HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old May 29, 2011, 12:26 PM
Registered User
ferdous7466's Avatar
Joined Mar 2010
437 Posts
can we make a multiwii bi? will the same multiwii soft be workable?i want to build something similar to osprey V22.
ferdous7466 is offline Find More Posts by ferdous7466
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 29, 2011, 12:42 PM
Registered User
USA, CA, Fontana
Joined Mar 2005
1,086 Posts
Bi

Quote:
Originally Posted by ferdous7466 View Post
can we make a multiwii bi? will the same multiwii soft be workable?i want to build something similar to osprey V22.
Think you just change this on the 1.7 firmware. Just remove the // for which format you are flying.

/* The type of multicopter */
//#define GIMBAL
#define BI
//#define TRI
//#define QUADP
//#define QUADX
//#define Y4
//#define Y6
//#define HEX6
//#define HEX6X
//#define FLYING_WING //experimental
actionplus is offline Find More Posts by actionplus
Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2011, 01:29 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,575 Posts
Alex, I am having problems getting with the Bicopter using Pin 6 to output a PWM signal when using my Arduino Mega 1280. I loaded the sample test sketch Servo Sweep, and it works fine, so I know that the problem is not hardware related.

I also tried changing these values but still noting.

Code:
#define DIGITAL_BI_LEFT_PINMODE    pinMode(6,OUTPUT); 
#define DIGITAL_BI_LEFT_HIGH       PORTE |= 1<<6;
#define DIGITAL_BI_LEFT_LOW        PORTE &= ~(1<<6);
Code:
// Sweep
// by BARRAGAN <http://barraganstudio.com> 
// This example code is in the public domain.


#include <Servo.h> 
 
Servo myservo;  // create servo object to control a servo 
                // a maximum of eight servo objects can be created 
 
int pos = 0;    // variable to store the servo position 
 
void setup() 
{ 
  myservo.attach(6);  // attaches the servo on pin 9 to the servo object 
} 
 
 
void loop() 
{ 
  for(pos = 0; pos < 180; pos += 1)  // goes from 0 degrees to 180 degrees 
  {                                  // in steps of 1 degree 
    myservo.write(pos);              // tell servo to go to position in variable 'pos' 
    delay(15);                       // waits 15ms for the servo to reach the position 
  } 
  for(pos = 180; pos>=1; pos-=1)     // goes from 180 degrees to 0 degrees 
  {                                
    myservo.write(pos);              // tell servo to go to position in variable 'pos' 
    delay(15);                       // waits 15ms for the servo to reach the position 
  } 
}
rimshotcopter is online now Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Last edited by rimshotcopter; May 29, 2011 at 04:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2011, 05:35 PM
Registered User
Alexinparis's Avatar
Paris, France
Joined Jun 2009
756 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by reverendrichie View Post
Alex, I am having problems getting with the Bicopter using Pin 6 to output a PWM signal when using my Arduino Mega 1280. I loaded the sample test sketch Servo Sweep, and it works fine, so I know that the problem is not hardware related.

I also tried changing these values but still noting.

Code:
#define DIGITAL_BI_LEFT_PINMODE    pinMode(6,OUTPUT); 
#define DIGITAL_BI_LEFT_HIGH       PORTE |= 1<<6;
#define DIGITAL_BI_LEFT_LOW        PORTE &= ~(1<<6);
Code:
// Sweep
// by BARRAGAN <http://barraganstudio.com> 
// This example code is in the public domain.


#include <Servo.h> 
 
Servo myservo;  // create servo object to control a servo 
                // a maximum of eight servo objects can be created 
 
int pos = 0;    // variable to store the servo position 
 
void setup() 
{ 
  myservo.attach(6);  // attaches the servo on pin 9 to the servo object 
} 
 
 
void loop() 
{ 
  for(pos = 0; pos < 180; pos += 1)  // goes from 0 degrees to 180 degrees 
  {                                  // in steps of 1 degree 
    myservo.write(pos);              // tell servo to go to position in variable 'pos' 
    delay(15);                       // waits 15ms for the servo to reach the position 
  } 
  for(pos = 180; pos>=1; pos-=1)     // goes from 180 degrees to 0 degrees 
  {                                
    myservo.write(pos);              // tell servo to go to position in variable 'pos' 
    delay(15);                       // waits 15ms for the servo to reach the position 
  } 
}
Hi,
yes, I know there is a bug here.
the right code should be:
Code:
  #define DIGITAL_BI_LEFT_PINMODE    pinMode(6,OUTPUT); 
  #define DIGITAL_BI_LEFT_HIGH       PORTH |= 1<<3;
  #define DIGITAL_BI_LEFT_LOW        PORTH &= ~(1<<3);
Alexinparis is offline Find More Posts by Alexinparis
Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2011, 05:37 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,575 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexinparis View Post
Hi,
yes, I know there is a bug here.
the right code should be:
Code:
  #define DIGITAL_BI_LEFT_PINMODE    pinMode(6,OUTPUT); 
  #define DIGITAL_BI_LEFT_HIGH       PORTH |= 1<<3;
  #define DIGITAL_BI_LEFT_LOW        PORTH &= ~(1<<3);
Thank you very VERY Much!!!
rimshotcopter is online now Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2011, 06:03 PM
Registered User
M4d_D's Avatar
Joined Dec 2006
845 Posts
hi there
since i had a little accident with my octo i was quite frustrated with it so i built a small quad


its somewhere under the kitten ( she beeps like r2d2 )
its a self made carbon fibre frame with 8" props. now im waiting for the lipos since they are in the customs office
what do you think ?

