SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jun 12, 2003, 11:45 AM
Male Member
Waltham, MA - USA
Joined Jul 2002
139 Posts
Tiger Moth on floats...

Hi all,
Finished mounting my floats on my Tiger Moth last night.
I'm sitting here at work counting the hours (only 3.5 more!) until I leave for Lake Parker in North East Kingdom, Vermont this evening.
So, I thought I'd vent some of my excitement and anticipation by posting a pre-flight report here.
(It's all I can think about!)
Building/assembling/mounting the hollow floats, from foamfloats.com, was a bit of a challenge for a non-builder/modeler like myself - To paraphrase Michael Jackson - I'm a flyer not a builder -
Anyway, I took my time, and I think I did a pretty decent job.
Sorry, no pics at this time - maybe I'll have a chance to post one before I leave this evening.
So, they're glued, covered and mounted and (hopefully) ready to fly.
I've moved up to an 8 cell nimh pack, but still using the stock IPS motor.
I reinforced the bottom wing only, with strapping tape.
I'm very confident the wings will carry the weight, but a little worried about having enough power - we'll see.
If it turns out to be under-powered, I'll upgrade to the dual IPS - opinions on this would be most welcome.
Weather report for West Glover, VT is not ideal, but I'm optimistic.
Wish me luck, both for good weather and a successful maiden.
I know there's a couple of Squadron members who fly their TMs on floats, I'd love to hear some advice and also what set-up you use.
-Keeping my fingers crossed,
Dennis
DennisG is offline Find More Posts by DennisG
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 12, 2003, 12:30 PM
nw ohio
Joined Jan 2002
491 Posts
-good luck on your flights tonight, i had a blast with my tm on floats
easy2fly is offline Find More Posts by easy2fly
Old Jun 12, 2003, 03:32 PM
Elfi Flyer
Rock Hill, SC
Joined Oct 2002
5,553 Posts
Eight Cells!