HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 24, 2010, 01:30 PM
Joined May 2010
6 Posts
Discussion
ESC to battery to motor to receiver HELP

I'm new to the electric world as you'll be able to tell by my question. I'm trying to hook up my brushless motor to my esc and receiver. After hooking up my 11.1v battery to the ESC should I see any potential across the 3 leads that go to the motor? The ESC has BEC and there is potential going to the receiver all servos operate. Speaking of the receiver I'm using one from my nitro days. Is that a no no? I hooked up the receiver connector off the ESC to the throttle connection on the receiver figuring that was how the ESC controlled the RPM of the engine. Is that wrong? Long story short the way I've hooked it up the engine does nothing. Thanks for any and all help.
balsaandfoam
balsaandfoam is offline Find More Posts by balsaandfoam
to remove ads between posts
Old May 24, 2010, 01:41 PM
Staffs, UK
Joined Nov 2003
10,395 Posts
What motor? What ESC ? What receiver ? What transmitter ? What battery ? Details matter .

To answer your questions in order: no, no, no. So it sounds like what you've described is o.k. But the motor needs to be connected too. And the ESC needs to initialise (most usually beep at you when the battery is connected). The throttle and trim usually need to be fully down and if it's a Futaba Tx you'll need to reverse the throttle.

Steve
slipstick is offline Find More Posts by slipstick
Old May 24, 2010, 02:35 PM
Joined Nov 2005
4,404 Posts
For initial set up leave the prop off , sometimes you get surprises !!
lake flyer is offline Find More Posts by lake flyer
Old May 25, 2010, 11:06 PM
Joined May 2010
6 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by slipstick View Post
What motor? What ESC ? What receiver ? What transmitter ? What battery ? Details matter .