SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 20, 2011, 12:37 PM
Suspended Account
United Kingdom, Swansea
Joined Mar 2011
2,225 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Downwind3Zero View Post
Prop adapter-collet-spinner backplate-prop (may need spacer)-spinner.
Setups can differ though.
Thanks
Do the spacers come in the pack ?, if so what do they look like ?
TeeJayBee is offline Find More Posts by TeeJayBee
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 20, 2011, 09:10 PM
It's like an addiction!
Downwind3Zero's Avatar
NY, Rochester
Joined Oct 2003
1,504 Posts
Don't think they were included. Looks like a 2-3mm long sawed off piece of hard plastic, thin walled, tube.
Downwind3Zero is offline Find More Posts by Downwind3Zero
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2011, 09:42 AM
Suspended Account
United Kingdom, Swansea
Joined Mar 2011
2,225 Posts
Thanks
Another question (told you there'd be plenty)...

I assume that I have to drill out the hole in the prop so that it fits over the prop adaptor shaft or am I missing something ?
TeeJayBee is offline Find More Posts by TeeJayBee
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jul 21, 2011, 10:26 AM
It's like an addiction!
Downwind3Zero's Avatar
NY, Rochester
Joined Oct 2003
1,504 Posts
Well yes, but if you ream the prop correctly you won't need the spacer either.
Downwind3Zero is offline Find More Posts by Downwind3Zero
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2011, 06:23 PM
Suspended Account
United Kingdom, Swansea
Joined Mar 2011
2,225 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Downwind3Zero View Post
Well yes, but if you ream the prop correctly you won't need the spacer either.
OK, that's confused me even more now
TeeJayBee is offline Find More Posts by TeeJayBee
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jul 21, 2011, 06:35 PM
It's like an addiction!
Downwind3Zero's Avatar
NY, Rochester
Joined Oct 2003
1,504 Posts
Sorry! Why don't you add a pic, that will help.
Downwind3Zero is offline Find More Posts by Downwind3Zero
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 07:58 AM
Suspended Account
United Kingdom, Swansea
Joined Mar 2011
2,225 Posts
OK

Hole in prop is 3mm, shaft is 8mm





Here's the parts relating to the motor and the order in which I think they're supposed to go on the motor ?
With all the parts in place it leaves a gap so if I tightened the nut it wouldn't lock the adaptor onto the motor shaft...





TeeJayBee is offline Find More Posts by TeeJayBee
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jul 22, 2011, 10:25 AM
It's like an addiction!
Downwind3Zero's Avatar
NY, Rochester
Joined Oct 2003
1,504 Posts
Perfect! All you need to do is ream the prop to 8mm diameter and you are set. You won't need spacers (little bag with white plastic spacers).
Chris
Downwind3Zero is offline Find More Posts by Downwind3Zero
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 10:50 AM
Suspended Account
United Kingdom, Swansea
Joined Mar 2011
2,225 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Downwind3Zero View Post
Perfect! All you need to do is ream the prop to 8mm diameter and you are set. You won't need spacers (little bag with white plastic spacers).
Chris
Thanks again
Where does the little white spacer go ?

Oh yes, the prop needs to go the other way round to in the pic but that means it fouls the base of the nose cone thing ?

PS
Those little white spacers appear to be designed to go inside the round white base plate to adapt it for different size shafts, they all have the same outside diameter but different internal and none of them fit over the shaft of the prop adaptor, that means the white plate doesn't require internal spacing
TeeJayBee is offline Find More Posts by TeeJayBee
Last edited by TeeJayBee; Jul 22, 2011 at 01:02 PM.
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jul 22, 2011, 01:17 PM
It's like an addiction!
Downwind3Zero's Avatar
NY, Rochester
Joined Oct 2003
1,504 Posts
Spacers are for the prop if the adapter is smaller than the reamed diameter. This is not the case here because you can ream it to the size of your adapter. You won't need them.
If the prop hits the base plate when turned around (pusher configuration) then just put an ordinary metal washer in between until cleared. Alternatively you could trim/groove the base plate where the prop hits until cleared.
Chris
Downwind3Zero is offline Find More Posts by Downwind3Zero
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 02:33 PM
Suspended Account
United Kingdom, Swansea
Joined Mar 2011
2,225 Posts
Thanks
It HAS to be a washer otherwise the nut won't tigten down far enough for the adaptor to clamp onto the motor shaft
So I need a spacer/washer about 5mm thick (min) and of similar outside diamter to the circular part of the prop

This this is supposed to be ARF, it's claimed that all you need is TX/RX ESC and battery
Turns out it has crap glue, the prop won't fit along with the supplied adaptor and motor, there are no servo extensions (only elevator which is pre-fitted), not to mention missing servos

It's not so much the cost as the hassle in sourcing these items and having to wait for them to arrive from wherever
TeeJayBee is offline Find More Posts by TeeJayBee
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jul 23, 2011, 09:05 PM
Physics hate's my ideas
GreenAce92's Avatar
USA, NY, Dunkirk
Joined May 2007
3,913 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TeeJayBee View Post
OK

Hole in prop is 3mm, shaft is 8mm





Here's the parts relating to the motor and the order in which I think they're supposed to go on the motor ?
With all the parts in place it leaves a gap so if I tightened the nut it wouldn't lock the adaptor onto the motor shaft...





What camera did you use to take these images? The macro is splendid!
GreenAce92 is offline Find More Posts by GreenAce92
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2011, 07:34 AM
Suspended Account
United Kingdom, Swansea
Joined Mar 2011
2,225 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreenAce92 View Post
What camera did you use to take these images? The macro is splendid!
My Sony DSC-HX9V
It's a fairly good camera and does 1080p60 full HD too, no manual modes but I don't bother with that much nowadays anyway
TeeJayBee is offline Find More Posts by TeeJayBee
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jul 25, 2011, 06:59 PM
Suspended Account
United Kingdom, Swansea
Joined Mar 2011
2,225 Posts
Ok so as you may have gathered this is my first ever build....

Glueing in the servos, is it wise to just glue them around the sides and not underneath in case I need to cut them out to replace them ?
TeeJayBee is offline Find More Posts by TeeJayBee
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jul 25, 2011, 08:00 PM
It's like an addiction!
Downwind3Zero's Avatar
NY, Rochester
Joined Oct 2003
1,504 Posts
I use UHU-Por (easier to get in Europe) for servos in foam wings. Holds solid but lets you remove it if needed,great glue for foam! Yes, I glue the base as well regardless of what I use.
Chris
Downwind3Zero is offline Find More Posts by Downwind3Zero
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Icon-a5 amphibious parkflyer ( new picture and plan ) kylevn Foamies (Scratchbuilt) 106 Jul 01, 2012 10:28 AM
New Product Seaplane ICON A5 by Guanli kitaro Scale ARF/RTF 4 Sep 04, 2011 05:22 PM
Discussion GuanLi Icon A5 for FPV popoti FPV Talk 22 Nov 11, 2010 10:40 AM
Discussion Interesting new LSA amphibian in the works: The Icon A5 Thomas B Waterplanes 30 May 14, 2010 02:00 AM
Discussion micro icon a5 afitz87 Foamies (Scratchbuilt) 4 Apr 24, 2010 11:47 AM