Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Closed Thread
Thread Tools
Old May 20, 2010, 08:03 PM
First to go over 106K feet
Crist Rigotti's Avatar
USA, IA, North Liberty
Joined Mar 2008
2,477 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by aviatordave View Post
Christ -

How old is your AR7000? I got mine right when Spektrum came out. Are the newer rx's more robust?
Mine is 1 1/2 years old. It does have the data port. Does yours?
Crist Rigotti is offline Find More Posts by Crist Rigotti
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 20, 2010, 08:06 PM
I AP'd myself again......
aviatordave's Avatar
Yawn....Iowa
Joined Mar 2005
2,500 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crist Rigotti View Post
Mine is 1 1/2 years old. It does have the data port. Does yours?
No, but I need to get a new one if i want RSSI
aviatordave is offline Find More Posts by aviatordave
Old May 20, 2010, 08:08 PM
First to go over 106K feet
Crist Rigotti's Avatar
USA, IA, North Liberty
Joined Mar 2008
2,477 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdphil View Post
i did the same mod for my dX6, when i put a 6db between the DX6 and the transmitter, the small green "TX" light went off fairly quickly, with a 3 db it lasted a little longer, now I'm running it without any attenuator, works great! and the 6 db 2 watt attenuator on the output gets warm. i was also concerned that the attenuator may also limit the dx6's ability to find a clean channel.
I'm thinking the dx7 must have more power output.
The green light on the booster goes dim after a few seconds. This is normal.
I would be careful with how much power you put in the input of the booster. The specs say 9-13db is optimal. The max input is 20db.
I don't get that you have a 6db attenuator on the output. The output of what? the transmitter or the booster?
Crist Rigotti is offline Find More Posts by Crist Rigotti
Old May 20, 2010, 08:37 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, Galt
Joined Mar 2009
52 Posts
oh, sorry about that
i used the 2 watt 6db attenuator on the output of the amp,(i didn't want burn out my test setup) along with about 24db more of attenuation before i measured it with a detector.
i did notice when i added a 3db attenuator to the input of the amp, the output also decreased by pretty close to the same amount.

philip
hdphil is offline Find More Posts by hdphil
Old May 21, 2010, 11:48 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2006
1,534 Posts
nm. I mis-read.
rcboosted is offline Find More Posts by rcboosted
Old May 26, 2010, 08:33 AM
FPV Desert Beta Test Center
Mesa, Arizona
Joined Nov 2006
2,372 Posts
CRIST

Couple questions.

How much time have you run up on the system?
Any problems?
Have you used it next to other 2.4 radios to see if there may be any conflict?

Thanks!
Gary Evans is offline Find More Posts by Gary Evans
Old May 26, 2010, 09:06 AM
First to go over 106K feet
Crist Rigotti's Avatar
USA, IA, North Liberty
Joined Mar 2008
2,477 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Evans View Post
CRIST

Couple questions.

How much time have you run up on the system?
Any problems?
Have you used it next to other 2.4 radios to see if there may be any conflict?

Thanks!
Gary,
I've run this system for hours with no problems.

I haven't use it next to another 2.4 radio because I usually fly out of my backyard. Now that the weather is getting better and my set up (plane, OSD, etc) is working well I can get with some other flyers and do that kind of test. I'll post the results here when they are known.
Crist Rigotti is offline Find More Posts by Crist Rigotti
Old May 26, 2010, 10:06 AM
FPV Desert Beta Test Center
Mesa, Arizona
Joined Nov 2006
2,372 Posts
Are the connectors on the amp sma or rp-sma?
Gary Evans is offline Find More Posts by Gary Evans
Old May 26, 2010, 10:09 AM
First to go over 106K feet
Crist Rigotti's Avatar
USA, IA, North Liberty
Joined Mar 2008
2,477 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Evans View Post
Are the connectors on the amp sma or rp-sma?
The input is SMA the output (antenna connector) is RP-SMA
Crist Rigotti is offline Find More Posts by Crist Rigotti
Old May 26, 2010, 11:52 AM
Videopilot
Derek_S's Avatar
United States, NC, Charlotte
Joined May 2009
2,711 Posts
What a cool thread. I hear of this but never saw such detailed documentation.