can someone please tell me how to assemble the programmers multiwii code with the octo option ? i have no clue if i can just program it onto the board ???
M4d_D is offline Find More Posts by M4d_D
Last edited by M4d_D; May 29, 2011 at 06:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2011, 07:09 PM
Registered User
eyeinsky1's Avatar
Halifax NS Canada
Joined Apr 2009
1,486 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ferdous7466 View Post
can we make a multiwii bi? will the same multiwii soft be workable?i want to build something similar to osprey V22.
Avatar configuration is work well

nVader low wind laps 1 (4 min 7 sec)
eyeinsky1 is offline Find More Posts by eyeinsky1
Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2011, 08:57 PM
MultiCopterPilot & Film Maker
crazyj's Avatar
United States, CA, San Ramon
Joined Oct 2002
2,540 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tigar View Post
Hi,
I am using the 1.7 code on a tri witch is very stable. I also install lately a camera mount to stabilize the video. It works ok but in real life the mount introduces a small oscillation. It is not visible but you can notice on the video. I suspect the servos i am using are too fast for this (mini digital metal gear) or there is to much gain on the camera stabilization algorithm. Could any one suggest correct servos for this application and if any changes in the code that might fix this?
Thanks
Try putting some thin rubber between the camera and the camera mount. It might be some high freq vibrations that are causing the "jello" effect on your video. I know I get it with mine! If you haven't already try balancing your props, it will help reduce any vibration at all. lastly, use nylon geared servos for your camera mount, they tend to have less "slop" in the gears vs. metal geared servos.


Quote:
Originally Posted by eyeinsky1 View Post
Avatar configuration is work well

http://www.vimeo.com/23444683
Dude that's flying great! I may have to build a bi-copter after all. one question. What is the clicking noise you hear in the video, are you flipping in and out of dual rates or something? The noise seemed odd for such an empty field.
crazyj is offline Find More Posts by crazyj
Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2011, 10:00 PM
Registered MisUser
whiteturbo's Avatar
Bristol UK
Joined Oct 2009
711 Posts
That clicking is the camera, if you watch and listen closely, it only happens when zooming in or out
whiteturbo is offline Find More Posts by whiteturbo
Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2011, 10:29 PM
MultiCopterPilot & Film Maker
crazyj's Avatar
United States, CA, San Ramon
Joined Oct 2002
2,540 Posts
I made a new video today with a different subject

MWC and 3D Foamy Action (2 min 28 sec)
crazyj is offline Find More Posts by crazyj
Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2011, 10:35 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2009
11,575 Posts
That was Awesome Jason!
rimshotcopter is online now Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2011, 10:55 PM
Registered User
United States, GA, Atlanta
Joined Dec 2010
2,061 Posts
FYI, and just passing along... I'm one of the AeroQuad developers and we are working on some fun stuff over in that side of the world ... However, thats not the reason for my post...

I followed the ball as Jussi put the FFIMU together and I picked up a couple recently... Here is a picture of one on a new pro mini shield that is available from the AQ store...

I know I converted AQ to run on Paris and Warthox boards assuming you build with correct sensor orientation so the signs and orders will come out right so I suspect that this shield would also run MWii, but I've not tried it.

Anyway, this is just a way cool little solution... One we are most likely to play with in a stacked configuration running Attitude Estimation(AHRS), sensor fusion, and GPS ... but for now, it's just gonna fly the regular AQ software as I finish up some new features there.

Thanks Jussi for good stuff!

aadamson is offline Find More Posts by aadamson
Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2011, 11:07 PM
FPV really is fun.
Scotth72's Avatar
Sedona, Az
Joined Sep 2001
880 Posts
That looks very nice. Is that a new frame?
Scotth72 is offline Find More Posts by Scotth72
Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2011, 12:31 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2009
593 Posts
I have warthox 2.0 board. If the board has stabilization chip, what part of the sketch code needs to be changed to make sure its active?
aerorotor is offline Find More Posts by aerorotor
Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2011, 12:55 AM
Registered User
RCvertt's Avatar
Joined Aug 2007
4,058 Posts
Using a BMA180 do I have to connect it's INT pin to the ProMini's ISR pin as shown in it's data sheet?

If so, which ProMini pin is ISR?
RCvertt is offline Find More Posts by RCvertt
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Chupacabra sighting !!!
Reply With Quote