite simple:
  • 1)switch on your TX
  • 2)plug usb to power the arduino. choose the good serial com port in the gui
  • 3)wait for the green LED (your RX must be also powered)
  • 4)then (only after this step) you can graph values and read/write parameters


http://radio-commande.com/wp-content...iWiiConfV1.zip
http://radio-commande.com/wp-content...riwii_V2_0.zip


I also updated TriiWii soft to V2.0 in order to manage the serial communication and added some new functionalities.
Change summary:
  • GUI: graphical visualisation of computed RC stick values, RC motor values, gyro values evolution. Now it should be easy to configure RC channels form the radio to match exactly the range [1000;2000], and to know what to reverse.
  • GUI: possibility for READ and WRITE PID parameters for NICK/ROLL/YAW
  • GUI: ACC ready (nunchuk), for future development in the TriiWii code (not ready)
  • TriWii: full throttle allows now the gyro to still apply good corrections
  • TriWii: PID values for ROLL and NICK are now independent when configured from the GUI. It should be useful for strange WMP copies where ROLL and NICK sensibility is different. However, a configuration from the LCD will be still global for ROLL and NICK.
  • LCD: P_YAW is now configurable from LCD

Note: Still be careful. Do not plug USB when your motor are powered on, do it before or do it with motor not powered.

Enjoy
Alexinparis is offline Find More Posts by Alexinparis
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2010, 03:09 PM
Registered User
RCvertt's Avatar
Joined Aug 2007
4,109 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexinparis View Post
...These days I played a lot with processing (processing.org) and have just finished the first version of a GUI for TriiWiiCopter...
That looks great! Can't wait to play with it.

Just change the word "Nick" to "Pitch" and it'll be perfect
RCvertt is offline Find More Posts by RCvertt
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Chupacabra sighting !!!
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2010, 04:08 PM
FPV Junkie
tazdevil's Avatar
somewhere in space
Joined Aug 2006
675 Posts
yeahhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

good new ...

I've got somethingto do this monday ...

thxs alex
tazdevil is offline Find More Posts by tazdevil
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2010, 10:18 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2007
484 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexinparis View Post
Hi,

These days I played a lot with processing (processing.org) and have just finished the first version of a GUI for TriiWiiCopter. Processing is a very good
Enjoy
Hey Alex.

Great job.........but there is a problem.

I downloaded the v2.0 file, compiled it, loaded it in my Pro-mini, then tried to run the WiiConfiguration application you wrote.

It will not run on my machine. It says the javaw.exe file cannot be found.

I am running Windows7 professional 64bit. Do I need to have Processing installed? Would it be possible to get the Processing file to run it in Processing instead of a stand alone application?

Thanks.

Jim
JimnAz is offline Find More Posts by JimnAz
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2010, 03:37 AM
Registered User
Alexinparis's Avatar
Paris, France
Joined Jun 2009
756 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimnAz View Post
Hey Alex.

Great job.........but there is a problem.

I downloaded the v2.0 file, compiled it, loaded it in my Pro-mini, then tried to run the WiiConfiguration application you wrote.

It will not run on my machine. It says the javaw.exe file cannot be found.

I am running Windows7 professional 64bit. Do I need to have Processing installed? Would it be possible to get the Processing file to run it in Processing instead of a stand alone application?

Thanks.

Jim
Hi,
If your windows version does not already include java,
you can download and install it directly from sun site.
Select the JRE (Java runtime) here:
http://java.sun.com/javase/downloads/index.jsp

The full installation of processing should not be required to run TriWiiconf
Alexinparis is offline Find More Posts by Alexinparis
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2010, 09:49 AM
Registered User
South korea
Joined Dec 2003
209 Posts
I tried triwiicfg.
thanks Alex.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OKiTC-u-YAQ
wland is offline Find More Posts by wland
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2010, 05:01 PM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2007
6 Posts
Alex,

re Good or bad WM+ copy??

I'm collecting the parts to make my TriWiiCopter. Thanks for this clever design work!

Yesterday I received WM+ from ebay seller "wanghonmei-ey" $10/pc. (the same seller you recommended in post#109). Here are photos of the board:

So, I'm confused - this board looks exactly like the 'bad WM+ copy' you show in post #103. You say the problem is due to unreliable I2c communications. Is there a simple sketch I/ we can use to test these WM+, to make sure the board is good and to avoid problems with crazy motors and propellers?

thanks,
Ken
kitemaker is offline Find More Posts by kitemaker
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2010, 11:03 PM
Registered User
Alexinparis's Avatar
Paris, France
Joined Jun 2009
756 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kitemaker View Post
So, I'm confused - this board looks exactly like the 'bad WM+ copy' you show in post #103. You say the problem is due to unreliable I2c communications. Is there a simple sketch I/ we can use to test these WM+, to make sure the board is good and to avoid problems with crazy motors and propellers?
Hi,

I'm also confused because I reorder also from the same seller a WM+ and got this time 2 days ago this copy. It seems he changed his source.
I'm going to write a specific sketch with WM+ only to see what happen exactly with I2C. There is maybe a tuning optimization that can be done to still use this copy, but not sure.
Alexinparis is offline Find More Posts by Alexinparis
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools