Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old May 23, 2010, 03:53 PM
"I Am The Animal!" in training
Winston-Salem, NC
Joined Sep 2008
1,008 Posts
Build Log
scratchbuilt 31cc ryobi - deep vee - my first boat

hey yall. i have a lot of experience with rc planes, and a little bit with rc cars, but none with boats. my father and i got a new weedwacker a while ago, and this week we decided to build a boat to put the old weedwacker's engine into! its really starting to shape up! (we dont have any plans or anything - just some general dimmensions, and pictures - were pulling it all out of thin air, and making it up as we go along. haha) its 52" long. by 18" wide

let me know what yall think so far. im gonna have a ton of questions later on about things like the rudder set-up, and the prop.

thanks yall!
Helifryer
helifryer is offline Find More Posts by helifryer
to remove ads between posts
Old May 23, 2010, 05:52 PM
Joined Oct 2008
90 Posts
Looks like a good'un. One issue you may find with such a large amount of deadrise at the back is stability, I reckon it'll rock from side to side a lot.
andyn22 is offline Find More Posts by andyn22
Old May 31, 2010, 09:44 AM
Winston-Salem, NC
Joined Sep 2008
1,008 Posts
more progress... the hull is all built now. we sealed (sort of...) the seams from the inside with some adhesive caulk. if nothing else, it should at least provide some structural integrity - its not really going to help much with waterproofing tho.

next step is to rough sand the outside, and then start filling holes/gaps/cracks with bondo. we dont really know what we r doing...but itll work. hahaha

after that, i think we will fine sand it all, and get the shape correct, and either paint it then finish it with 30 min. epoxy, or finish it with epoxy, and then paint it..... not really sure which comes first.... lol. im gonna have to do some more research.

Heli
Old May 31, 2010, 10:25 PM
Winston-Salem, NC
Joined Sep 2008
1,008 Posts