HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 05, 2010, 12:01 PM
Registered User
HeavyCruser9's Avatar
Adelaide,Australia
Joined Dec 2009
2,389 Posts
Question
Turnigy 9X 2.4Ghz Tx setup

Ok this is my new 2.4Ghz Turnigy My question is How do Ya get channels 5-8 too work I've never had a set with more than 5 ch's and the manual is in Aeroplane TECHNO BABBLE!! It assumes U already know how 2 set it up!!

Any one have any suggestions!!

Cheers Bruce
HeavyCruser9 is offline Find More Posts by HeavyCruser9
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 05, 2010, 12:22 PM
Boats on the brain!!
green-boat's Avatar
Arnold, Mo.
Joined Jul 2005
4,613 Posts
Channels 5 and up on aircraft radios are usually linked to switches and knobs located on the top of the transmitter. Flip a switch and a servo will rotate from one extreme to the other, ie: landing gear coming down or flaps.
green-boat is offline Find More Posts by green-boat
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 05, 2010, 12:32 PM
Grumpa Tom
Kmot's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Sep 2003
23,994 Posts
Yup, what green-boat says. Just plug servos into every channel on the Rx and start flipping switches and spinning knobs.
Kmot is offline Find More Posts by Kmot
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 05, 2010, 12:39 PM
Registered User
HeavyCruser9's Avatar
Adelaide,Australia
Joined Dec 2009
2,389 Posts
Yep that's the prob nothing happens!! I'll have 2 plug my spare servo's in and have a fiddle with settings in Menu! I the manual pretty much assume's U know what U R doin! Unfortunately I don't!! We Shall C !!
Extra channels will be used for lights, bilge pump, Fwd missile and linked target radar directors, Midships 8" turret rotation,and Heli rotor on/off with one spare (at this stage, but may us it for midships VLS launch sequencer!!)......If I can get EM 2 Work!!

Cheers Bruce
HeavyCruser9 is offline Find More Posts by HeavyCruser9
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 05, 2010, 12:41 PM
Grumpa Tom
Kmot's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Sep 2003
23,994 Posts
Does this radio have an online manual we can look at?
Kmot is offline Find More Posts by Kmot
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 05, 2010, 01:03 PM
Registered User
HeavyCruser9's Avatar
Adelaide,Australia
Joined Dec 2009
2,389 Posts
Yeah downloaded it from www.skyrc.com (the IMAX 9x same unit as the Turnigy), As the saying goes "Its all Greek 2 me"
might need 2 read it again when I'm not so tired!!
Goodnight all!!

Bruce
HeavyCruser9 is offline Find More Posts by HeavyCruser9
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 05, 2010, 02:07 PM
Grumpa Tom
Kmot's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Sep 2003
23,994 Posts
Got it. I'll have a look though the manual later.

For anyone else interested:

http://www.skyrc.com/pdf/imax9x.pdf
Kmot is offline Find More Posts by Kmot
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 05, 2010, 05:35 PM
KC8WPF
CG Bob's Avatar
Euclid, Ohio, United States
Joined Sep 2004
3,811 Posts
Use the aircraft setting and ignore the helicopter and glider settings in the menu. For most radio that use Mode 2 aircraft functions, here are the stick, switch and knob locations and corresponding rx slot.

Ch 1 - Right stick move left/right (aircraft aileron; boat rudder)
Ch 2 - Right stick moves up/down (aircraft elevator; sub dive planes; boat second throttle or electronic switches)
Ch 3 - Left stick moves up/down (throttle)
Ch 4 -Left stick moves left/right (aircraft rudder; sub ballast system)
Ch 5 - Toggle switch on top right, usually listed as "Gear" (aircraft landing gear; this is a two poristion system, nothing in between)
Ch 6 - Rotary knob above left stick, usually listed as "Flap" (aircraft landing flaps; variable servo throw from 0 to ?? degrees - depends on the servo)
Ch 7 - Rotary knob or switch on top of radio, may listed as "Aux 1"
Ch 8 - Rotary knob or switch on top of radio, may be listed as "Aux 2"

If CH 7 & 8 are switches, they may be two or three postion switches. Two position switches will operate like landing gear - either all up (left) or down (right) with nothing in-between. If CH 7 & 8 are rotary knobs, you have the same flexibility as the Ch 6 "Flaps".
CG Bob is offline Find More Posts by CG Bob
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 05, 2010, 06:27 PM
Submarines, etc.
tsenecal's Avatar
Arvada, Colorado
Joined May 2005
1,604 Posts
bottom of page 20 of the pdf (section 8.7) describes how to assign the higher aux channels to the different switches and knobs on the radio.