I absolutely love my JR9303 2.4 but I bought a futaba 9CAP when i decided to try FPV. I sure am not fond (or use to) the Futaba, so I would love the ability to just use 2.4.

So is the only disadvantages that you use more TX energy (for the booster) and that if you do loose signal, it is an immediate lockout instead of analogue fade? Also, can you still use RSSI monitoring on 2.4 Rx's through an OSD?
Derek_S is online now Find More Posts by Derek_S
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Iconic X
Old May 26, 2010, 12:18 PM
First to go over 106K feet
Crist Rigotti's Avatar
USA, IA, North Liberty
Joined Mar 2008
2,477 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derek_S View Post
What a cool thread. I hear of this but never saw such detailed documentation.

I absolutely love my JR9303 2.4 but I bought a futaba 9CAP when i decided to try FPV. I sure am not fond (or use to) the Futaba, so I would love the ability to just use 2.4.

So is the only disadvantages that you use more TX energy (for the booster) and that if you do loose signal, it is an immediate lockout instead of analogue fade? Also, can you still use RSSI monitoring on 2.4 Rx's through an OSD?
Yes, you will use more energy because of the higher load on the battery. You don't get something for nothing.

I would guess that the lockout would be the same with or without the booster.

Using the booster wouldn't change whether you can use RSSI or not.
Crist Rigotti is offline Find More Posts by Crist Rigotti
Old May 26, 2010, 12:57 PM
Registered User
Italia, Piemonte, Torino
Joined Jul 2009
787 Posts
Crist with tha same booster i have flew for 6km on a Futaba T7C with R617FS. Unfortunately I no longer have the video online.

I used a 5dBi omnidirectional.
Neo360 is offline Find More Posts by Neo360
Old May 26, 2010, 01:19 PM
FPV Desert Beta Test Center
Mesa, Arizona
Joined Nov 2006
2,372 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neo360 View Post
Crist with tha same booster i have flew for 6km on a Futaba T7C with R617FS. Unfortunately I no longer have the video online.

I used a 5dBi omnidirectional.
Do you use a attenuator on the 7C and if so which one? Have you used yours next to other 2.4 systems?
Gary Evans is offline Find More Posts by Gary Evans
Old May 26, 2010, 01:26 PM
Registered User
Italia, Piemonte, Torino
Joined Jul 2009
787 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Evans View Post
Do you use a attenuator on the 7C and if so which one? Have you used yours next to other 2.4 systems?
No, never attenuator, i have connected the Booster 1W directly to the Radio Pcb Board with U.Fl pigtail to Rp-Sma.

Now i use the LRS by Thomas, but but until I used it I never had any problems.
Neo360 is offline Find More Posts by Neo360
Old May 26, 2010, 01:45 PM
FPV Desert Beta Test Center
Mesa, Arizona
Joined Nov 2006
2,372 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neo360 View Post
No, never attenuator, i have connected the Booster 1W directly to the Radio Pcb Board with U.Fl pigtail to Rp-Sma.

Now i use the LRS by Thomas, but but until I used it I never had any problems.
Did you experience any conflicts with other nearby 2.4 RC radios.
Gary Evans is offline Find More Posts by Gary Evans
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion A single Unit for long range control and video link markeydoo FPV Talk 1 Apr 06, 2010 02:18 PM
Discussion 2.4Ghz 500mW Pen Booster Range test sirocco FPV Talk 12 Oct 02, 2009 05:26 AM
Discussion Range issues with Spektrum DX7 jc9995 Radios 6 Sep 16, 2009 10:45 PM
Discussion Spektrum claims the DX7 has full range....does anyone know the actual range in ft? TheFlyingAce Radios 42 May 31, 2008 02:04 PM
Discussion DX7 or other 2.4 Ghz for long range E-glider bmwbob Radios 6 Mar 04, 2008 05:05 PM