HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 01, 2011, 04:45 AM
disenfranchised...
AP_OZ's Avatar
Joined May 2010
1,393 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sm3rt View Post
Hi,

Do the HK SS ESC's work alright? I've seen some mixed responses..

Thanks
Hi,

They will work but a lot of people have commented on how they cause oscillations due to not handling the frame rate outputted from the Multiwiicopter board.

Best bet is to use plush esc's as they aren't much more expensive and are a proven performer. Plush esc's will also allow you to turn up your p settings.

Cheers,

John
AP_OZ is offline Find More Posts by AP_OZ
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 01, 2011, 05:04 AM
Flying a Chipmunk in Portugal
jhsa's Avatar
NRW, Germany
Joined Sep 2010
3,468 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AP_OZ View Post
Hi,

They will work but a lot of people have commented on how they cause oscillations due to not handling the frame rate outputted from the Multiwiicopter board.

Best bet is to use plush esc's as they aren't much more expensive and are a proven performer. Plush esc's will also allow you to turn up your p settings.

Cheers,

John
I'm using the HK SS 25-30 non programmable ESCs on my tri and they work fine. I've read somewhere that the new ones are made different from the old ones though.
The only problem I have with mine is that they started getting a bit warmer than when I used only Gyros on my tri because I used a separate BEC before. Now I use the ESCs BECs to power the arduino and the servo and they get a little bit too warm I guess. but they're still working so, I rhink it's ok. apart from that, no other probs..
jhsa is online now Find More Posts by jhsa
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 01, 2011, 07:27 AM
Caution: Noob in training
Brisbane, Australia
Joined Jun 2007
875 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by opus View Post
what if you used the camera stabilization circuit to tilt your forward motor/shrouds? As you pitch forward into fff the stabilizing circuit would try to level out the body by tilting the motors forward/backward depending on the attitude of the body. It would give you an automatic and variable tilt.
To my way of thinking, this wouldn't work, at least not without compensation in the code; if you pitch forward to fly forward, and the motors then tilt to try to level out the body, it would also level out the gyro;essentially the arduino wold think that the copter is pitching backwards when you have told it to pitch forwards... dunno, it's an exercise in logic that I'm not up to facing at the moment, time for sleep.
RoGuE_StreaK is offline Find More Posts by RoGuE_StreaK
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 01, 2011, 07:41 AM
Off my horse
Joined Apr 2011
273 Posts
Has anyone had a problem where everything works just fine for a while and then the multiwii freezes? I have this problem now.. I can hover, fly around a little bit but at some point the machine freezes.. it does not stop running, the props stay spinning (which makes turning the thing off a challange), the yaw servo gets stuck in whatever position it was and it stops responding to gyro movement and tx input. (Both when hooked to the computer and not) I have a 3c battery hooked up to a BEC powering the board (a duelimillonave). I am running version 1.7.
empire007 is offline Find More Posts by empire007
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 01, 2011, 09:01 AM
Cereal Killer.
branflake12's Avatar
USA, IA, Iowa City
Joined Jun 2009
701 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sm3rt View Post
Hi,

Do the HK SS ESC's work alright? I've seen some mixed responses..

Thanks
My quad (first one) hovers hands off for 5+ seconds with the 18-20SS's. Only time i notice anything other than smoothness is on fast descents.
branflake12 is offline Find More Posts by branflake12
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 01, 2011, 09:20 AM
Registered User
Joined May 2009
156 Posts
How I upload new pde file to arduino?

I have selected 1.7pde and open it with arduino 22 and then press upload.

It says some sync problem and software iss not going in?
bigbear_fin is offline Find More Posts by bigbear_fin
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 01, 2011, 09:22 AM
Fournier RF4D N1771 Awesome!
jb92563's Avatar
Riverside, CA
Joined Nov 2004
270 Posts
I noticed an interesting thing while tuning my quad last evening.

I bought a clone WMP+ so that I could run it up to 400hz with my BMA020.

I have it somewhat tamed with PID 3.6, 0.035, 15 on pitch and roll with the WMP+ running at 100hz with 3100 cycle time.