NOTE: as it ships out of the box, all of them (5-9) are disabled.
tsenecal is offline Find More Posts by tsenecal
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 05, 2010, 07:28 PM
Grumpa Tom
Kmot's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Sep 2003
23,994 Posts
Look at page 42 instead, it is in the Airplane section.

Also, did you get Mode 1 or Mode 2? CG Bob described Mode 2.

You will have to go into the programming menu, assign a function to an Aux channel, and then "enable" that channel.
Kmot is offline Find More Posts by Kmot
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 05, 2010, 08:25 PM
Submarines, etc.
tsenecal's Avatar
Arvada, Colorado
Joined May 2005
1,604 Posts
six of one, half a dozen of the other.

page 20 is helicopter section.
page 42 is airplane section.

other than that... word for word identical in how to get to the submenu, and how to define the aux channel settings.


of course that means they are both in chin-lish, and you might have to do some deciphering
tsenecal is offline Find More Posts by tsenecal
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 05, 2010, 09:39 PM
Registered User
HeavyCruser9's Avatar
Adelaide,Australia
Joined Dec 2009
2,389 Posts
Mines a Mode 1, which doesn't matter cause I'm running up/dwn on both sticks as Throttle with both self centering. Ideally I'd have them ratcheted if I can get some bits for it!
I will re-read the manual shortly Thank You guys for all advice

Cheers Bruce

P.s As I get this Radio setup I will post its performance here in case anyone want's one!
HeavyCruser9 is offline Find More Posts by HeavyCruser9
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 06, 2010, 05:47 AM
Registered User
HeavyCruser9's Avatar
Adelaide,Australia
Joined Dec 2009
2,389 Posts
Okies done some basic fiddling with Tx discovered the following.
Mode 1 comes preselected....But in menu U can select modes 1 thru 4 which is useful!!
menu is very easy 2 use once you play with it a bit!!
Found the Aux ch menu just need 2 set them up will do that after dinner then post a report!!
This Tx seems (so far) to be easy 2 use but i wish they would program a menu for BOATS!!

Cheers Bruce
HeavyCruser9 is offline Find More Posts by HeavyCruser9
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 06, 2010, 12:46 PM
Grumpa Tom
Kmot's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Sep 2003
23,994 Posts
Selectable modes, that is a very nice feature to have. This radio looks impressive, especially for the price.
Kmot is offline Find More Posts by Kmot
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 06, 2010, 06:19 PM
Registered User
HeavyCruser9's Avatar
Adelaide,Australia
Joined Dec 2009
2,389 Posts
Yep the more I've fiddled with it the more I find 2 like! It seems 2 have all the features of "Name" brand Tx's at a fraction of the Bucks. And that can only be a good thing!!
Still need 2 set up the aux ch's got side tracked last night watchin MotoGp!

Bruce
HeavyCruser9 is offline Find More Posts by HeavyCruser9
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Turnigy TGY 9X with Corona 2.4Ghz - Very short range giluriel Radios 5 Aug 01, 2010 11:20 AM
Sold Turnigy 9X, with Spektrum Module 2.4ghz $90 Shipped crd Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 5 May 15, 2010 10:45 AM
Help! Questions related to Computer Setup with Hobby King 2.4Ghz 6Ch Tx Radio 36below Radios 3 Jan 29, 2010 07:37 AM
Wanted Turnigy 9X TX Mode 1 BobAZ Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 0 Nov 21, 2009 08:10 PM
Question iMax 9X generally and 2.4ghz for the iMax 9X specifically: How is it? JRexA Radios 30 May 11, 2009 05:25 PM