Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Jun 12, 2003, 03:27 PM
Milwaukee, WI
Joined Jun 2003
60 Posts
Next plane after Wingo. Zagi / Lazy Bee ?

I have a Wingo and was wondering what would be a nice next plane. The Wingo is not very durable but can be fixxed easily. I was thinking of the Zagi-Fixx (looks very durable by the movies on Zagi web page) or the Lazy Bee. Any suggestions? I am still fairly new to this hobby.

Thanks
tblunt is offline Find More Posts by tblunt
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 12, 2003, 09:25 PM
Just an average RC'er
Laurel, Maryland USA
Joined Aug 2000
4,291 Posts
I used a wingo as my first airplane. Next I used all the components of the wingo (except the motor) in a Zagi. The Zagi is much much more durable than the Fixx, and is a great step up from the Wingo. Other options include the Switchback and Hangover. Both are great flyers that can be setup mild to wild. They are balsa, but are such easy flyers that you won't need to repair them often.

-Jim
Jim McPherson is offline Find More Posts by Jim McPherson
Old Jun 12, 2003, 11:13 PM
Fly
Veracitarian Muser
Tempe, Arizona USA
Joined Dec 2001
582 Posts
I love my Lazy Bee! It's my #1 bird. My second favorite plane is my Lady Bug (Baby Bee). They are easy to fly, especially the Lazy Bee, but will go wild when you let them. They are both a hoot to do close in clowning around with you in the center. You can almost let your transmitter antenna act as your control line! If you search for Fly & Bee, you can find pictures of both here on ezone.
Fly is offline Find More Posts by Fly
Old Jun 13, 2003, 09:55 AM
San Diego
Joined May 2003
49 Posts
I would steer clear of the Zagi Fixx, based on the posts I've read in the Foamies forum and specifically the following thread:

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...hreadid=125024

I've also seen them fly and I wasn't impressed by the performance. If you are looking for a flying wing, you might want to take a look at an EPP foam wing like a Wing Warrior.