Then i increased it to 200hz(~2900 cycle time) then 400hz(~2800 cycle time)
and found the quad would get increasingly more twitchy and unstable as cycle time decreased.

Reversing that logic I thought that if I could increase the cycle time, might help to tame it down more.

Does the cycle time delay parameter, forgot its name but it defaults to 3000 (important when using an NK) increase the cycle time also when using a BMA020? I get the impression that this might not be the case?

Is there a way I can increase the cycle time in the program?

I also have a WMP+ & NK and it cycles at around 6000.

Ray
jb92563 is offline Find More Posts by jb92563
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 01, 2011, 09:25 AM
Registered User
Joined May 2009
156 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbear_fin View Post
how i upload new pde file to arduino?

I have selected 1.7pde and open it with arduino 22 and then press upload.

It says some sync problem and software iss not going in?
Name: Untitled.png
Views: 156
Size: 52.8 KB
Description:
bigbear_fin is offline Find More Posts by bigbear_fin
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 01, 2011, 10:21 AM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2005
473 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbear_fin View Post
Try hitting the 'reset' button on the Pro Mini as soon as you see the "sketch size" message in the status window (where the errors appear).
cass3825 is offline Find More Posts by cass3825
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 01, 2011, 10:25 AM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,700 Posts


I would just like to share my newest project and ask if anyone knows Visual Basic? It is a WiiConfig program that runs on any PDA with Bluetooth and WindowsCE. If you are interested in this build, here is the link to the project.


http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...1341659&page=8
rimshotcopter is offline Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 01, 2011, 12:23 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,700 Posts
Question: Do anyone know if the Throttle PID attenuation has the same effects as a Throttle Curve? Reason I ask this is, all of my copters requires some variation in the Throttle Curve but I don't want to have a separate Transmitter profile for each copter.
rimshotcopter is offline Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 01, 2011, 12:39 PM
Registered User
United States, IL, Park Ridge
Joined Apr 2010
211 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbear_fin View Post
Hi !
I had the same problem (google did not find solution).
Finally I connected power to ProMini and everything start working.
My second Arduino (Uno) work fine with USB connection only but
ProMini not. Maybe My connection to FTDI board is bad but only this way I can upload sketch.

Conclusion:
USB to FTDI board, FTDI to ProMini, external 5V & GND to ProMini

Iff this apply to all ProMinis someone can confirm ???
Thanks
Tom

P.S.
Looking on some pictures of ProMini on the web some of them have GRN and BLK marks fliped (this is not fliped pictures) sometimes GRN is on the Analog side sometimes on Digital.
Web sites:
http://www.sparkfun.com/products/9218
http://www.arduino.cc/en/Main/ArduinoBoardProMini
Tifani is offline Find More Posts by Tifani
Last edited by Tifani; Jun 01, 2011 at 01:03 PM. Reason: Find Strange pictures
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 01, 2011, 12:40 PM
Registered User
Ceros007's Avatar
Montreal, Québec, Canada
Joined Apr 2010
1,471 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by reverendrichie View Post

I would just like to share my newest project and ask if anyone knows Visual Basic? It is a WiiConfig program that runs on any PDA with Bluetooth and WindowsCE. If you are interested in this build, here is the link to the project.


http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...1341659&page=8
I'm a student in Software Engineering and I know VB. Maybe I can help?
Ceros007 is offline Find More Posts by Ceros007
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 01, 2011, 01:05 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,700 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ceros007 View Post
I'm a student in Software Engineering and I know VB. Maybe I can help?
I would be delighted for your help, at present, there is only the form and the project. I will be posting that later and we can collaborate on how to proceed. Because this thread is very large, lets discuss this here


Thank you.
rimshotcopter is offline Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 01, 2011, 01:15 PM
Registered User
Gaza07's Avatar
United Kingdom, England, Nottingham
Joined Nov 2002
814 Posts
@Tifani they are 2 different boards one has a atmega168 and the other atmega328,
I have only ever used the sparkfun one with the atmega328 and there own FTDI,
One thing you could check though is for solder bridges across the Ic pins as I have had this and you need to check with a magnifier glass
Gaza07 is offline Find More Posts by Gaza07
Reply With Quote