SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Closed Thread
Thread Tools
Old Oct 05, 2011, 06:53 AM
First to go over 106K feet
Crist Rigotti's Avatar
USA, IA, North Liberty
Joined Mar 2008
2,480 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teamsherman View Post
Ive been pointed in the direction of either a 6db or 10db attenuator. Which one should i go with?

I really have no idea on how to tell which would do the job better so im trusting the knowledge of you forum folk!! lol

Cheers,

Alan.
Remember that the max input of the booseter is 20db. Use an attenuator sized to get below that. The specs for the booster state 9-13db is nominal. Anywhere below 20 to 15 db will work as an input to the booster.
Crist Rigotti is offline Find More Posts by Crist Rigotti
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 05, 2011, 03:12 PM
Member #1
Teamsherman's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Picnic Point
Joined Aug 2011
6,889 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crist Rigotti View Post
Remember that the max input of the booseter is 20db. Use an attenuator sized to get below that. The specs for the booster state 9-13db is nominal. Anywhere below 20 to 15 db will work as an input to the booster.
Ok, one more question then. Do we know what the output db of the DX8 is?
Teamsherman is offline Find More Posts by Teamsherman
Old Oct 05, 2011, 08:25 PM
First to go over 106K feet
Crist Rigotti's Avatar
USA, IA, North Liberty
Joined Mar 2008
2,480 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teamsherman View Post
Ok, one more question then. Do we know what the output db of the DX8 is?
Open up the transmitter and it should be on the RF module/board.

EDIT:
I found this on the web.

I'd use a 4bd attenuator max.
Crist Rigotti is offline Find More Posts by Crist Rigotti
Last edited by Crist Rigotti; Oct 05, 2011 at 08:48 PM.
Old Oct 05, 2011, 09:31 PM
Suspended Account
United States, FL, Maitland
Joined Apr 2011
2,109 Posts
so that's almost 100mW
chatch15117 is offline Find More Posts by chatch15117
Old Oct 08, 2011, 01:25 AM
GilUriel
Israel
Joined Apr 2008
203 Posts
Attenuator question - pls help

Hi guys,

I have made this mod about a year ago and it works great.
However,
I'm using the 6db (50Ohm) attenuator as indicated and there is an extension cable about 10ft. long from my DX7 to the booster.

Should I skip the attenuator due to the cable impedance and loss ??

Thanks,
Gil Uriel
giluriel is offline Find More Posts by giluriel
Old Oct 08, 2011, 03:19 AM
Suspended Account
United States, FL, Maitland
Joined Apr 2011
2,109 Posts
lol i don't use anything and pump 8v through the thing(6v rated). works fine
chatch15117 is offline Find More Posts by chatch15117
Old Oct 08, 2011, 09:14 AM
First to go over 106K feet
Crist Rigotti's Avatar
USA, IA, North Liberty
Joined Mar 2008
2,480 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by chatch15117 View Post
lol i don't use anything and pump 8v through the thing(6v rated). works fine
I feel that it is best to follow manufacturers recommdations and only use 6 volts. When I was using the booster, i ran it on 6 volts and went out to 5 3/4 miles.
Crist Rigotti is offline Find More Posts by Crist Rigotti
Old Oct 08, 2011, 01:07 PM
GilUriel
Israel
Joined Apr 2008
203 Posts
Crist (or anyone else..) ,
Is there a way to calculate or measure if my signal is OK without the attenuator (or maybe I need a smaller one ?)

At the moment - my weak point is the radio uplink.
At about 5 Km (+-500 meter) I'm loosing radio and I guess that if the extension cable resists enough I could remove the attenuator and gain some more distance.

What do you say ?..

Thanks,
Gil
giluriel is offline Find More Posts by giluriel
Old Oct 08, 2011, 08:52 PM
First to go over 106K feet
Crist Rigotti's Avatar
USA, IA, North Liberty
Joined Mar 2008
2,480 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by giluriel View Post
Crist (or anyone else..) ,
Is there a way to calculate or measure if my signal is OK without the attenuator (or maybe I need a smaller one ?)

At the moment - my weak point is the radio uplink.
At about 5 Km (+-500 meter) I'm loosing radio and I guess that if the extension cable resists enough I could remove the attenuator and gain some more distance.

What do you say ?..

Thanks,
Gil
The attenuator does not reduce the output of the booster! The booster will put out its rated output anywhere from 9 to 20dbm input. The attenuator is only limiting the input power to keep it within the 9 to 20dbm range the booster needs for an input.

If you have weak range, it is not the 4 to 6dbm attenuator on the input side.
Crist Rigotti is offline Find More Posts by Crist Rigotti
Old Oct 08, 2011, 11:43 PM
GilUriel
Israel
Joined Apr 2008
203 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crist Rigotti View Post
The attenuator does not reduce the output of the booster! The booster will put out its rated output anywhere from 9 to 20dbm input. The attenuator is only limiting the input power to keep it within the 9 to 20dbm range the booster needs for an input.

If you have weak range, it is not the 4 to 6dbm attenuator on the input side.
I gut you

I thought that the output is relevant to the input. just like an analog amplifier.
You put in less, you get less and that the attenuator is there to prevent the entering signal from being distorted.

Thanks.
Gil
giluriel is offline Find More Posts by giluriel
Old Oct 13, 2011, 12:24 AM
Member #1
Teamsherman's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Picnic Point
Joined Aug 2011
6,889 Posts
Ok, so i have the booster and the SMA to U.FL cable and need a coax from the U.FL cable to the booster along with an attenuator, 4db.

Can someone link me to where i can get both the coax cable and attenuator in one place please?

Cheers,

Alan.
Teamsherman is offline Find More Posts by Teamsherman
Old Oct 13, 2011, 05:39 AM
Member #1
Teamsherman's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Picnic Point
Joined Aug 2011
6,889 Posts
Anyone??
Teamsherman is offline Find More Posts by Teamsherman
Old Oct 13, 2011, 05:45 AM
Suspended Account
United States, FL, Maitland
Joined Apr 2011
2,109 Posts
idk just get it off ebay
chatch15117 is offline Find More Posts by chatch15117
Old Oct 13, 2011, 06:32 AM
Member #1
Teamsherman's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Picnic Point
Joined Aug 2011
6,889 Posts
I bought a 5 foot extension cable, so hopefully i can use that and wont need an Attenuator.
Teamsherman is offline Find More Posts by Teamsherman
Old Oct 14, 2011, 12:12 AM
Registered User
fgene's Avatar
Brooklyn, NY
Joined Sep 2010
222 Posts
I have completed the mod on my JR X9503, it's essentially the same as Christ's with some cosmetic changes. I am using a 1W booster and 5db 18Ghz attenuator.

When I turn the radio on (the booster is also turned on at the same time) the booster's green LED blinks very rapidly for about a second, then dims for about half a second, then turns on again and stays on. It turns off when range button is pressed on the TX, and lights up again immediately when the button is released. During the initialization stage (first second, rapid blinks) the power draw of the system consisting of the TX and the booster powered by a 3A UBEC increases to about 1A, compared to 0.5 A which it consumes during normal operation. Does my description point to any abnormalities in my system? In particular, is this power fluctuation normal?
fgene is online now Find More Posts by fgene
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion A single Unit for long range control and video link markeydoo FPV Talk 1 Apr 06, 2010 02:18 PM
Discussion 2.4Ghz 500mW Pen Booster Range test sirocco FPV Talk 12 Oct 02, 2009 05:26 AM
Discussion Range issues with Spektrum DX7 jc9995 Radios 6 Sep 16, 2009 10:45 PM
Discussion Spektrum claims the DX7 has full range....does anyone know the actual range in ft? TheFlyingAce Radios 42 May 31, 2008 02:04 PM
Discussion DX7 or other 2.4 Ghz for long range E-glider bmwbob Radios 6 Mar 04, 2008 05:05 PM